Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
See Also - Database Related Pages
Best Education Databases
ERIC This link opens in a new window
The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides access to educational literature and resources. Provides indexing to over 1,6 million titles and Full Text to 750,000 documents. (Ebsco)
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
This source on education provides indexing to more than 1,000 periodicals and yearbooks, full text for 520 journals. (HWWilson)
Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
Content includes 1,100 periodicals covering education from preschool to college and every educational specialties. (Gale)
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
PDC provides access to 518 full text education magazines and journals as well as indexing to an additional 200 titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. (Ebsco)
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
TRC provides indexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals. Topics include assessment, best practices, continuing education, pedagogical research, curriculum development and much more. (Ebsco)
Helpful Education Databases
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Gale Ebooks (formerly GVRL) contains over 3,500 volumes of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. (Gale)
Learning Express Library 3.0 This link opens in a new window
“Contains practice tests, eBooks, and tutorials designed to help users succeed on academic or licensing tests such as PRAXIS I and II, DAT, GMAT, GRE, MAT, MCAT, NCLEX RN, NCLEX PN and PCAT. Also provides tutorials for Reading, Writing, Math, Science, Careers and Computer Skills - and much, much more. You must create a personal account to use. (Grades K-College)”
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 520 journals going back to 1985. (Ebsco)
What are peer reviewed sources?
Your instructor may require that you use peer-reviewed articles in your research. What is a peer-reviewed article? Considered the "gold standard" of research, a peer-reviewed article is an article that must be reviewed by two or more professionals in the field before being accepted for publication. Peer-reviewed articles are generally written by and for faculty, researchers, or scholars. They tend to be longer than "popular" literature and use scholarly or technical language. You might also hear them called "scholarly" articles.