Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Civil Rights Digital Collections
Civil Rights Digital Library
The CRDL features a collection of unedited news film from the WSB (Atlanta) and WALB (Albany, Ga.) television archives held by the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection at the University of Georgia Libraries. The CRDL provides educator resources and contextual materials, including Freedom on Film, relating instructive stories and discussion questions from the Civil Rights Movement in Georgia, and the New Georgia Encyclopedia, delivering engaging online articles and multimedia.
The Long Civil Rights Movement in North Carolina
Digitized material from North Carolina Research Triangle institutions documenting the Long Civil Rights Movements (defined by historian Jacquelyn Dowd Hall in a groundbreaking 2005 article,* in which she recast the narrative of the civil rights movement—commonly acknowledged as the period between the Brown v. Board of Education U.S. Supreme Court decision of 1954 and The Voting Rights Act of 1965—and extended the classical chronology of the period at both ends.)
FBI Civil Rights Files
FBI documents related to the Civil Rights movement for persons and organizations including Malcolm X, Fannie Lou Hammer, Thurgood Marshall, white supremacist groups, and the NAACP
Wisconsin Historical Society Freedom Summer Collection
Access over 25,000 pages of official records of organizations, personal papers of movement leaders, letters, racist propaganda, diaries, images, newsletters and more.
Behind the Veil: Documenting African American Life in the Jim Crow South
A selection of 410 recorded oral history interviews chronicling African-American life during the age of legal segregation in the American South, from the 1890s to the 1950s. Duke University