Christianity: a Very Short Introduction by
At a time when Christianity is flourishing in the Southern hemisphere but declining in much of the West, thisVery Short Introductionoffers an important new overview of the world's largest religion.Exploring the cultural and institutional dimensions of Christianity, and tracing its course over two millennia, this book provides a fresh, lively, and candid portrait of its past and present. Addressing topics that other studies neglect, including the competition for power between different formsof Christianity, the churches' uses of power, and their struggles with modernity, Linda Woodhead concludes by showing the ways in which those who previously had the least power in Christianity--women and non-Europeans--have become increasingly central to its unfolding story.
Encyclopedia of Religion and Ethics by
Excerpt from Encyclopedia of Religion and Ethics, Vol. 8: Life and Death; MullaGibson (william ralph boyce), m.a B.se. Professor of Mental and Moral Philosophy in the University of Melbourne; author Of A Philosophical Introduction to Ethics (190 and other works.About the PublisherForgotten Books publishes hundreds of thousands of rare and classic books. Find more at www.forgottenbooks.comThis book is a reproduction of an important historical work. Forgotten Books uses state-of-the-art technology to digitally reconstruct the work, preserving the original format whilst repairing imperfections present in the aged copy. In rare cases, an imperfection in the original, such as a blemish or missing page, may be replicated in our edition. We do, however, repair the vast majority of imperfections successfully; any imperfections that remain are intentionally left to preserve the state of such historical works.
Encyclopedia of Catholicism by
Encyclopedia of World Religions explores the major religions of the world, emphasizing the living faiths and their background. Each illustrated volume provides access to the theological concepts, personalities, historical events, institutions, and movements that helped shape the history of each religion and the way it is practiced.
Encyclopedia of Christianity by
There are numerous reference volumes dealing with Christianity. Remarkably, however, until now there has been no one-volume encyclopedia dedicated Christianity on a global scale.This exhaustive work presupposes no prior knowledge of Christianity, and can usefully be consulted by Jews and Muslims, people of other faiths or no faith at all. It covers all forms of Christianity throughout history and the world. Over 300 major articles by distinguished internationalcontributors are linked through a novel series of pointers that provide different angles on topics and show the connections between them. The contributors include the leading experts on the topics under consideration, which range from regional surveys to portraits of denominations and sects,explorations of theological and moral questions, relationships with other faiths, and a "Who's Who" of Christianity. In addition to the main articles, helpful "fact boxes" present basic factual material, often in the form of lists, bringing together information that is often surprisingly difficultto find: creeds, councils, popes, miracles and parables of Jesus, religious orders, and much more. This remarkable resource, more than ten years in the making, fills a major gap in the literature on world Christianity.
Encyclopedia of Protestantism by
Encyclopedia of Protestantism explores the movement that began in Europe in the 16th century, established itself in opposition to the Roman Catholic Church, spread around the world, and today lives on in thousands of individual denominations and parachurch organizations. A comprehensive encyclopedia on Protestantism, this invaluable reference covers its history, concepts, people, events, and major organizations worldwide.
Encyclopedia of Religion by
Among Library Journal's selections of the most important reference works of the millennium - with the Encyclopedia Judaica and the New Catholic Encyclopedia - Mircea Eliade's Encyclopedia of Religion won the American Library Associations' Dartmouth Medal in 1988 and is widely regarded as the standard reference work in the field. This second edition, which is intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, will include almost all of the 2750 original entries - many heavily updated - as well as approximately 600 (1.2M words) entirely new articles. Preserving the best of Eliade's cross-cultural approach while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture, this new edition will be the definitive work in the field for the 21st century. An international team of scholars and contributors have reviewed, revised and added to every word of a classic work to make it relevant to the questions and interests of readers, whether students, specialists, or laypersons. The result is an essential purchase for libraries of all kinds. Every article from the first edition was evaluated by our board of scholars. of study are given their own entries. New composite entries present overarching themes - for example, gender and religion, politics and religion - with each article within the composite covering a different religious tradition. Many of the reprinted articles from the first-edition have updated bibliographies. This is an indispensable resource for any school with a department or programme in religious studies. Additionally, articles support the curriculum and general research in history, gender studies, language and literature, music, the visual arts, history, politics, ecology, health and medicine, law, sociology and anthropology. Three Colour inserts serve as pictorial essays illuminating themes such as pilgrimage, prayer, healing, and how these concepts are displayed in various religions throughout the world. Illustrations go beyond the typical stock imagery and present images of authentic value not readily available elsewhere.
