Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Health-Care Ethics by Founded on in-depth biblical studies and perceptive theological perspective, James Thobaben's book has given us a comprehensive treatment of the myriad ethical issues involved in health care. He addresses topics such asthe nature of evangelical faithunderstanding illnessfamily caringthe role of health-care providersinstitutional considerationsethical issues related to reproductiondeath and dyingThobaben guides us into the realm of ethical discernment and decision-making by grasping the interconnections between health care in its various dimensions with the whole of true Christian living. If you are a student or pastor, or serving in the health-care professions, this monumental resource is for you.
Call Number: R725.56 .T46 2009
Bioethics and the Christian Life by An introduction to bioethics decision making within the context of the theological principles, wisdom, and virtue underlying the broader Christian life. For thoughtful laypeople, pastors, elders, and seminarians.
Call Number: R725.56 .V36 2009
Is God Still at the Bedside? by Abigail Rian Evans here examines the medical, ethical, theological, pastoral, and legal issues surrounding death and dying from a Christian perspective. Her work is informed by insights from patients, their families, and health care staff and results in a book that will ably assist professionals, patients, and their families in making difficult end-of-life decisions.
Call Number: BT825 .E93 2011
Naming the Silences by Hauerwas explores why we so fervently seek explanations for suffering and evil, and he shows how modern medicine has become a god to which we look-in vain-for deliverance from the evils of disease and mortality.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2004
Spirituality, Ethics and Care by The book includes chapters on ethics, religion and spirituality; the community of care; fit for purpose; values, virtues and the patient, and challenging faith. This is a welcome addition for the practitioners and those training in human services.' - Nursing Standard Spirituality, Ethics and Care provides guidance on how to integrate spirituality and ethics in professional and voluntary care. The author argues that the strong connections between moral meaning and spirituality are often not reflected in the health and social care literature. Using case studies and examples from everyday situations, such as end of life decisions, conjoined twins, heart conditions, social work, mental health and emergency care practice, the author provides a practical framework for incorporating spirituality into ethical decision-making and care. This book will encourage and inspire social workers, healthcare professionals and church pastoral practitioners.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2007
Genetics and Christian Ethics by In the immediate future we are likely to witness significant developments in human genetic science. It is therefore of critical importance that Christian ethics engages with the genetics debate, since it affects not just the way we perceive ourselves and the natural world, but also has wider implications for our society. This book considers ethical issues arising out of specific practices in human genetics, including genetic screening, gene patenting, gene therapy, genetic counselling as well as feminist concerns. Genetics and Christian Ethics argues for a particular theo-ethical approach that derives from a modified version of virtue ethics, drawing particularly on a Thomistic understanding of the virtues, especially prudence or practical wisdom and justice. The book demonstrates that a theological voice is highly relevant to contested ethical debates about genetics.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2006
On Moral Medicine by In print for more than two decades, On Moral Medicine remains the definitive anthology for Christian theological reflection on medical ethics. This third edition updates and expands the earlier awardwinning volumes, providing classrooms and individuals alike with one of the finest available resources for ethics-engaged modern medicine.
Call Number: R724 .O58 2012
Publication Date: 2012-07-20
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Ethics by The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Ethics (OEBE) explores the intersection between biblical sources and ethical issues, both historical and modern, through extensive analytical and constructive treatments of a wide range of topics by leading biblical scholars and ethicists. Combiningtraditional theoretical frameworks, such as comparative religion, with more recent approaches (postmodern, queer and gender theory, etc.), the OEBE provides a landmark reference overview of everything from ethics in books of the Bible to modern movements and hot-button issues, such as capitalpunishment, bioethics, and abortion.The two-volume Encyclopedia contains over 180 entries ranging in length from 1,000 to 7,000 words. With bibliographic references and suggestions for further reading, each entry provides a thorough introduction to the topic that will be of use to scholars and students alike. Given its contemporaryresonance and detailed summary of current scholarship, the OEBE offers a comprehensive, interdisciplinary starting point for research.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014