Canon law
- Early church, ca.30-600
Christian ethics - BJ1190-BJ1278
Christian life - BV4500-BV4595
Christian philosophers
Christian sociology - BT739
Christianity and politics - BR115.P7
Christianity - BR1-BR129
Christianity and atheism - BR128.A8
Christianity and culture - BF115.C8
Christiany and existentialism
Christianity and justice - BR115.J8
Christianity and law - BR115.L28
Christianity and other religions - BR127
Church - BV590-BV640
- Apostolicity - BV601.2
- Authority - BT91
- Foundation
- Holiness
Church and social problems - HN30-HN39
Church and state
Church and the world - BR115.W6
Church controversies
Church discipline
Church etiquette - BJ2018-BJ2019
Church polity - BV646-BV651
Dogma - BT19-BT33
- Dogma, Development of
Dogmatic theology - SEE Theology, Doctrinal
Faith -
- BT770-BT772 (Theology)
- BV4637 (Moral theology)
Mission of the Church - BV601.8
Systematic theology - SEE Theology, Doctrinal
Theologians
Theologians (Canon law)
Theological belief - SEE Faith
Theology - BR-BX
Theology, Doctrinal - BT65-BT84
- History - BT20-BT30
- - Early church, ca.30-600
- - Middle Ages, 600-1500
- - Modern period, 1500-
- - 16th century
- - 17th century
- - 18th century
- - 19th century
- - 20th century
Theology, Practical - BV1-BV4
Theology, Systematic - SEE Theology, Doctrinal
Encyclopedia of Christianity by
There are numerous reference volumes dealing with Christianity. Remarkably, however, until now there has been no one-volume encyclopedia dedicated Christianity on a global scale.This exhaustive work presupposes no prior knowledge of Christianity, and can usefully be consulted by Jews and Muslims, people of other faiths or no faith at all. It covers all forms of Christianity throughout history and the world. Over 300 major articles by distinguished internationalcontributors are linked through a novel series of pointers that provide different angles on topics and show the connections between them. The contributors include the leading experts on the topics under consideration, which range from regional surveys to portraits of denominations and sects,explorations of theological and moral questions, relationships with other faiths, and a "Who's Who" of Christianity. In addition to the main articles, helpful "fact boxes" present basic factual material, often in the form of lists, bringing together information that is often surprisingly difficultto find: creeds, councils, popes, miracles and parables of Jesus, religious orders, and much more. This remarkable resource, more than ten years in the making, fills a major gap in the literature on world Christianity.
Encyclopedia of Christian Theology by
The Encyclopedia of Christian Theology, translated from the French Dictionnaire Critique de Théologie 2nd Edition, features over 530 entries, contributed by 250 scholars from fifthteen different countries. Alphabetically arranged entries provide the reader a critical overview of the main theological questions and related topics, including concepts, events, councils, theologians, philosophers, movements, and more. Hailed as a "masterpiece of scholarship," this reference work will be of great interest and use for scholars, students of religion and theology as well as general readers.
Essentials of Evangelical Theology by
This is a two-volume work exploring the implications of a broad-based Evangelicalism. It clarifies the distinctive aspects of Evangelicalism, and places theological issues in the context of both a historical perspective and the new life found in Christ. This book's] intent is to break down the walls that divide Christians from one another on significant doctrinal issues so that the church can give a unified witness to a world that sorely needs to hear and believe the good news of reconciliation and redemption through Jesus Christ. - from the preface. It is based on 20 years of scholarship by one of evangelical Christianity's senior theologians.
Evangelical Dictionary of Theology by
Fifteen years after its original publication comes a thoroughly revised edition of the Evangelical Dictionary of Theology. Every article from the original edition has been revisited. With some articles being removed, others revised, and many new articles added, the result is a completely new dictionary covering systematic, historical, and philosophical theology as well as theological ethics.
Global Dictionary of Theology by
Theological dictionaries are foundational to any theological library. But until now there has been no Global Dictionary of Theology, a theological dictionary that presumes the contribution of the Western tradition but moves beyond it to embrace and explore a full range of global expressions of theology.The Global Dictionary of Theology is inspired by the shift of the center of Christianity from the West to the Global South. But it also reflects the increase in two-way traffic between these two sectors as well as the global awareness that has permeated popular culture to an unprecedented degree.The editorial perspective of the Global Dictionary of Theology is an ecumenical evangelicalism that is receptive to discovering new facets of truth through listening and conversation on a global scale. Thus a distinctive feature of the Global Dictionary of Theology is its conversational approach. Contributors have been called on to write in the spirit of engaging in a larger theological conversation in which alternative views are expected and invited.William A. Dyrness, Veli-Matti K#65533;rkk#65533;inen, Juan F. Martinez and Simon Chan edit approximately 250 articles written by over 100 contributors representing the global spectrum of theological perspectives.Pastors, theological teachers, theological students and lay Christian leaders will all find the Global Dictionary of Theology to be a resource that unfolds new dimensions and reveals new panoramas of theological perspective and inquiry. Here is a new launching point for doing theology in today's global context.
New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology by
The New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology is, first, a basic enlargement of the German Theologisches Begriffslexikon zum Neuen Testament. On its first publication in German it was recognized as a major reference work and has since become a more and more widely acclaimed as an important tool for understanding the theology and message of the Bible. Its translation and publication in English, together with the extensive revisions and additions, provide a unique source of information, invaluable to ministers, teachers, and anyone interested in the study as well as the teaching of the Bible. Some of its main features are: concise discussions of the major theological terms of the Bible; arranged in English alphabetical order; does not require knowledge of Greek and Hebrew; discusses the use of each key term in classical Greek, the Old Testament, the rabbinic writing, and the New Testament; glossary of technical terms; full bibliographies; and complete indexes that make the wealth of information in these volumes readily accessible.
