Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Digital Primary Resources
American Leaders Speak: Recordings from World War I and the 1920 Election, 1918-1920
Archived and digitized recordings from the Library of Congress from World War I as well as the election of 1920
Avalon Project - 20th Century Documents
The Avalon Project is part of the Lillian Goldman Law Library at Yale and showcases primary documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy. Browse this page of important documents for dates coinciding with World War I.
BYU - World War I Document Archive
This archive of primary documents from World War One has been assembled by volunteers of the World War I Military History List (WWI-L). International in focus, the archive intends to present in one location primary documents concerning the Great War.
The Europeana Digital Library has compiled stories, film and historical material relating to the first world war.
German Federal Archive's World War I Collection
The collection includes private material as well as files of military and civilian authorities, records left by politicians and military officers, documentaries and propaganda films. Access to the complete archive is free and in German.
Hathi Trust - WWI Letters and Diaries
Collection of World War I - Diaries & Letters compiled from published, out of print, secondary sources.
Compiled by Hathi Trust Digital Library.
Mt. Holyoke College - WWI Resources
Large collection of primary resource documents including those related to diplomacy, presidential speeches, battles, and contemporary articles.
NOTE: This is a list of links to other sites on the web; some links may no longer be valid
North Carolinians and the Great War
"North Carolinians and the Great War" examines how World War I shaped the lives of different North Carolinians on the battlefield and on the home front as well how the state and federal government responded to war-time demands. (Created by UNC)
Primary Sources Digital Library
Large collection of primary sources which include posters, pictures, text, records, films, and other related resources.
NOTE: This is a list of links to other sites o the web; some links may no longer be valid
World War I Draft Cards
Name index and images of draft registration cards for World War I. Three registrations occurred between 1917 and 1918.