Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
(Produced by the nonprofit Center for Practical Bioethics) This site provides bibliographic access to the American Journal of Bioethics (AJOB) as well as useful news, commentary, and networking for research and policy issues surrounding medical ethics and health care. To access full text articles in the AJOB, you will need to use the Thrift Library’s online databases which have access to this title from 2001 on with a one year embargo. Also included is a Bioethics News section with free full-text access to news and commentary from a wide range of international media sources. The News section, searchable by keywords, is organized in 23 topics ranging from Biotechnology to Environmental Ethics to Neuroethics. Blog.Bioethics.net (designated a Nature Top 50 science blog) provides commentary on current bioethical issues by contributors, including AJOB's prestigious editorial board and invited experts.
Ethics Resource Center
This site covers ethical behavior, issues, and standards in both the private and public sector. It contains downloadable research articles, reports, surveys, statistics, Webcasts, and book reviews. Find information on federal policy, stealing, retaliation, executive compensation, social networking, and character education.
History of Philosophy
A very large, diverse collection of essays addressing many philosophical, historical, scientific, religious, economic, legal, and political issues.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Written by philosophers for philosophers. Contains about 1,500 entries consisting of an introduction, a table of contents, and a fairly long, detailed discussion of controversial topics in contemporary analytic philosophy. Entries conclude with an extensive bibliography of scholarly books and articles. Hyperlinks to additional websites.