Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This LibGuide profiles select library resources for the General Education Reform Committee, including books, ebooks, and education databases.
Feel free to also search the library catalog and Ebsco OneSearch (below) for more resources.
Checklist for Change: aking American Higher Education a Sustainable Enterprise by
Call Number: Ebook in ProQuest
Publication Date: 2013
Almost every day American higher education is making news with a list of problems that includes the incoherent nature of the curriculum, the resistance of the faculty to change, and the influential role of the federal government both through major investments in student aid and intrusive policies. Checklist for Change not only diagnoses these problems, but also provides constructive recommendations for practical change. Using provocative case studies, Zemsky describes the reforms being implemented at a few institutions with the hope that these might serve as harbingers of the kinds of change needed.
The Learner-Centered Curriculum: esign and Implementation by
Call Number: LB2361.5 .C85 2012
Publication Date: 2012
In this book the authors offer both design specifications for a learner-centered approach to curriculum as well as practical recommendations for implementation and assessment. The book covers the need for redesigning curriculum, curriculum design in the instructional paradigm, learner-centered design in practice, implementation, program assessment (including a helpful rubric for this), innovating through technology, and learning spaces that support learner-centered curricula.
The Innovative University: Changing the DNA of Higher Education from the Inside Out by
Call Number: LA227.4 .C525 2011
Publication Date: 2011
The Innovative University illustrates how higher education can respond to the forces of disruptive innovation, and offers a nuanced and hopeful analysis of where the traditional university and its traditions have come from and how it needs to change for the future. Through an examination of Harvard and BYU-Idaho as well as other stories of innovation in higher education, Clayton Christensen and Henry Eyring decipher how universities can find innovative, less costly ways of performing their uniquely valuable functions.
Understanding Interdisciplinary Challenges and Opportunities in Higher Education by
Call Number: LB2361.5 .H644 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Interdisciplinary teaching, learning, and research are often heralded as necessary responses to the many pressures facing contemporary higher education. Defined as the integration of knowledge from two or more disciplines, interdisciplinary work requires a change in the boundaries and norms that have long defined the academy. Through examples from a range of disciplines and institutional types, this volume considers how successful interdisciplinary engagement necessitates a focus on the structure and rewards of academic behavior. This change is an intensely social process, involving dialogue and interation among diverse ideas, individuals, learning environments, and bodies of knowledge. It is this diversity that enables the rich potential of interdisciplinary engagement but also presents the greatest challenges for institutions. This volume considers the obstacles and opportunities inherent in interdisciplinary initiatives.
Educating Global Citizens in Colleges and Universities by
Call Number: LC1090 .S74 2009
Publication Date: 2008
This book provides distinctive analysis of the full range of expressions in global education at a crucial time, when international competition rises, tensions with American foreign policy both complicate and motivate new activity, and a variety of innovations are taking shape. Citing best practices at a variety of institutions, the book provides practical coverage and guidance in the major aspects of global education, including curriculum, study abroad, international students, collaborations and branch campuses, while dealing as well with management issues and options.
Information Literacy as a Student Learning Outcome: The Perspective of Institutional Accreditation by
Call Number: ZA3075 .S28 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Information Literacy as a Student Learning Outcome: The Perspective of Institutional Accreditation fills a gap in the current literature by inspecting how institutions nationwide are fulfilling accreditation standards in the area of information literacy. While the bulk of the book looks at institutions accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education, all six of the regional accreditation areas are addressed. The author also conducted campus visits and interviews at selected institutions in order to provide a more in-depth analysis of these institutions' programs for information literacy.
Discipline-Centered Learning Communities by
Call Number: LB1025.2 .N456 no.132
Publication Date: 2013
Take an in depth look at discipline-centered learning communities. Using psychology as an example, this issue provides prescriptive advice for those interested in developing a learning community in any academic discipline or program. Learning communities are a powerful vehicle for creating and sustaining connections among students, faculty, and the curriculum, but creating one can be a challenge. By providing resources, practical case studies, and theoretical grounding, this volume can both inspire and guide faculty, staff, and administrators in meeting their pedagogical and curricular goals.
Developing and Assessing Personal and Social Responsibility in College by
Call Number: LB2331 .N48 no.164
Publication Date: 2013
In 2007, wanting to expand higher education's civic engagement conversation, the Association of American Colleges and Universities launched the Core Commitments Initiative. That initiative focused attention on personal and social responsibility as outcomes of a college education, with the understanding that such a focus would return American higher education to its historical purpose of preparing active and engaged citizens. Expanding the conversation this way leaves room for behavioral measures, like voting or hours spent in community service, but also opens our understanding of citizenship to include issues of civic identity, civic attitudes, personal integrity, and ethics. This volume explores the research and practice related to the development of personal and social responsibility in college, drawing data directly from institutions that were part of the Core Commitments Initiative and providing instructive examples of good practice at both the programmatic and institutional levels.