Paul by
Here Jerome Murphy-O'Connor presents a completely new, and much more vivid and dramatic account of the life of Paul than has ever previously been attempted. From his childhood in Tarsus and his years as a student in Jerusalem to the successes and failures of his ministry, this biography has nopeer in terms of its detailed reconstructions of Paul's movements and motives.Traditionally, the Acts of the Apostles has provided the framework for the lives of Paul. In recent years, however, the historical value of the Acts has been called into question. Despite the accuracy of many details, they have been linked in ways which reflect the interests of Luke rather thanobjective reality. Critical assessment is called for if they are to be incorporated into a life of Paul.The prime source for a reconstruction of the Apostle's life must be his own writings. Recent advances in the study of the letters have brought to light new depths which enables them to be used for biographical purposes. The originality of this book lies in the combination of these two approaches,which are reinforced by close attention to the social and cultural aspects of Paul's ministry as revealed by archaeology and contemporary texts--and it transforms a fountain of theological ideas into a human being.
The Blackwell Companion to Paul by
The Blackwell Companion to Paul presents a distinctive dual focus approach that encompasses both the historical Paul and the history of Paul's influence. In doing so, expert contributors successfully address the interests of students of early Christianity and those of Christian theology. Offers a complete overview of the life, writings and legacy of one of the key figures of Christianity The essays compass the major themes of Paul's life and work, as well as his impact through the centuries on theology, Church teaching, social beliefs, art, literature, and contemporary intellectual thought Edited by one of the leading figures in the field of Pauline Studies The contributors include a range of world-renowned academics
Martin Luther by
This first volume in Martin Brecht's three-volume biography recounts Luther's youth and young adulthood up to the period of the Diet of Worms. Brecht, in a clear, eloquent translation by James Schaaf, discusses Luther's education at the University of Erfurt, his monastic life, his canonical trial in 1519, the Leipzig debate, and his earliest contributions to the beginning of the Reformation. Illustrations enrich the text.
Roger Williams by
The founder of Rhode Island and of the first Baptist Church in America, an original and passionate advocate for religious freedom, a rare New England colonist who befriended Native Americans and took seriously their culture and their legal rights, Roger Williams is the forgotten giant amongthe first English colonists.Now, Edwin S. Gaustad, a leading expert on the life of Roger Williams, offers a vividly written and authoritative biography of the most far-seeing of the early settlers--the first such biography written for a general audience. Readers follow Roger and Mary Williams on their 1631 journey toBoston, where he soon became embroiled in many controversies, most notably, his claim that the colonists had unjustly taken Native American lands and his argument that civil authorities could not enforce religious duties. Soon banished for these troubling (if farsighted) views, Williams wandered forfourteen weeks in bitter snow until he bought land from the Narragansett Indians and founded Providence, which soon became a sanctuary for religious freedom and a refuge for dissenters of all stripes. The book discusses Williams' journey back to London, where he sought legal recognition of hiscolony, spread his enlightened views on Native Americans, and (alongside John Milton) fought passionately for religious freedom. Gaustad also describes how the royal charter of Rhode Island, obtained by Williams in 1663, would become the blueprint of religious freedom for many other colonies and afoundation stone for the First Amendment.Here then is a vibrant portrait of a great American who is truly worthy of remembrance.
This link opens in a new window
African-American Religious Leaders by
Praise for the previous edition: ...informative...a useful addition to high school and college libraries.--American Reference Books Annual
A Dictionary of Christian Biography by
Smith and Wace's magisterial A Dictionary of Christian Biography provides an account of the figures and personalities of the early Christian Church. Its four volumes and more than 4,000 pages provide authoritative accounts of every person connected with the early Christian Church, the literature connected with them, and the controversies relating to doctrine or discipline in which they were engaged. Articles range from extended entries on major figures such as Constantine I, Isidore of Seville, Justinian and Tertullianus, to entries on the Doctrine of Faith, the Apochryphal Gospels, Predestination, the Coptic Church, and the Doctrine of the Holy Ghost. Lesser known figures such as Esimphaeus, King of the Homeritae in the Yemen, and Alfredus, the seventh century Bishop of Narbonne are included. The result is a comprehensive Who was Who of the early Church and a major contribution to our understanding of what was done, believed and thought in the early ages of Christianity. With a new introduction by Michael Ledger-Lomas, a leading authority on the history of Christianity, this handsome large format edition forms a unique and valuable resource.
