Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Learn Japanese! provides a fast and easy way to learn the Japanese language.
- Lessons with all Hiragana and Katakana
- Lessons with Vocabulary and Grammar
- Easy Show And Quiz style Teaching Method.
- English to Japanese and Japanese to English.
- Easily review previously learned lessons.
- Audio pronunciation.
- Network access not required.
Learn Japanese - Phrasebook for Travel in Japan
• Universal app works on iPhone, iPod Touch, & iPad
• Carefully translated list of essential phrases
• 400+ common words and phrases included for FREE
• Upgrade and unlock all 900+ phrases in 18 categories
• Audio recorded by native speakers
• Option to playback audio at slower speed
• No internet connection required
• Highlight important words with tips
• Store frequently used phrases in favourites
• Search by words inside the app
• No adverts or annoying popups
Free. No WiFi needed.
1000 Basic Flash Cards for Japanese
includes cards for Hiragana and Katakana
•almost 900 of the most common words for beginners
•get a card right and it's take out
•get it wrong and it's shuffled back in
•learn cards 10 at a time
•test yourself Japanese to English, or English to Japanese
•you may choose which individual cards make up each deck
Practise every day and feel the excitement as your vocabulary grows.
Google Translate provides an instant translation of text and speech between more than 70 languages, from Afrikaans to Yiddish and from Arabic to Ukrainian. It accepts input using your voice, handwriting, and camera; then you can listen to your translations spoken aloud. You can save your favorite translations and sync them across devices.
A free version of iTranslater Voice with paid add ons. Better to get the other app if you want all the bells and whistles, and you do.
Translater and dictionary. 70 languages, including Chinese, Italian, Japanese, Korean Greek, Hindi, Russian and Thai. Transform non-Latin languages into Latin characters.
- Instantly start a voice-to-voice conversation into one of 42 languages and dialects, including French, Italian, Spanish, and Japanese.
- Look up definitions and translations for common words & phrases, just using your voice.
- AirTranslate - Connect devices together and easily engage in conversation with other people.
- Share translations - Simply tap on a translation to copy, mail, SMS, tweet or post to Facebook.
- Super-accurate voice recognition eliminates need for typing.
Requires internet. Paid.
French, German, Hungarian, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Turkish.
"Far and away the best free language-learning app." —The Wall Street Journal
Free. Works offline.
Advertised as "Fun" Learn the course using science-based learning techniques. Bring learning to life with mems - little snippets of imagination and humour that make things easy to remember.
Say “hello” to friends and family with an instant message, voice or video call on Skype for free. There’s so much you can do, right from the palm of your hand.Join over 250 million people every month using Skype
- Get started with Skype on your iPad and find your friends in an instant.
Call friends on Skype
- Enjoy free voice and video calls to anyone else who is on Skype and make HD quality video calls from your iPad 4.
Message friends and send photos in an instant
- Instant message your friends in a flash, add emoticons and even photos.
- Stay in touch with friends and family even when they're busy or offline with unlimited, free video messages.
Call mobiles and landlines
- Add a little Skype Credit to send low-cost SMS messages or call friends on their mobile or landline.
Needs Internet - Free
Dropbox is a free service that lets you bring all your photos, docs, and videos anywhere. This means that any file you save to your Dropbox will automatically be saved to all your computers, phones, and the Dropbox website. Dropbox lets you choose a folder or folders on your device, and the contents of any file that changes within that folder will be reflected in the storage cloud.
Be sure to save documents and photo to your device if you want to insure their availability when the internet is unavailable.
Dropbox lets you store up to 18GB (2GB and 500MB per referral) of digital media for free. The premium plans for Dropbox start at $9.99 per month for 100GB and go up in price from there for Windows, Mac, Linux, iPad, iPhone, Android, BlackBerry, and Kindle Fire
Google Drive provides cloud-based storage and lets you access your files no matter where you are or what device you are using. You can specify a directory on your PC or Mac computer that is then synced to your Drive account. You get 5GB of free space; 25GB costs about $30 a year. Google Docs is also built right into Google Drive, so you can collaborate with others in real time on documents, spreadsheets, and presentations. Google Drive can even recognize content in your scanned documents and images.
Free. Needs WiFi.
WhatsApp Messenger is a smartphone messenger available for iPhone and other smartphones. WhatsApp uses your 3G or WiFi (when available) to message with friends and family. Switch from SMS to WhatsApp to send and receive messages, pictures, audio notes, and video messages. First year FREE! ($0.99 USD/year after)
Free - Requires Wifi
(Similar to Yelp) Just ask Siri to book restaurants, movies, taxis and more.