Encyclopedia of Religion, Communication, and Media by
Communication is at the heart of all religions. As an essential aspect of religion, communication occurs between believers, between religious leaders and followers, between proponents of different faiths, and even between practitioners and the deities. The desire to communicate with as well as convert others is also an aspect of some of the world's major religions. The Encyclopedia of Religion, Communication, and Media explores all forms of religious communication worldwide and historically, with a special emphasis on oral and written forms of communication. This A-Z organized reference work analyzes how and why the world's religions have used different means of communications through topics dealing with: theory and concepts in religious communication, including rhetoric, persuasion, performance, brainwashing, and more forms of verbal communication, such as chanting, speaking in tongues, preaching, or praying forms of written communication, such as religious texts, parables, mystical literature, and modern Christian publishing other forms of communication, including art, film, and sculpture religious communication in public life, from news coverage and political messages to media evangelism and the electronic church communication processes and their effects on religious communication, including non-sexist language, communication competence, or interfaith dialogue biographies of major religious communicators, including Muhammad, Jesus, Aristotle, Gandhi, and Martin Luther. From the presence of religion on the internet to the effects of religious beliefs on popular advertising, communication and media are integral to religion and the expression of religious belief. With its international and multicultural coverage, this Encyclopedia is an essential and unique resource for scholars, students, as well as the general reader interested in religion, media, or communications.
Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America, Set by
The Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America harvests the fruits of 25 years of scholarship on the history and current state of women's religious experience in North America. The result of a five-year project led by Rosemary Skinner Keller and Rosemary Radford Ruether and funded by the Lilly Endowment and the Henry Luce Foundation, the encyclopedia marshals the talents of more than 150 scholars to produce the most comprehensive and up-to-date description and analysis of women and religion in North America. The encyclopedia is interreligious, interracial, and multicultural and is aimed at a broad general audience. Instead of hundreds of short entries, this encyclopedia features more than 145 longer essays that enable major themes to be developed more fully. The articles focus on institutions, movements, and ideas. The authors weave biographical sketches into their articles to give them a more personal and humanizing quality, and to recognize the women responsible for the gains made over the centuries. The essays demonstrate that neither the story of women nor the story of religion in North America can be accurately told unless the religious experience of women is integrated into the center of women's and religious history. These well-illustrated volumes will be an essential reference for all of those interested in the role of women in North America's vibrant and complex religious life.
The Oxford Illustrated History of the Bible by
This is the story of a book, but a book like no other.The Bible has been in continuous use for nearly 2000 years and the larger part-the Hebrew Bible or Old Testament- is much older. It has played a central role throughout western history, as a source of conflict at many levels, and inspirerof heroic acts of witness both individually and collectively. Today it continues to inspire people working for a better world and a better humanity. It is the single greatest influence on the development of English literature, and subject of some of the world's finest art and music. Yet,surprisingly, its actual contents vary across different versions and translations, and remain a matter for serious debate to the present day.Here a distinguished team of scholars presents an authoritative account of that story, richly illustrated, and bringing to bear the latest findings. It tells how and why a collection of writings in Semitic languages and Greek that we now call the Books of the Bible came to be written over a periodof about 800 years; and how even before the Bible existed as one volume its constituent parts were interpreted and subjected to a scrutiny that no other writing has had to endure. The story traces the several routes whereby what was to be called the canon of Scripture was determined, andcontroversies surrounding which writings should be regarded as authoritative. It describes how over centuries the writings were copied, translated, and printed; how interpreted in Judaism and in the churches in the East and the West, and it concludes with surveys of how the Bible is being used todayin feminist criticism, and in the movements for theological liberation in Latin America, Africa, and Europe.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation by
In 1517, Martin Luther's legendary Ninety-five Theses set in motion a chain of events that fundamentally altered European history. The resulting Reformation of the sixteenth century proved to be one of the most important and far-reaching phenomena of an era marked by dramatic religious andsocial upheaval. A critical chapter in the history of Christian thought, the movement provoked political, social, and cultural transformations that profoundly changed the Western world.The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation is the first major reference to cover the immense subject of the Reformation in its entirety. Setting the issues of theology and ecclesiology within the broader context of the social and intellectual history of the time, it is the most authoritativereference available on early modern European society as a whole.The Encyclopedia is a unique compendium of contemporary scholarship focusing on the complete range of religious and social changes wrought by the Reformation-- including not only issues of church polity and theology but also related developments in politics, economics, demographics, art, andliterature. It is an unparalleled source of information on the personalities and events of the era, with broad coverage ranging from biographies to extensive treatments of topics such as Lutheranism, women, law, the Augsburg Confession, music, the Holy Roman Empire, peasants, the Bible, persecution,and literacy.Offering exhaustive interdisciplinary and international coverage of all aspects of the Reformation, this is the ultimate reference on the subject. Transcending the bounds of denominational encyclopedias and dictionaries of Reformation history currently available, it offers the only comprehensivepicture of western Europe and the British Isles, along with southern Europe, Scandinavia, and east-central Europe in the early modern period. It is the first source scholars, students, and general readers in any discipline will reach for when studying the Reformation.
Encyclopedia of Early Christianity by
First published in 1997. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
