Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Pediatrics Research Moral and ethical aspects.
Human experimentation in medicine.
Biomedical Research ethics Child.
Animal Experimentation ethics.
Animal Testing Alternatives.
Informed consent (Medical law) United States.
Medical ethics United States.
Physician and patient United States.
Biomedical Research ethics.
Pediatrics Moral and ethical aspects.
Medical ethics Case studies.
Children Diseases Treatment Moral and ethical aspects.
Pediatrics ethics United States.
Research Subjects United States.
Informed Consent ethics United States.
Child United States.
Animal Rights by This comprehensive and diverse anthology, the only one of its kind, illuminates the complex evolution of moral thought regarding animals and includes writings from ancient Greece to the present. Animal Rights reveals the ways in which a variety of thinkers have addressed such issues as our ethical responsibilities for the welfare of animals, whether animals have rights, and what it means to be human.
Call Number: HV4711 .P65 2004
The Animal Experimentation Debate by Reviewing the topic from antiquity to the present day, this book examines the debate over the use of animals in research in a fair and balanced way. The debate over the use of nonhuman animals in experimental research has gone on for centuries, and it continues as vigorously today as it ever has. In fact, in the last decade, the controversy has intensified, making animal testing a topic at the highest level of debate of any socioscientific issue in the United States. This book presents all sides of the issue so that readers can come to their own conclusions as to the morality and validity of animal experimentation, and provides biographies of individuals and descriptions of organizations that have been involved in the debate over the centuries. Additionally, it documents the historical shift in thinking that made animal experimentation commonplace between the time of the ancient Greeks and the 19th century, to the mindset of some who argue for an end to the practice and alternative ways of conducting medical experimentation to benefit human health. Presents an introduction to the history of scientific research utilizing animals and a thorough review of current issues relating to animal experimentation Provides perspectives in which stakeholders in the field outline and explain their personal views on animal testing Supplies an extensive annotated bibliography of books, articles, reports, and online resources Includes profiles of important individuals and organizations Provides an outstanding resource for secondary school students, undergraduates, or general readers with an interest in medical and biological research or animal welfare
Call Number: HV4915 .N49 2013
Animals and Science by Animals and Science examines the debates, from the Renaissance to the present, surrounding issues of animal rights, consciousness, and self-awareness. Animals and Science examines what science has (and has not) taught us about the nature of nonhuman animals and explores the moral, religious, social, and scientific implications of those teachings. It shows how the scientific study of animals, especially their cognitive abilities, has transformed our understanding of them. Animals and Science traces our evolving understanding of animal pain and considers its moral relevance to humans. It discusses Darwin's belief-shattering notion that species differences are not absolute, then traces its impact to the present day. Ultimately, Animals and Science is about the nature of science--the kinds of questions science can and cannot answer, and the role of theory in shaping the interpretation of evidence. 12 thought-provoking essays trace the evolution of our ideas about animals and their impact on science, medicine, and society The book includes an extensive collection of primary source documents, ranging from Thomas Aquinas' Summa contra Gentiles to Peter Singer's Animal Liberation
Call Number: HV4915 .S495 2002
After We Die by What will become of our earthly remains? What happens to our bodies during and after the various forms of cadaver disposal available? Who controls the fate of human remains? What legal and moral constraints apply? Legal scholar Norman Cantor provides a graphic, informative, and entertaining exploration of these questions. After We Die chronicles not only a corpse's physical state but also its legal and moral status, including what rights, if any, the corpse possesses. In a claim sure to be controversial, Cantor argues that a corpse maintains a "quasi-human status" granting it certain protected rights--both legal and moral. One of a corpse's purported rights is to have its predecessor's disposal choices upheld. After We Die reviews unconventional ways in which a person can extend a personal legacy via their corpse's role in medical education, scientific research, or tissue transplantation. This underlines the importance of leaving instructions directing post-mortem disposal. Another cadaveric right is to be treated with respect and dignity. After We Die outlines the limits that "post-mortem human dignity" poses upon disposal options, particularly the use of a cadaver or its parts in educational or artistic displays. Contemporary illustrations of these complex issues abound. In 2007, the well-publicized death of Anna Nicole Smith highlighted the passions and disputes surrounding the handling of human remains. Similarly, following the 2003 death of baseball great Ted Williams, the family in-fighting and legal proceedings surrounding the corpse's proposed cryogenic disposal also raised contentious questions about the physical, legal, and ethical issues that emerge after we die. In the tradition of Sherwin Nuland's How We Die, Cantor carefully and sensitively addresses the post-mortem handling of human remains.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Ethical Considerations for Research Involving Prisoners by In the past 30 years, the population of prisoners in the United States has expanded almost 5-fold, correctional facilities are increasingly overcrowded, and more of the country's disadvantaged populations—racial minorities, women, people with mental illness, and people with communicable diseases such as HIV/AIDS, hepatitis C, and tuberculosis—are under correctional supervision. Because prisoners face restrictions on liberty and autonomy, have limited privacy, and often receive inadequate health care, they require specific protections when involved in research, particularly in today's correctional settings. Given these issues, the Department of Health and Human Services' Office for Human Research Protections commissioned the Institute of Medicine to review the ethical considerations regarding research involving prisoners. The resulting analysis contained in this book, Ethical Considerations for Research Involving Prisoners, emphasizes five broad actions to provide prisoners involved in research with critically important protections: • expand the definition of "prisoner"; • ensure universally and consistently applied standards of protection; • shift from a category-based to a risk-benefit approach to research review; • update the ethical framework to include collaborative responsibility; and • enhance systematic oversight of research involving prisoners.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2007
