Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MBA Portal: Favorite Websites

Welcome to the Anderson University MBA orientation page

About Favorites

The library and your professors have collaborated to identify  thousands of reliable websites.

See Also:

Accountiing

Computer Science

Economics

Heath Care Management

Management

Marketing

Statistics

Recommended Websites Page

Featured Websites

MoneyCentral.com is a free website which provides much of the same information found in the Thrift Library's databases. it is particularly useful for finding Earnings Estimates, Earnings to Growth Ratios, Company Growth Rate, and Industry Growth Rate.
Investopedia - Of special interest is the Industry Handbook which provides discussions of about a dozen select industries.

Moodle

 
AU Moodle is the location where the faculty keep all of your hybrid (online) course materials. You will find your syllabus, discussion forums, case studies etc...
   

Companies

 

AnnualReports.com – A list of publicly traded companies and their annual and 10K reports. Search by Company Name, Ticker Symbol, Exchange, Industry, or Sector.

Big Charts - Free access to charts, reports, indicators and quotes for stocks, mutual funds and major market indices. 

Bplans.com – Free advice and information on developing business plans including sample plans.

Business.gov - Business.gov guides you through the maze of government rules and regulations and provides access to services and resources to help you start, grow, and succeed in business.  The Research and Resources link takes you to information on Business Statistics, Employment Data, Trade Statistics, Market Research, Country Data, Government Publications, Commercial Publications, and the Environment

Corporate Information - The source for global corporate information on the leading companies in over 55 countries. A wide spectrum of reports that analyze, probe, review and profile.

Added Feb. 2011 - Entrepreneur - Great source for advice on how to start, run, and expand a new business.  The Video section contains hundreds of videos features advice from experts and success stories.  Tools and Services includes startup kits, salary calculators, business plans, market tools, and more.

eSignal.com – Chart stock movement from 3 month to 5 year period

Forecastcenter.com – Discusses future trends with links to numerous sources.

Fuld & Company – Lots of information and links on “competitor intelligence. Once there look for Intelligence Index and CI Tools. This will lead the searcher to a starting array of good business resources. 

Markets Data Center – From the Wall Street Journal, this free market research page covers stocks, international markets, ETFs, Mutual Funds, Bonds, Commodities and Futures, Currencies, Calendars & Economy, and Earnings.

Microsoft Investor - Personal finance site.

Morningstar.com - Providers of news and analyses on markets, stocks, and mutual funds, for the individual investor. Registration required.

NAICS - North American Industry Classification System – Provides classification number for business sectors.

SEC Filings and Forms (Edgar) - The SEC requires all public companies (except foreign companies and companies with less than $10 million in assets and 500 shareholders) to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR.

South Carolina Department of Commerce – Helpful information about S.C. business.

Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Numbers – Search database for SIC numbers.

Wall Street Executive Library – Excellent starting point for business research. Categories include News, Company and Industry Research, Financial Markets Research, Statistics and Economics Research, Leisure, a “Business Toolkit”, etc.

WWW Virtual Library Labour and Business History - Annotated links to archives, libraries, organizations, resources, conferences etc worldwide.

Industry Websites

 

Big Charts - Free access to charts, reports, indicators and quotes for stocks, mutual funds and major market indices. 

Added Feb. 2011 - Business Data You Can Use – This site, provided by the Census Bureau, census data in a user-friendly format. Includes links to Industry Snapshots and links to American FactFinder (another good page), and Industry Statistics Sampler. Updated every five years – 2002 and 2007 are latest.

Business Ethics – Links to articles, cases studies, corporate codes of ethics, professional organizations and associations, and other resources.

Business.gov - Business.gov guides you through the maze of government rules and regulations and provides access to services and resources to help you start, grow, and succeed in business.  The Research and Resources link takes you to information on Business Statistics, Employment Data, Trade Statistics, Market Research, Country Data, Government Publications, Commercial Publications, and the Environment.

Conference Board - A trusted source for business statistics and trends, including consumer confidence reports and other economic indicators. Some content fee based.

County Business Patterns - Annual series that provides sub national economic data by industry.  

Current Industrial Reports – Provides reports on manufacturing activity in important commodity areas such as textiles and apparel, chemicals, primary metals, computer and electronic components, industrial equipment, aerospace equipment, and consumer goods.

Economist - Offers access to many articles of the print magazine. 

Export.gov - Anyone can use this site, but registered users have access to additional reports. Topics include Export Basis, Finding Partners and Trade Leads, Market Research, Counseling and Advocacy Services, Export Assistance Services, Trade Events, Export Finances, Shipping Documentation and Regulation, Pricing Quotes and Negotiations, Help with Trade Problems, and Buying US Products. An excellent resource for anyone wishing to do business abroad.

eSignal.com – Chart stock movement from 3 month to 5 year period.

FITA: Web Resources for International Trade - Keyword search or browse with links to 8,000 plus web sites. Categories include Trade Leads, Business Directories, Direct Investment, Currencies, International Taxation, Seaports, Translation Services, Industrial Commodity Codes, International Law, Treaties and International Conventions, Trade Barriers, Expatriate Resources, International Business Publications. 

Forecastcenter.com – Discusses future trends with links to numerous sources.

Industry Research Desk - This site identifies and then extensively annotates 17-plus steps in the industry research process. While weak in general retail, banking and finance information, it is a good teaching site for the novice industry researcher.

Markets Data Center – From the Wall Street Journal, this free market research page covers stocks, international markets, ETFs, Mutual Funds, Bonds, Commodities and Futures, Currencies, Calendars & Economy, and Earnings.

Morningstar.com - Providers of news and analyses on markets, stocks, and mutual funds, for the individual investor. Registration required.

NAICS - North American Industry Classification System – Provides classification number for business sectors.

National Retail Federation - Industry's largest advocacy organization which advances the industry through professional seminars, trade conferences, publications and educational ...Lots of links, reports, data.

National Trade Database – Detailed statistical and narrative information on world trade. Includes guides to doing business in foreign countries, market research, country reports on economic, social policies, and trade practices.

Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Numbers – Search database for SIC numbers.

Wall Street Executive Library – Excellent starting point for business research. Categories include News, Company and Industry Research, Financial Markets Research, Statistics and Economics Research, Leisure, a “Business Toolkit”, etc.

WWW Virtual Library Labour and Business History - Annotated links to archives, libraries, organizations, resources, conferences etc worldwide.