Palliative treatment.
Nursing.
Terminal care Psychological aspects.
Terminally ill Family relationships.
Hospice Care.
Nursing Care.
Palliative Care.
Nursing Philosophy.
Nursing Psychological aspects.
Nurse and patient.
Helping behavior.
Nurse-Patient Relations.
Nursing Care methods.
Philosophy, Nursing.
Spirituality, Ethics and Care by
The book includes chapters on ethics, religion and spirituality; the community of care; fit for purpose; values, virtues and the patient, and challenging faith. This is a welcome addition for the practitioners and those training in human services.' - Nursing Standard Spirituality, Ethics and Care provides guidance on how to integrate spirituality and ethics in professional and voluntary care. The author argues that the strong connections between moral meaning and spirituality are often not reflected in the health and social care literature. Using case studies and examples from everyday situations, such as end of life decisions, conjoined twins, heart conditions, social work, mental health and emergency care practice, the author provides a practical framework for incorporating spirituality into ethical decision-making and care. This book will encourage and inspire social workers, healthcare professionals and church pastoral practitioners.
Therapeutic Interventions for Forensic Mental Health Nurses by
Written by experts in the growing field of forensic mental health care, this book explores current and emerging interventions in forensic nursing and the care of the mentally disordered offender, with an emphasis on clinical practice and clinical competence. It explores the practical issues facing forensic nurses, such as environment and safety issues, as well as the possible emotional trauma of such a role. It examines a range of intervention strategies, such as exercise, which has often been used as an occupational time-filler, but also offers real therapeutic benefits. The contributors cover a range of diverse perspectives from the care of women in secure services, severely assaultive patients and sex offenders, the role of inpatient therapy and nurse therapists and the importance of spiritual nursing and educational interventions. The book also examines the client group itself and considers new roles for nurses in the light of recent research. The contributors to this volume take a wide-ranging approach, providing a comprehensive overview of current and future therapeutic interventions for forensic mental health care. Therapeutic Interventions for Forensic Mental Health Nurses is essential reading for all practitioners, nurses and educators in the forensic nursing field.
End-Of-Life Communication in the ICU by
Talking to patients and their families about end-of-life issues can be difficult and stressful. This book looks at ways different cultures view death and then further explores how health care providers around the world communicate about such sensitive issues as withholding or withdrawing life support and discussing options when the outcome is uncertain. By offering a better understanding of cultural differences in attitudes about death and methods of communications about end-of-life issues, the coverage in this important book helps prepare healthcare practitioners to be better communicators - both within and outside of their own cultures.
Ethical Issues in Maternal-Fetal Medicine by
This book brings together an unusually broad range of experts from reproductive medicine, medical ethics and law to address the important ethical problems in maternal-fetal medicine which impact directly on clinical practice. The book is divided into parts by the stages of pregnancy, within which the authors cover four main areas: * the balance of power in the doctor-patient relationship and the justifiable limits of paternalism and autonomy * the impact of new technologies and new diseases * disability and enhancement (the 'designer baby') * difference - to what extent should the clinician respect the tenets of other faiths in a multicultural society, even when the doctor believes requested interventions or non-interventions to be morally wrong? The aim throughout is to unite analytic philosophy and actual practice. This is an important text not only for clinicians involved in human reproduction, but also philosophers and lawyers.
Ethical Issues in Cancer Patient Care by
Peter Angelos Numerous ethical issues arise in the care of oncology patients. Although much has been written in the last several decades on ethical issues in caring for patients, few volumes have sought to focus the exploration on ethical issues particularly relevant to the care of cancer patients. In 1999, the first edition of this book was published. Since that time, many changes have occurred in how some cancers are diagnosed and treated, but the central ethical issues have continued to challenge patients, families, and their health care providers. All of the chapters from the prior edition have been updated and there are seven new chapters in this expanded edition. In this second edition, the perspectives on what is an ethical issue have been broadened by bringing authors of differing backgrounds into the discussion. In Chapter 1, the perspective of a cancer patient is provided as an open letter to physicians. Although Parvez Kamangar is providing only one patient's perspective, this is an essential voice that is not often heard in texts on medical ethics. In Chapters 2 and 3, the issues of communication and the physician-patient relationship are explored in order to better understand how the needs of patients and families can be met. In Chapter 4, Professor Tod Chambers highlights the challenges to providing ethical care to patients in a multicultural society.
The Suicidal Patient by
A psychologist involved in direct patient care has a better than 1-in-5 chance of losing a patient to suicide during his or her professional career -- for the average psychiatrist, the odds are better than 50-50. The Suicidal Patient proposes realistic standards of care & a high-quality working model for the assessment, management, & treatment of the suicidal patient in both inpatient & outpatient contexts. It also combines detailed suggestions for optimal clinical practice with sophisticated risk management strategies for both suicide prevention and postprevention. THE SUICIDAL PATIENT includes an extensive clinical & legal bibliography, along with suicide risk estimators & legal action guidelines for optimal psychological practice -- & much more! For those involved in direct service, training, supervision, & administration of programs where suicidal patients are seen -- this volume is for you!