Fifty Key Christian Thinkers by
Fifty Key Christian Thinkers provides both valuable information and stimulating debate on the lives and work of fifty of the most important Christian theologians. This guide provides an overview of Christian theology from the emergence of the faith 2000 years ago to the present day. Among the figures profiled in this accessible guide are: * St Paul * Barth * Aquinas * Boethius * Niebuhr * Calvin * Luther * Feuerbach * Kierkegaard * Origen
Great Leaders of the Christian Church by
A truly unique work, spanning the centuries of the Christian Church, introducing the reader to heroes of the faith. Great Leaders of the Christian Church provides a contributing authors' list which in itself is a "Who's Who" of leaders in the Church today.
The Oxford Dictionary of Saints, Fifth Edition Revised by
Far more than a dry hagiographical account of the lives of saints, this entertaining and authoritative dictionary breathes life into its subjects and is as browsable as it is informative.First published in 1978, the Oxford Dictionary of Saints offers more than 1,700 fascinating and informative entries covering the lives, cults, and artistic associations of saints from around the world, from the famous to the obscure, the rich to the poor, and the academic to the uneducated. From allwalks of life and from all periods of history and from around the world, the wide varieties of personalities and achievements of the canonized are reflected. An updated introduction explains the steps towards becoming a saint, the processes of beatification and canonization.This revised fifth edition includes appendices containing five maps of pilgrimage sites, a list of saints' patronages and iconographical emblems, and a calendar of principal feasts, as well as a new appendix on pilgrimages.
Religious Leaders of America by
This reference by scholar J. Gordon Melton provides more than 1200 detailed biographical profiles of the contemporary and historical men and women responsible for influencing American religion. Each biographical profile begins with the name, birth date and place, death date and place (if applicable), and affiliation/occupation of the religious leader.
Who's Who in Christianity by
Who's Who in Christianity is an invaluable reference guide to the leading men and women who have influenced the course of Christian history, including the founding fathers, saints, popes, monarchs, philanthropists, theologians, missionaries and heretics. The book encompasses both Eastern and Western churches and the lives and opinions of personalities who have shaped the past twenty Christian centuries, from Jesus of Galilee to Pope John Paul II, and from Paul of Tarsus to Mother Teresa.
Augustine of Hippo by
The life and works of Augustine of Hippo (354-430) have shaped the development of the Christian Church, sparking controversy and influencing the ideas of theologians through subsequent centuries. His words are still frequently quoted in devotions throughout the global Church today. His keythemes retain a striking contemporary relevance - what is the place of the Church in the world? What is the relation between nature and grace?Augustine's intellectual development is recounted with clarity and warmth in this newly rediscovered biography of Augustine, as interpreted by the acclaimed church historian, the late Professor Henry Chadwick. Augustine's intellectual journey from schoolboy and student to Bishop and champion ofWestern Christendom in a period of intense political upheaval, is narrated in Chadwick's characteristically rigorous yet sympathetic style.With a foreword reflecting on Professor Chadwick's distinctive approach to Augustine by Professor Peter Brown.
Dietrich Bonhoeffer, 1906-1945 by 
C. S. Lewis: a Biography by
This is the true story of C.S. Lewis - one of the greatest writers of the twentieth century - whose books for children and adults have become much-loved classics. Part of the story of C.S. Lewis has been made famous through the film 'Shadowlands'. Here this fascinating man's entire life-story is told by those who knew him personally. C.S. Lewis was born in Belfast in 1898 and was sent to England for a public school education with his elder brother, Warren. Lewis exhibited a genius for imagination and perception from his earliest years. Brought up in a Christian household, Lewis lost his faith in his teenage years but was to regain it, with reluctance, as a fellow at Magdalen College, Oxford. His faith subsequently influenced his writings. He became a vigorous champion of the Christian faith through classics such as Mere Christianity and through his BBC broadcasts. His Chronicles of Narnia became children's classics and he was deluged with correspondence from his young readers. In his latter years he unexpectedly fell deeply in love with a divorced American, Joy Greshem, and married her, only to suffer the devastation of her death a few years later. C.S. Lewis died in 1963 at his home in Oxford. During his lifetime C.S. Lewis suggested to his friend, Roger Lancelyn Green, who was a fellow English scholar, that he would undertake his biography one day. After Lewis's death in 1963 Lancelyn Green and Walter Hooper were approached by several of Lewis's friends, to write the biography. Warren Lewis, brother to Jack, contributed a great deal to the writing. The authors had at their disposal a vast collection of letters and diaries, as well as the recollections of many surviving family members and friends. Walter Hooper has enhanced the original text with additional material to provide a new, expanded edition which all C.S. Lewis fans will be keen to own.
