Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
US History Digital Collections
American Journeys: Eyewitness Accounts of Early American Exploration and Settlement
American Journeys contains more than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in AD1000 to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later.
American Memory - Library of Congress
A digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
Civil War in the American South
In recognition of the sesquicentennial of the start of the American Civil War, Civil War in the American South provides a central portal to access digital collections from the Civil War Era (1850-1865) held by members of the Association of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL). This site currently links to more than 10,000 items from 30 libraries. The shared collection continues to grow, providing ready access to a world-class collection of primary source materials from the American Civil War era.
Documenting the American South
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
This database covers the 18th through the early 19th century, and currently features nearly 120,000 transcribed letters, legal notices, and other documents from the collections of John Adams, James Madison, George Washington, and Alexander Hamilton.
Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media
CHNM uses digital media and technology to preserve and present history online, transform scholarship across the humanities, and advance historical education and understanding. [Hosted by George Mason University]
The Papers of Benjamin Franklin
The Papers of Benjamin Franklin is an online companion site to the American Philosophical Society's outstanding print series of the same name. The project's goal is to "collect, edit, and publish" everything written by and to Franklin over the course of his life.
The Roaring Twenties: An interactive exploration of the historical soundscape of New York City
This resource profiles the urban soundscape of New York City in the late 20s and early 30s and uses original documents such as noise complaints and responses and contemporary newspaper and magazine articles as supporting materials. Much of the sound content was taken from Fox Movietone news reels. You can explore by location, kind of sound, and date.
South Carolina Digital Collections
Lowcountry Digital Library
A collaboration of seven repositories in the Charleston, South Carolina area including College of Charleston, Medical University of South Carolina, The Citadel, Charleston County Public Library, Gibbes Museum, Historic Charleston Foundation, and Beaufort County Library. They seek to provide free online access to unique materials that document the history and culture of the region.
South Carolina Digital Library
The South Carolina Digital Library provides free access to historic materials, such as photographs, manuscripts, journals, books, oral histories, objects, etc. illustrating the history and culture of South Carolina from over 40 cultural heritage institutions across the state. Over 200,000 items have been added so far.
University of South Carolina Digital Collections
The University of South Carolina Libraries provides online access to materials from its many collections related to the history of South Carolina through this interface. Included is a selection of materials especially for South Carolina teachers, SC Digital Academy.
Clemson University Digital Initiatives
The libraries’ digital collections contains digitized cultural heritage materials from Clemson Special Collections and other institutions in the Upstate of South Carolina, such as Greenville County Library, Furman University, Pendleton Historic Commission, and Presbyterian College.
South Carolina Websites
Website with links to South Carolina-specific web resources for K-12 homework help, projects and more. For elementary, middle school, and high school students and educators.