Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Interior Design Resources: Articles

Interior Design Databases - Best Bets

Browsing Interior Design Journals

While most students use OneSearch for research (searching by topic) there may be times you wish to browse a magazine or journal looking for ideas.The library has hundreds of magazines and journals on interior design, architecture, construction, engineering, etc. which can be accessed individually by title, and then by issue.

These are accessed through Journal Search.(See below) 

Once there type in the name of the journal or click on the subject area. Examples include Architecture, Construction, Engineering, and Visual Arts, etc. FYI - While most Interior Design titles are clustered under Architecture, some titles may be found in the other subject areas mentioned.

Caveats: Periodicals are constantly changing. They change name and frequency of publication. Within a database they may change years of coverage and how their images are represented (PDF, Full text with images, Full Text without images, no Full Text at all). Many have gone out of business. Some have morphed into websites and blogs.

Consequently the lists noted above became dated the moment they were created. The best way to find up to date info is through Find a Journal.

Advice

OneSearch is a much bigger tool than Art Full Text for finding articles on interior design, but it requires the user to narrow their search to relevant material.

Art Full Text is easier to use, but much smaller.

Neither database is particularly good at finding specific images

Recommended Titles

The following titles are available in the Thrift Library for browsing.

  • GA Houses - On Reserve
  • House Beautiful
  • Interior Design
  • Journal of Interior Design
  • Southern Living