The Routledge Companion to Modern Christian Thought by
This Companion provides an unrivalled view of the field of modern Christian thought, from the Enlightenment to the twentieth century and beyond. Written by an outstanding team of theologians and philosophers of religion, it covers the following topics within Christian thought: Key figures and influencers Central events and movements Major theological issues and key approaches to Christian Theology Recent topics and trends in Christian thought Each entry is clear and accessible, making the book the ideal resource for students of Christian thought and history and philosophy of religion, and a valuable reference for professional theologians and philosophers.
The Westminster Dictionary of Christian Theology by 
A History of Christian Doctrine by
Anyone who is interested in constructive theology needs a knowledge of the history of Christian theology. In succession to the classic History of Christian Doctrine by G. P. Fisher, Professor Cunliffe-Jones has brought together a team of experts in the various periods to provide a new and comprehensive survey of the field.All the great themes, the Fathers, the Heretics of the long story here find their due place, from sub-apostolic Christianity to Vatican II. Also featured are the contribution of Orthodox theology to the whole development, the complex problems of the pre-Reformation period and the troubled modern period with its new perspectives of Church and society and its deep underlying malaise. Includes contributions from G. W. H. Lampe, Kallistos Ware, David Knowles, E. Gordon Rupp, Benjamin Drewery, Basil Hall, T. H. L. Parker, H. F. Woodhouse, R. Buick Knox and John H. S. Kent.
Doing Contextual Theology by
Christian theology, like all forms of knowledge, thinking and practice, arises from and is influenced by the context in which it is done. In Doing Contextual Theology,nbsp;Angie Pears demonstrates the radically contextual nature of Christian theology by focusing on five forms of liberation theology: Latin American Liberation Theologies; Black Theologies; Feminist Informed Theologies; Sexual Theologies; Body Theologies. Pearsnbsp;analyses how each of these asserts a clear and persistent link to the Christian tradition through The Bible and Christology and discusses the implications of contextual and local theologies for understanding Christianity as a religion. Moreover, she considers whether fears are justifiednbsp;that a radically contextual reading of Christian theologies leads to a relativist understanding of the religion, or whether these theologies share some form of common identity both despite and because of their contextual nature. Doing Contextual Theology offers students a clear and up-to-date survey of the field of contemporary liberation theology and provides them with anbsp;sound understanding of how contextual theology works in practice.
The Formation of Christian Doctrine by
The Formation of Christian Doctrine is a high-level academic study of the history of Christian doctrinal development. The book distinguishes at length between the scholarly term "inventio" (making explicit what is implicit in the biblical revelation) and the idea of "invention" (presenting a novelty as Christian teaching that conflicts with the biblical revelation). Specifically, The Formation of Christian Doctrine identifies biblical inerrancy as an inventio but sees the "priesthood of believers" concept as a license to believe "whatever teaching seems right to me." Sure to be of interest in academic circles, even to those who might disagree with the author, this book will appeal to three major groups: Evangelicals in relation to the twentieth-century development of a detailed doctrine of biblical inerrancy, Baptists in light of both biblical inerrancy and the seventeenth-century development of believer's baptism, and Roman Catholics because of their respect for tradition and interest in such a challenging conservative Protestant perspective as is found here.
Theological Turning Points by
In this volume, Donald McKim traces the historical and systematic development of eight major Christian doctrines from early centuries to the present. Clearly written and amply documented, this introductory handbook features primary sources and extensive endnotes. It covers: the Trinity, Christology, Ecclesiology, Anthropology, Soteriology, Authority, the Sacraments, and Eschatology, concentrating on the decisive points in the development of the Church's theology. This book is well structured for use as a basic text.
Christian Apologetics by
Christian Apologetics: An Anthology of Primary Sources makes available over fifty primary source selections that address various challenges to Christian faith in the history of Christian apologetics. The compilation represents a broad Christian spectrum, ranging from early writers like Saint Paul and Saint Augustine, to Saint Teresa of Avila and Blaise Pascal, to more recent and present day apologists such as C. S. Lewis, Alvin Plantinga, William Lane Craig, Richard Swinburne and Pope Benedict XVI. Insightful introductions, black-and-white images, concise section headings and discussion questions guide readers toward a clearer understanding of classical defenses of Christianity. Annotated reading lists, a bibliography and author and subject indices contribute to the suitability of this anthology as a textbook or supplemental reader. Christian Apologetics: An Anthology of Primary Sources is an authoritative reference for key persons, concepts, issues and approaches in the history of Christian apologetics. It is especially useful as a supplemental textbook for students, allowing them to read great apologists and thinkers in their own words.
Christian Apologetics Past and Present by
Anthology of apologetics texts with selections from the first century AD through the Middle Ages. Includes introductions to each period and author, helpful comments in footnotes, and discussion questions for each selection.
Christian Apologetics Past and Present by
Anthology of apologetics texts with selections from the first century AD through the Middle Ages. Includes introductions to each period and author, helpful comments in footnotes, and discussion questions for each selection.
Christian Apologetics Past and Present by
Volume 2 of a substantial anthology covers Christian apologetics from the Reformation (AD 1500) through the present.
