It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Curriculum Lab, Virtual: Library
The Virtual Curriculum Lab Research Guide is designed to assist education majors in developing classroom presentations by providing grade level resources, lesson plans, methods, tool, tips and advice.
Features indexing of articles from key library and information periodicals as far back as 1980. Contains over 390 journals and over 300 books annually, as well as chapters in collected works such as conference proceedings, library school theses and pamplets. (Ebsco)
Indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. This database also contains full text for more than 330 journals. (Ebsco)
Use these helpful databases for starting your research.
More than 8,700 pro and con viewpoint articles and more than 4,700 topic overviews. This database contains lesson plans, links to state standards, links to websites, statistics, primary sources, and teacher resources. (Grades 6-13) (Gale)
Now users can take notes easily without opening a separate program. The "Highlights and Notes" tool allows you to select text from a document, highlight the important sections, add your own notes, and save to a new "Highlighted Articles" page. Within the same session, the highlighted sections can be easily viewed, printed, downloaded, or sent via email (no user account within the database is required). (Gale)
A full text database designed to provide a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current social issue. The database has more than 290 topics, each with an overview, point, counterpoint, and critical thinking guide. (Grades 6-12) (Ebsco)
Contains full text for over 140,000 articles from nearly 260 diverse sources including international newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information. (Grades 5-12) (Ebsco)
This is a list of library web pages maintained by school libraries in the United States and in countries around the world. This directory is limited to listing pages which focus on the school library/media center. The content of these pages is quite varied and displays the marvelous creativity of school librarians around the world. (K-12)
Using the Big6 information literacy process, you will identify information research goals, seek, use, and assemble relevant, credible information, then to reflect— is the final product effective and was my process efficient. The Big6 information literacy process is completely transferable to any grade level, subject area, or workplace. Big6, state and national instructional standards, and your curriculum all work together hand-in-hand.
The South Carolina State Library and the South Carolina Digital Library present the South Carolina Children's Library Services Collection, a collection of historical and contemporary images from the 1940s-2000s relating to library services for children.
The photographs are from the archives of the South Carolina State Library and many were taken by State Library field agents. Portrayed in photographs are youth at public libraries, summer reading programs, other children's programs, and displays.
Resources for Research and Information Literacy for K-12
The Adventures of Super3 by Annette C. H. Nelson; Danielle N. DuPuis
Call Number: E-BOOK
Publication Date: 2010-07-01
Cover; Contents; About the Authors; Acknowledgments; DVD Contents; Standards and Permissions; General Introduction; CHAPTER 1: Introductory Lesson; CHAPTER 2: Teaching Super3 to Kindergarten; CHAPTER 3: Super3 for First Grade; CHAPTER 4: Second Grade Takes on Super3; Index;
Destination Collaboration 2 by Danielle N. DuPuis; Lori Carter
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2010-12-01
Every classroom teacher and library media specialist could benefit from an authoritative, clear roadmap for navigating the Isolation, Coordination, Cooperation, and Collaboration (ICCC) continuum. The seemingly simple question: How do I collaborate? has a multitude of sides and layers that defies an easy answer.
The Kid's Guide to Research by Deborah Heiligman; David Cain (Illustrator)
Call Number: JUV Z710 .H38 1998
Publication Date: 1999-08-01
Provides guidance on how to do research, including how to use libraries and their resources, the Internet, and other sources such as interviews and surveys.
Researching Issues by Maity Schrecengost
Call Number: E-BOOK
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
"This guidebook is written for the middle school student who needs to research and report an issue of significance or controversy, which could be anything from school violence to bioethics to drug laws to environmental policy."