The Oxford Textbook of Clinical Research Ethics by The Oxford Textbook of Clinical Research Ethics is the first comprehensive and systematic reference on clinical research ethics. Under the editorship of experts from the U.S. National Institutes of Health of the United States, the book's 73 chapters offer a wide-ranging and systematic examination of all aspects of research with human beings.Considering the historical triumphs of research as well as its tragedies, the textbook provides a framework for analyzing the ethical aspects of research studies with human beings. Through both conceptual analysis and systematic reviews of empirical data, the contributors examine issues ranging from scientific validity, fair subject selection, risk benefit ratio, independent review, and informed consent to focused consideration of international research ethics, conflicts of interests, and other aspects of responsible conduct of research.The editors of The Oxford Textbook of Clinical Research Ethics offer a work that critically assesses and advances scholarship in the field of human subjects research. Comprehensive in scope and depth, this book will be a crucial resource for researchers in the medical sciences, as well as teachers and students.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2002
Research Ethics by Medicine in the twenty-first century is increasingly reliant on research to guarantee the safety and efficacy of medical interventions. As a result, the need to understand the ethical issues that research generates is becoming essential. This volume introduces the principal areas of concern in research on human subjects, offering a framework for understanding research ethics, and the relationship between ethics and compliance. Research Ethics brings together leading scholars in bioethics and the topics covered include the unique concerns that arise in specific areas of research such as gene therapy and stem cell research. Individual chapters also address the ethical issues that occur when conducting research with specific populations such as infants or adolescents, and the volume looks at important emerging questions in human subjects research, namely financial conflicts of interest and the interpretation of scientific data.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2006
Useful Bodies by Though notoriously associated with Germany, human experimentation in the name of science has been practised in other countries, as well, both before and after the Nazi era. The use of unwitting or unwilling subjects in experiments designed to test the effects of radiation and disease on the human body emerged at the turn of the 20th century, when the rise of the modern, coercive state and the professionalization of medical science converged. intersection of government power and medical knowledge in revealing studies of human experimentation - germ warfare and jaundice tests in Great Britain; radiation, malaria and hepatitis experiments in the US; and nuclear fallout trials in Australia. These examples of medical abuse illustrate the extent to which living human bodies have been useful to democratic states and emphasize the need for intense scrutiny and regulation to prevent future violations.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2003
Pediatrics - Morala and Ethical Aspects
Ethics and Research with Children by In this edited volume, a diverse group of scholars present and discuss challenging cases in the field of pediatric research ethics. After years of debate and controversy, fundamental questions about the morality of pediatric research persist: Is it ever permissible to use a child as a meansto an end? How much authority should parents have over decisions about research that involves young children? What should be the role of the older child in decisions about research participation? How do the dynamics of hope and desperation influence decisions about research involving dyingchildren? Should children or their parents be paid for participation in research? What about economic incentives for doctors, researchers and the pharmaceutical industry? Most importantly, how can the twin goals of access to the benefits of clinical research and protection from research risk bereconciled? Following an introductory overview by editor Eric David Kodish, the book is divided into three sections of case studies: Research Involving Healthy Children, Research Involving At Risk Children, and Research Involving Children with Serious Illness. Each case raises compelling ethicalissues, and the analysis presented in each chapter illuminate the challenges posed across a wide spectrum of both research protocols and stories of individual case-based approach, this book provides a balanced and through account of the enduring dilemmas that arise when children become researchsubjects.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2005
The Ethical Conduct of Clinical Research Involving Children by In recent decades, advances in biomedical research have helped save or lengthen the lives of children around the world. With improved therapies, child and adolescent mortality rates have decreased significantly in the last half century. Despite these advances, pediatricians and others argue that children have not shared equally with adults in biomedical advances. Even though we want children to benefit from the dramatic and accelerating rate of progress in medical care that has been fueled by scientific research, we do not want to place children at risk of being harmed by participating in clinical studies. Ethical Conduct of Clinical Research Involving Children considers the necessities and challenges of this type of research and reviews the ethical and legal standards for conducting it. It also considers problems with the interpretation and application of these standards and conduct, concluding that while children should not be excluded from potentially beneficial clinical studies, some research that is ethically permissible for adults is not acceptable for children, who usually do not have the legal capacity or maturity to make informed decisions about research participation. The book looks at the need for appropriate pediatric expertise at all stages of the design, review, and conduct of a research project to effectively implement policies to protect children. It argues persuasively that a robust system for protecting human research participants in general is a necessary foundation for protecting child research participants in particular.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2004
Why Dissection? Animal Use in Education by Why do students continue to dissect animals in biology classes? Why, despite the excellence of teaching resources for veterinary and human medical education that substitute for dissection, do those provided for pre-college students fall short in convenience, flexibility, and coordination with the curriculum? Why Dissection? Animal Use in Education looks beyond the typical yes-or-no debate about dissection to understand how we came to our current practice of dissection in intermediate and high school biology, even as preparation of health professionals has moved away from dissection. Despite the many forces that support the continued use of dissection in pedagogy, teachers retain much autonomy in how they teach in the classroom, and legislation in many states provide specific requirements for what should and should not be taught in separated science and health curricula, offering students the option to not engage in dissection. Why Dissection? walks students, teachers, and parents through these options to help them make more informed choices regarding their science education options.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2008