Free. Needs WiFi.
Know when to tip and how to present the tip in over 30 countries. Tip the right amount in restaurants, hotels, taxis, salons and more.
Divide fairly between drinkers and nondrinkers. Exclude tax from the tip if you want to. Round up or down with one touch.
Send an email containing food and drink subtotals, the tip amount and the total per person before and after rounding.
Millions of traveler reviews, photos, maps from TripAdvisor. Plan and have your perfect trip. With over 100 million reviews and opinions by travelers, TripAdvisor makes it easy to find the lowest airfare, best hotels, great restaurants, and fun things to do, wherever you go. And booking options for hotels, restaurants and flights are just a tap away.
Free. Needs WiFi.
Looking for a burrito joint open now? An Irish pub nearby? A gas station you can drive to before your tank hits empty? Yelp for your iPhone is here to help. Use us to search for places to eat, shop, drink, relax and play then read reviews from an active community of locals in the know. Free. Needs Wifi.
See flight details on beautiful, zoomable maps or get real-time departure info, delays and gate numbers at a glance. Full international coverage means you can track all your flights worldwide. We’ll even update you on cancellations and help you find an alternate flight.
Paid - Requires internet
FlightView is a free must-have for travelers. It gives you real-time status updates on flights (with one end in North America) and alerts you to changes. You can view a national airport delay map with weather. The map for in-air flights shows the plane's current position, speed, and altitude, as well as national radar weather. An ad-free version is available for 99 cents, and an Elite version with more features is available for $3.99. It's also available in free and paid versions for the iPhone.
Find low airfares, pick your ideal seat on the plane, and get real-time flight alerts with the free SeatGuru® app. We have rolled out redesigned high resolution seat maps with improved seat and amenity information. The updated seat maps also have a new photos section with seat and cabin pictures from our SeatGuru community. And now you can easily submit your own seat reviews and photos right from your phone! All from the ultimate source of advice on airplane seats, in-flight amenities and airline related information.
Access over 700 seat maps from approximately 100 airlines.
Explore new places, discover local favorites, and navigate your world with Google Maps. Voice guided turn-by-turn GPS navigation and more. Now available on iPhone and iPad with a simple, easy-to-use design.
Comprehensive, accurate maps in 200 countries and useful information on over 100 million places worldwide.Find out what the holdup is with live traffic updates & incident reports
● Try public transit, biking and walking directions and navigation
● Discover the perfect spot for any occasion with local reviews and simple 5-star ratings from trusted friends and experts
● Explore: A new way to browse and discover popular local places to eat, drink, shop, play and sleep
● Tour cities with stunning, 360-degree Street View and see inside restaurants, museums and more
● Sign in to save favorite locations, get tailored recommendations, and access past searches across devices
Galileo Offline Maps provides you with a collection of 15 online maps. But you can add your custom online map source via XML file.
Saving (caching) maps - app automatically saves all recently viewed images in the cache. Thanks to this you can browse this map again without an Internet connection even while your device is in the flight mode.
Import your KML/GPX files - plan your trip by creating waypoints and routes on your computer and easily upload them to Galileo Offline Maps for free.
Pinpoint your current location and track your position as you move.
Search by POI type, address and GPS coordinates online.
Free. NO WiFi needed.
OpenMaps is an amazing map app to find out what's around you. It's based on Twitter and OpenStreetMap.org, the free wiki world map. It let's you check in to and share OpenStreetMap places with your Twitter friends and has some great & useful map tools like download maps for offline use, route directions and others. Paid. Requires Wifi.
Real-time departures. Transit maps. Line status and real-time disruption alerts. Uber integration. Bike routing and live bike share info. Constant updates. Everything you need -- and may not even realize you need -- to manage your life in the city.
Planning & Reservations
The award winning Expedia Hotels & Flights app is the best and most beautiful way to book your hotel or flight. With real-time Itineraries with notifications, it's an essential app for when you're ready to start your trip. As always, you can save up to 40% with amazing Expedia Mobile Exclusive hotel deals and with Best Price Guarantee you know you're always getting the best deal.
The #1 Mobile Travel App. Includes flight and car search, hotel search and booking, flight tracker and My Trips, so you have your full itinerary at your fingertips. And of course, KAYAK is free.
