Bioethics by
With its initial publication in 1978, Bioethics became the first reference to focus solely on a then burgeoning field, in effect helping to define the discipline. Both the first and second (1995) editions won the Dartmouth Medal, and the set remains the standard reference on bioethics for teachers, students, and those in related fields of health care, philosophy, environmentalism, law, and religious studies. The fourth edition offers hundreds of revisions or addenda to entries from previous editions as well as over 100 new or rewritten entries on topics such as key cases in bioethics, the human biome, genetically modified foods, emergency preparedness and response, social justice, sustainability, chemical warfare and torture, among many others. Revised articles will explain the events as well as legislation changes of the past decade. The work is also being expanded to include views of nations and cultures other than the United States on such issues as abortion, medical triage, social responsibility, access to health care, stem cell research, etc.
Encyclopedia of Ethics by
The editors, working with a team of 325 renowned authorities in the field of ethics, have revised, expanded and updated this classic encyclopedia. Along with the addition of 150 new entries, all of the original articles have been newly peer-reviewed and revised, bibliographies have been updated throughout, and the overall design of the work has been enhanced for easier access to cross-references and other reference features. New entries include * Cheating * Dirty hands * Gay ethics * Holocaust * Journalism * Political correctness * and many more.
Medical Ethics Today by
Doctors and medical students confront increasingly complicated ethical dilemmas. To respond effectively they need skills in ethical reasoning and an understanding of the law and professional guidance. This book helps them achieve these things. It provides practical advice and guidance that draws upon the large volume of enquiries received by the BMAs Medical Ethics Department. Although rooted in moral theory and legal practice, the book is designed both to provide practical advice for doctors day to day working lives and to stimulate debate on broader areas of public policy.
On Moral Medicine by
In print for more than two decades, On Moral Medicine remains the definitive anthology for Christian theological reflection on medical ethics. This third edition updates and expands the earlier awardwinning volumes, providing classrooms and individuals alike with one of the finest available resources for ethics-engaged modern medicine.
Principles of Biomedical Ethics by
Building on the best-selling tradition of previous editions, Principles of Biomedical Ethics, Seventh Edition, provides a highly original, practical, and insightful guide to morality in the health professions. Acclaimed authors Tom L. Beauchamp and James F. Childress thoroughly develop andadvocate for four principles that lie at the core of moral reasoning in health care: respect for autonomy, nonmaleficence, beneficence, and justice. Drawing from contemporary research--and integrating detailed case studies and vivid real-life examples and scenarios--they demonstrate how these primafacie principles can be expanded to apply to various conflicts and dilemmas, from how to deliver bad news to whether or not to withhold or withdraw life-sustaining treatments.Illuminating both theory and method throughout, Principles of Biomedical Ethics, Seventh Edition, considers what constitutes moral character and addresses the problem of moral status: what rights are due to people and animals, and when. It also examines the professional-patient relationship,surveys major philosophical theories--including utilitarianism, Kantianism, rights theory, and virtue theory--and describes methods of moral justification in bioethics. Ideal for courses in biomedical ethics, bioethics, and health care ethics, the text is enhanced by hundreds of annotated citationsand a substantial introduction that clarifies key terms and concepts.
Bioethics by
Bioethics: Principles, Issues, and Cases, Second Edition, explores the philosophical, medical, social, and legal aspects of key bioethical issues. Opening with a thorough introduction to ethics, bioethics, and moral reasoning, it then covers influential moral theories and the criteria forevaluating them. Integrating eighty-five readings - thirteen of them new to this edition - numerous cases, and abundant pedagogical tools, the book addresses the most provocative and controversial topics in bioethics.Updated throughout, the second edition incorporates new information on justice, health care, and health insurance reform along with more coverage of issues related to race and culture and of the moral challenges facing nurses and other health care professionals. It also offers additionalstep-by-step guidance on how to identify and evaluate moral arguments in real-world contexts, with accompanying exercises and answers in an appendix.
Bioethics by
In the face of continuing advances in medical research and treatment, bioethics remains a serious ongoing social concern. For nearly two decades Gilbert Meilaender?s Bioethics has offered discerning Christian guidance on a wide range of pressing issues in medical ethics. Now in its third edition, Meilaender?s Bioethics covers abortion, assisted reproduction, genetic research, suicide and euthanasia, human experimentation -- and much more -- in language that is theologically informed, straightforward, and clear. This new edition includes updated information throughout and an added discussion of the need to protect Christian conscience in the practice of medicine.
Medical Ethics by
The area where science, medicine, and ethics merge is a complicated one. Medicine seeks to treat and heal, science seeks to cure, and ethics is what's needed to keep all those processes in check. With that comes several controversial topics, which this book examines for the reader. Essays cover topics such as the health care system, medical research, end-of-life decisions, government intervention, organ donation, reproductive technologies, surrogacy, and the death penalty.
