Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Curriculum Standards Module
The EBSCOhost Curriculum Standards module, powered by Academic Benchmarks, has been updated. It contains over 1,050 standards aligned to the curriculum for specific U.S. states, U.S. Common Core and Canadian provinces.
This update includes:
- The addition of Common Core for mathematics and language arts
- The addition of Canadian standards
- The addition of new updated standards from U.S. states
- Update to preferred search strings associated at the Benchmark level
Databases which link content to Common Core Standards
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
This resource contains more than 20,000 critical essays from over 500 literary journals and 2,300 scholarly and critical books, including 700 titles published by Bloom's Literary Criticism and Facts On File. Also included in the database are more than 13,000 biographies, 45,000 character entries, 5,000 synopses of literary works and hundreds of images and 1,160 videos. (Infobase)
Britannica Library This link opens in a new window
Access to two homepages: Britannica Kids for children and young adults, and Britannica Reference Center for older students and adults.
Periodical articles display Lexile reading levels.
Britannica Animal Kingdom This link opens in a new window
Discover facts about animals by group, by habitat, or by name.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Cultural reports on the countries of the world, US states and Canadian provinces. Supporting materials include a photo gallery, recipes, and biographies. You can view flags, maps, slideshows, national anthems, and video clips. (Grades 4-12.) (ProQuest)
Explora for Elementary Schools This link opens in a new window
Search engine designed for elementary students and teachers. Provides access to magazines, newspapers, books, biographies, country reports, primary sources, video, and more. Teachers can find Curriculum Standards and Lesson Plans. (Ebsco)
Explora for High Schools This link opens in a new window
A search engine designed for secondary school students and teachers. Includes magazines, newspapers, biographies, country reports, film, and video. Teachers can find Curriculum Standards and Lesson Plans. (Ebsco)
Explora for Middle Schools This link opens in a new window
A search engine designed for middle school students and teachers. Teachers can find Curriculum Standards and Lesson Plans. (Ebsco)
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database that provides more than 35,000 plot summaries, synopses, and work overviews. Also provides nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticism. (Ebsco)
NoveList K-8 Plus This link opens in a new window
A great online resource for helping teachers, school librarians, and kids find the next great fiction read. Also provides access to information on over 30,500 nonfiction titles. (K-8) (Ebsco)
NoveList Plus This link opens in a new window
Another database designed to help users find the next great read. Contains information on over 260,000 fiction and nonfiction titles. (Ebsco)
Opposing Viewpoints in Context allows you to find articles and supporting information on...both sides of today’s hottest social issues - from Terrorism to Endangered Species, from Stem Cell Research to Gun Control.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A full text database designed to provide a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current social issue. The database has more than 290 topics, each with an overview, point, counterpoint, and critical thinking guide. (Grades 6-12) (Ebsco)
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science related content. Contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources, as well as almost 300,000 images. (Ebsco)
Visual Arts standards
National Coalition for Core Arts Standards
The development of the next generation of voluntary National Visual Arts Standards will be complete in June 2014. NAEA is among a number of governing organizations of the National Coalition for Core Arts Standards (NCCAS) and leads the development of the visual arts standards through the visual arts writing team. Preview the Standards and learn more with these resources. Look for the final version of the National Visual Arts Standards as a poster in Art Education Journal and on this site.
Common Core Alignment
The New Standards have Arrived!
Please join us at www.nationalartsstandards.org