- Compare flight, hotel and car rental deals
- Book your hotel, right in the app. Just choose KAYAK as your booking option
- Track your flight status
- View and manage your trip itinerary
- Look up baggage fees
- Access airline numbers and airport info
Free. Needs Internet.
Packing (+TO DO!)
Never forget to pack anything again!
- BUILD / SAVE / COPY / EDIT lists quickly & easily with multi-item selection
- DISCOVER new ideas & suggestions from included sample lists
- MONITOR checked off items
- SORT / FILTER items by type or item, or bage
- EDIT item details (number, weight, value, person, bag & notes)
Paid. No WiFi needed.
TripAdvisor is now optimized for the iPhone, iPad and iPod touch. Plan and have the perfect trip with access to real traveler reviews, opinions, photos, maps, and forums that can answer even the most specific questions when you’re on the go. TripAdvisor is the world’s most trusted travel site with over 45 million reviews and opinions by travelers like you.
Free. Needs Internet.
Organize your travel plans in one place with TripIt® from Concur. Simply forward your travel confirmation emails to firstname.lastname@example.org and TripIt automatcally creates a detailed daily itinerary for every trip.
• Trusted forecasts help you plan your day, week, or even the next 15 minutes with the most accurate forecast available.
• Maps offer past and future radar, as well as customizable map layers (radar, clouds, temperature, rain, and snow, among others).
• Severe WEATHER(TM) page has everything you need to track and prepare for a storm, including an interactive hurricane tracker map, safety tips, National Weather Service (NWS) alerts, and breaking news video (when available)
• Severe WEATHER(TM) push alerts & badges
• Detailed WEATHER(TM) conditions give you the temperature, sunrise time, sunset time, cloud cover, precipitation, wind speed, and humidity.
Allows you to track up to ten destinations, including abroad.
Free. WiFi needed.
AppBox Pro: A Swiss Army Knife for Your Digital Life
- Secure Wallet: Securely store your credit card information, membership numbers, passwords and accounts, and more.
- Alarm Clock with Music Play: Beautiful and Sleek Digital and Flip clock
- Currency: 195 Currencies and number input with built-in calculator
- Event Diary: a.k.a. Countdown/Days Until
- Flashlight: L E D flash as a flashlight and strobe light for iPhone4/4s
- Holidays: 97 Countries Information
- Mirror: for iPhone4/4s, iPad2 & iPod Touch4: Zoom/Rotate
- Ruler: supporting both inches and centimeters
- Translator: supporting 53 Languages, Listen for 37 Languages, Detect Language, and Share with Message, Tweet, and Mail.
- Unit Converter: 17 Categories & 357 Units and Number input with built-in calculator
Paid. Some features require internet.
Find My iPhone
If you misplace your iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, or Mac, the Find My iPhone app will let you use another iOS device to find it and protect your data. Simply install this free app on another iOS device, open it, and sign in with the Apple ID you use for iCloud. Find My iPhone will help you locate your missing device on a map, remotely lock it, play a sound, display a message, or erase all the data on it.
If the iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch you want to locate is running iOS 6 or later, Find My iPhone also includes Lost Mode. Lost Mode locks your missing device with a passcode and can display a custom message and contact phone number right on the Lock Screen. While in Lost Mode, your device can also keep track of where it has been so you can view its recent location history from the Find My iPhone app.
Please note that Find My iPhone must be enabled in the iCloud settings on your device before you can locate it with this app.
Free - Requires Wifi
Alarm Clock for Me
Alarm clock with weather features.
Free. Needs WiFi for weather features.
Quickly and easily find FREE or paid Wi-Fi worldwide. Download all of the locations offline, so you know how to stay connected when you are on the road.
Using the GPS function on your iPhone, the Wi-Fi finder will tell you exactly where the closest Wi-Fi hotspot is, and how to get there.
Free - Needs WiFi for most functions.
WIFI HD Free
Turn your iPhone into a wireless, mobile external hard drive!
Works over any WiFi connection. You can now share, copy, and backup your files to and from your PC / Mac / Linux / or another phone! Very easy to use.
1. Connect iPhone to WiFi network.
2. Start the WiFi HD App on iPhone.
3. Use any device browser to go to designated IP address.
Free. Needs WiFi
Convert every world currency with the XE Currency App – Free Edition. It offers live proprietary currency rates, charts, and even stores the last updated rates, so it works when the Internet doesn't. This easy-to-use currency calculator has received over 14 million downloads. It was an app of the week in iTunes, and has been featured by the BBC, the LA Times, CNN, and The Travel Channel!
Free. No WiFi needed.