Handbooks/Guidebooks - Provide information or instruction on such topics as plants and animals of the Bible, dietary habits, weights and measures, calendars and holidays, etc.
Handbooks can also be on a specific topic such as Christian philosophy, prophesy, denominations,etc.
A New Handbook of Christian Theology by
This handbook provides thorough introductory articles on important themes in Christian theology. Along with cross-references and select bibliographies, it is an indispensable reference source.The Handbook consists of 148 topical entries arranged alphabetically. Instead of a Table of Contents, a "Routes For Reading" page suggests related entries, and cross-referencing makes 'surfing' this volume easier than ever.
Christian Leadership Essentials by
Christian Leadership Essentials finds university president David S. Dockery assembling a great wealth of tried and true insights on the distinctive methods of leading Christian organizations and institutions. No matter how much experience a faith-based leader may already have, there are plenty of fresh thoughts and indispensable guiding principles here on topics including finance and budget planning, mission and vision, employee relations, theological foundations, mentoring, crisis management, and more. A majority of the nineteen contributors are active academic presidents, including Robert B. Sloan (Houston Baptist University; "A Biblical Model of Leadership"), Judson Carlberg (Gordon Colle≥ "Managing the Organization"), Jon Wallace (Azusa Pacific University; "Financial Oversight and Budget Planning"), Evans Whitaker (Anderson University [South Carolina]; "Development, Campaigns, and Building Projects"), Carl Zylstra (Dordt Colle≥ "Accreditation and Government Relations"), Jim Edwards (Anderson University [Indiana]; "Relationships with Multiple and Various Constituencies"), Phil Eaton (Seattle Pacific University; "Employee Relations in a Grace-filled Community"), Barry Corey (Biola University; "Engaging the Culture"), and Randall O'Brien (Carson-Newman Colle≥ "The Leader as Mentor and Pastor").
Handbook of Denominations in the United States, 14th Edition by
The Handbook of Denominations in the United States has long been the gold standard for reference works about religious bodies in America. The purpose of this Handbook is to provide accurate and objective information about the most significant Christian traditions and denominations in the United States today. It contains descriptions of over 200 distinct Christian denominations as well as overviews of the several major Christian traditions to which they belong--based on shared historical and theological roots and commitments. The information for each denomination has been provided by the religious organizations themselves and focuses on the denominations' doctrines, statistics, and histories.The 14th edition is completely updated with current statistics, new denominations, and recent trends. The book has been made more useful and manageable by moving very small groups into broader articles while giving more detail and description to the large and influential denominations.
Handbook of life in Bible times by 
Holman Bible Handbook by
This practical tool brings an understanding of the ancient world together with the timeless message of God's Word to expand Biblical insights for the modern readers. Features include: articles, outlines and commentary from leading evangelical scholars, full-color photos, illustrations, charts and maps, special section on historical background and recent findings in Biblical archaeology, highlighted, theological teaching and ethical message of each Bible book, and study questions for further reflection.
The SBL Handbook of Style by
""The SBL Handbook of Style" is an astonishing book, a true 'one-stop' reference for authors preparing manuscripts in biblical studies and related fields. It covers an amazing range of topics, from what every literate scholar should know (but may not) to what only the most erudite expert in an obscure sub-field of the discipline would be likely to know. Do you need to know how to cite an internet publication? Whose job it is to prepare the index and secure permissions? How to alphabetize Abraham ibn Ezra (and why)? What the abbreviation "AAeg" stands for? It's all here. This volume should substantially reduce the incidence of tears and tantrums that so often beset the process of manuscript preparation. Before long biblical scholars will wonder how we ever got along without this indispensable reference work. Every graduate program should make "The SBL Handbook of Style" a required text." -Carol A. Newsom, Professor of Old Testament, Emory University " . . . A major service for the community of biblical scholars. This comprehensive but handy stylesheet, building on the base of the SBL guidelines, incorporates all that most authors and editors currently need to know about the technical dimensions of publishing activity, from commas and hyphens to abbreviations, from transliterations to forms of annotation. All that's left to authors is to come up with good ideas. All editors have to do is to learn what is here." --Harold W. Attridge, Lillian Claus Professor of New Testament, Yale Divinity School
The Complete Evangelism Guidebook by
Nearly ten million Americans have recently said they are "absolutely committed" to both the Christian faith and to sharing the Good News of Jesus Christ with others. Still, many people don't know where to start, what to say, or how to say it. The Complete Evangelism Guidebook is a comprehensive resource on everything a person needs to know about sharing his or her faith. Well-known evangelists such as Rick Warren, Josh McDowell, and Luis Palau combine their knowledge into one comprehensive and easy-to-read handbook. This practical guide will explain how to define, demonstrate, declare, and defend faith with almost anyone from almost any background--friend, co-worker, atheist, agnostic, or someone else. With more than seventy articles written by nearly sixty evangelism experts, The Complete Evangelism Guidebook will make sharing the faith easier than ever
