Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Resources for 21st Century Baptists –Organizations and Resources for Baptists who are Committed to Faith in Christ, Authority of Scripture, Missions, Evangelism, Priesthood of Believers, Freedom, and Christian Integrity. Organized by Baptists Today and BaptistLife.Com.
Baptist Studies Online - Maintained by Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, this site provides free access to the Journal of Baptists Studies, Primary Sources, and important internet links.
Finding Sermon Recordings
The Thrift Library has a large collection of recorded sermons in both Cassette and CD-ROM.
Go to OneSearch and search under "Preaching". Then limit to "Sound Recording".
Studies in Baptist History and Thought
The Thrift Library has many titles on Baptist History
including these published as part of the Studies
in Baptist History and Thought.
- At the Pure Fountain of Thy Word: Andrew Fuller
as an Apologist, Michael A. G. Haykin
- Baptism and the Baptists: Theology and Practice
in Twentieth Century Britain, Anthony R. Cross
- Baptist Identities: International Studies from the Seventeenth to the Twentieth Centuries, Ian M. Randall, Toivo Pilli and Anthony R. Cross
- Baptist Sacramentalism, vols. 1 & 2, Anthony R. Cross & Philip E. Thompson
- Calvinism, Communion and the Baptists: A study of English Calvinistic Baptists form the Late 1600s to the Early 1800s, Peter Naylor
- Catholic Reformed Theologian, D.B. Riker
- Counter-Cultural Communities: Baptistic Life in
Twentieth-Century Europe, Keith G. Jones & Ian M. Randall
- Dictionary of European Baptist Life and Thought ,
John H. Y. Briggs
- European Baptist Federation: A Case STudy in Vuropean Baptist Interdependency 1950-2006, Keith G. Jones
- Marianne Farningham: A plain Woman Worker, Linda Wilson
- More Than a Symbol: The British Baptist Recovery
of Baptismal Sacramentalism, Stanley K. Fowler
- Offering Christ to the World: Andrew Fuller and the Revival of Eighteenth Century Particular Baptist Life, Peter J. Morden
- On Being the Church: Revisioning Baptist Identity, Brian Haymes, Ruth Gouldbourne and Anthony R. Cross
- Paradox And Perseverance, Dennis C. Bustin
- Pulpit and People: Studies in Eighteenth-Century
Baptist Life and Thought, John H. Y. Briggs
- Recycling the Past or Researching History?: Studies in Baptist Historiography and Myths, Philip E. Thompson adn Anthony R. Cross
- Search for a Common Identity: The Origins of teh Baptist Union of Scotland 1800-1870, Brian R. Talbot
- Seditious Sectaryes: The Baptist Conventiclers of Oxford 1641-1691 v.1, Larry J. Kreitzer
- Seditious Sectaryes: The Baptist Conventiclers of Oxford 1641-1691 v.2, Larry J. Kreitzer
- To Express the Ineffable: The Hymns and
Spirituality of Anne Steele, Cynthia Y. Aalders
- Towards Baptist Catholicity: Essays on Tradition
and the Baptist Vision, Steven R. Harmon
- Tracks and Traces, Paul S. Fiddes
- Tribe of Dan, Frank W. Rinaldi
"Lest we forget" heritage series [sound recording] : a collection of sermons that have impacted modern Southern Baptists life.
Call Number: CDNM BX6333.A1 L47 2002
a collection of sermons that have impacted modern Southern Baptist life.
The A to Z of the Baptists by With 110 million members worldwide, Baptists are surpassed only by Roman Catholic and Orthodox groups as the largest segment of Christians. The term 'Baptist' has its origins with the Anabaptists, the denomination historically linked to the English Separatist movement of the 16th century. Although Baptist churches are located throughout the world, the largest group of Baptists lives in the Southern United States, and the Baptist faith has historically exerted a powerful influence in that region of the country. The A to Z of the Baptists relates the history of the Baptist Church through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on important events, doctrines, and the church founders, leaders, and other prominent figures who have made notable contributions. This volume commemorates the 400th anniversary of the founding of the Baptist movement in 1609.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2009
The Baptist Story by The Baptist Story is a narrative history spanning over four centuries of a diverse group of people living among distinct cultures on separate continents while finding their identity in Christ and expressing their faith as Baptists. Baptist historians Anthony Chute, Nathan Finn, and Michael Haykin highlight the Baptist transition from a despised sect to a movement of global influence. Each chapter includes stories of people who made this history so fascinating. Although the emphasis is on the English-speaking world, The Baptist Story integrates stories of non-English-speaking Baptists, ethnic minorities, women, and minority theological traditions, all within the context of historic, orthodox Christianity. This volume provides more than just the essential events and necessary names to convey the grand history. It also addresses questions that students of Baptist history frequently ask, includes prayers and hymns of those who experienced hope and heartbreak, and directs the reader's attention to the mission of the church as a whole. Written with an irenic tone and illustrated with photographs in every chapter, The Baptist Story is ideally suited for graduate and undergraduate courses, as well as group study in the local church.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Baptist Theologians by
Call Number: BX6331.2 .B29 1990
Baptist Theology by This book considers the distinctive ideas and expressions of Christian faith to be found in the historic Baptist churches. An outline of the history of the Baptist movement will be offered, from its British beginnings in Amsterdam in 1609, through its varied developments in Britain, Europe and North America, to its worldwide presence and diversity today, and its relationship to many other churches with apparently-similar practices (Pentecostal and 'new' churches, e.g.).Holmes draws the various threads together, noting the real diversities in the history of Baptist theology, but suggesting that in a vision of the present and urgent Lordship of Christ experienced in the local congregation, there is a thread that links most of these distinctives.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012
The Fibers of Our Faith by This collection of sixteen lectures by noted Baptist scholars includes a special essay on The Elliott Controversy.
Call Number: BX6332 .F49 1995
General History of the Baptist Denomination in America, and Other Parts of the World, Vol. 2 of 2 (Classic Reprint) by Excerpt from General History of the Baptist Denomination in America, and Other Parts of the World, Vol. 2 of 2 The pulpit of this church was filled by great and good men of Welsh extraction, for about 70 years. About the Publisher Forgotten Books publishes hundreds of thousands of rare and classic books. Find more at www.forgottenbooks.com This book is a reproduction of an important historical work. Forgotten Books uses state-of-the-art technology to digitally reconstruct the work, preserving the original format whilst repairing imperfections present in the aged copy. In rare cases, an imperfection in the original, such as a blemish or missing page, may be replicated in our edition. We do, however, repair the vast majority of imperfections successfully; any imperfections that remain are intentionally left to preserve the state of such historical works.
Call Number: BX6231 .B4 1971
Readings in Baptist History by Readings in Baptist History compiles four centuries of notable religious documents, from John Smyth's "The Character of the Beast" in 1609 all the way to the 2000 revision of the Southern Baptist Convention's "Baptist Faith and Message." This primary source Baptist history book can be used as a companion to larger history texts or stand strongly on its own. In all, it contains key information concerning the theology, origins, conflicts, denominational organization, and historical events of early English Baptists, American Colonial Baptists, Southern Baptists, American Baptists, the Baptist Missionary Association, European Baptists, Baptist Bible Fellowship, the Cooperative Baptist Fellowship, and much more. The book also profiles influential pastors, theologians, missionaries, and Baptist leaders.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2008
Southern Baptist Research
To find books on Southern Baptists in OneSearch, search under the following official subject terms:
- Southern Baptist Convention
Subtopics include such things as:
- Church history