How Doctors Think by
How Doctors Think defines the nature and importance of clinical judgment. Although physicians make use of science, this book argues that medicine is not itself a science but rather an interpretive practice that relies on clinical reasoning. A physician looks at the patient's history alongwith the presenting physical signs and symptoms and juxtaposes these with clinical experience and empirical studies to construct a tentative account of the illness.How Doctors Think is divided into four parts. Part one introduces the concept of medicine as a practice rather than a science; part two discusses the idea of causation; part three delves into the process of forming clinical judgment; and part four considers clinical judgment within the uncertainnature of medicine itself. In How Doctors Think, Montgomery contends that assuming medicine is strictly a science can have adverse side effects, and suggests reducing these by recognizing the vital role of clinical judgment.
Empathy in Patient Care by
Human beings, regardless of age, sex, or state of health, are designed by evolution to form meaningful interpersonal relationships through verbal and nonverbal communication. The theme that empathic human connections are beneficial to the body and mind underlies all 12 chapters of this book, in which empathy is viewed from a multidisciplinary perspective that includes evolutionary biology; neuropsychology; clinical, social, developmental, and educational psychology; and health care delivery and education.
Palliative Care by
A clinical case-based handbook has a role in general clinicians' practice of caring for patients with serious or life-limiting illness. The explosion of the field of Hospice and Palliative Medicine impacts all physicians and healthcare providers. Fellowship trained s- cialists graduate in greater numbers annually. These and more seasoned specialists are now certified by the American Board of Medical Specialties as subspecialists. Research in this field is expanding in scope and quantity, and peer reviewed journals devoted to this work are multiplying. Moreover, peer reviewed journals in primary care and other subspecialties of medicine regularly include papers that focus on end-of-life care, quality of life issues, and symptom management. Overall then, access to clinical information necessary to care for patients with life-limiting illness is not only essential, but also increasingly available. This case-based clinical book aims to help with the actual practice of caring for patients with life-limiting illness. Numerous texts and journals exist to provide the data to inform care, yet there remains a need to find practical points and information about the practical application of the principles of palliative care. Thus, we hope that the cases, key points, and practical tips will help health care providers who are not experts already in palliative care in the care of patients with serious illness and challenging problems. Some chapters follow one patient through the course of an illness to highlight the applicability of palliative care throughout the disease process.
Being Mindful Easing Suffering by
`There is much to learn about easing suffering from John's reflective narrative. The journal is both evocative and illuminating. The attention given to individuals patients experiences and to the manner in which practitioners can help to relieve suffering is the main strength of the book' -Journal of Advanced Nursing `Christopher Johns has written an exquisite book detailing the experience of being a palliative care nurse. He has taken a unique approach in chronicling his practice through a journal, which serves a model for the reader on reflective practice. Johns' book is insightful on several levels. He offers a poignant book about the practice of palliative care, which will certainly evoke deep feelings and memories for many who have cared for dying patients. The narrative serves a model for reflective practice for students and practitioners alike who wish to explore this method of research and self-inquiry. John also, as the postscript writer describe, addresses some of the lessons that can be learned in palliative care work, the importance of living in the moment, and acknowledgement of the constantly changing nature of life.' - Mary L. Wilby, MSN, CRNP, La Salle University School of Nursing `Chris Johns has produced a book that is, I believe, unique in the field of nursing practice. In his personal and philosophical reflections on palliative care he pin-points...the very essence of nursing practice... This text should be at the heart not only of nursing but also the way in which we should live our lives.' - Denise Rankin-Box, Editor in Chief, Complementary Therapies in Nursing and Midwifery Written by an experienced palliative care nurse, trainer, and complementary therapist, Being Mindful, Easing Suffering is an essential resource for professionals working with the seriously ill and the dying. Chris Johns describes how he has combined traditional medical, and more reflective models in his palliative practice, enabling him to work mindfully to alleviate physical and non-physical pain and suffering throughout the health-illness cycle. With reference to ideas from Buddhist philosophy around compassion and reflective knowing, this important book shows how the core task of those working in palliative care is to nurture the spiritual growth and development of their patients and, in turn, themselves.
The Medical Care of Terminally Ill Patients by
Since the publication of the first edition of The Medical Care of Terminally Ill Patients, the field of palliative care has progressed significantly, both socially and scientifically. In this new edition, Dr. Robert Enck reviews the results of clinical studies devoted to the care of dying patients. Special attention is given to pain management, management of symptoms, care of advanced cancer patients, and care of patients with nonmalignant diseases. More than 100 new references, a new list of abbreviations, and tables with new drugs and dosages provides valuable information. Dr. Enck places great emphasis on enhancing the quality of life while addressing the most common symptoms of terminal illness.
Choices in Palliative Care by
Choices in Palliative Care brings together leading experts to spotlight core issues in the field and identify ways PC can fill gaps in current care systems. This far-sighted volume redefines palliative care as interdisciplinary and integrative, bridging acute and long-term care to respond to clients' evolving needs. Those teaching health service delivery courses will find this material especially useful.
