Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Christianity: Chicago/Turabian Style

Covers the history and present day status of Christianity.

Chicago/Turabian Quick Tip - Citing Material from Databases

When you're citing material from a database and need to provide a link in the citation, don't copy the link in the address bar of your browser. 

If you're using an Ebsco database, click the link on the right side of the page labeled Permalink

If you're using a Gale database, go to the bottom of the article and look for something called the Document URL

If you are using Grove Music Online, click the Cite Link at the top right of the article.

Style Guides

Online Resources

There are a number of great online resources you can use to assist you with your citations.

Turabian Quick Guide

Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide

Purdue OWL Chicago Manual of Style Guide

Son of Citation Machine - citation generator (NOTE: Although this will save time, you should double-check any database-generated citation.)

eTurabian - online citation generator for Turabian, MLA, and APA

***Many databases will also create automatic citations for you - just look for the "Citation" link with your particular article and select the style you need. However, DOUBLE CHECK any citations you create with any citation generator because they can be (and often are) incorrect.***

What does a Turabian style paper look like?

Chicago vs. Chicago/Turabian

Chicago/Turabian is a variant of Chicago style invented for student use. Check with your instructors to see if they prefer one to the other.

* Note - The link to the online 17th Edition of the Chicago Manual of Style (2017) may initially prompt you to accept cookies before you can use the site!

QUICK TIP: Chicago/Turabian

- Used in the humanities and social sciences

- Bibliography should also be included at the end of the paper

- Uses footnotes and endnotes for in text citations (these can easily be entered using the keyboard shortcut Ctrl+Alt+F on a PC or Option+Command+F on Word for Mac).

Chicago / Turabian Citaton Style