Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Database Support: About

What Are Databases?

Databases are typically online collections of articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers.

Increasingly databases may contain eBooks, images, and recordings.

While some databases contain content for every citation, many contain only partial content. For instance, a particular database may only have full text content for the last thirty years, with citations and/or abstracts to earlier dates.

You may also encounter "embargoed" titles - titles whose content is blocked online by the publisher for the first month, six months, or year.

How to Choose a Database

If you know the title to a database you may find it alphabetically under either the ALL Tab or under the appropriate letter Tab above.

You may also click on the By Subject link in the box to your right to find a database by its Subject or Format.

About Journal Search

Use Journal Search to look up the holdings for a specific Magazine, Journal, or Newspaper.

If the title is one of the tens of thousands available in the Thrift Library, then you will be told what databases contain that title... there may be a lot...

...as well as the years of coverage for each database...they may differ from database to database.

This is particularly important when determining whether a title is embargoed (delayed) in one database, but not another; or when picking the database whose coverage extends furthest back in time.

Note that databases are constantly changing title coverage. Journal Search provides current title coverage.

About...

About Databases

What’s a library database, by RMIT University. Learn how the library’s databases will get you a better grade than Google with this two minute animation.

Databases by Subject

By Subject

Click on the link above.

Mega Databases - Huge Databases on All Topics

Academic Search Complete - Scholarly - Contains 13,200 indexed titles, 8,750 in full text.

Academic OneFile - Scholarly - Contains 14,000 indexed titles, 6,500 in full text.

OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition – Scholarly - Contains 4,251 indexed titles, 2,700 in full text. [Mobile]

NOTE: All of the library's Mega Databases can be searched at the same time using OneSearch.  Give it a spin!