Atlases – Show the Biblical world in maps. Maps may cover various places and time periods, address specific topics such as Paul’s journeys or the Exodus, and may contain supplementary drawings or photos.
Commentaries - Explain the scriptures verse by verse by providing detailed background information on the authorship, history, setting, and theme of the Gospel.
Concordances – List every word in the Bible and then direct the reader to every use of that work
Dictionaries – Provide definitions of words and expressions used in the Bible. Also identify proper names. Some dictionaries will also provide the original Greek or Hebrew.
Encyclopedias - Provide definitions and lengthy discussions beyond that found in dictionaries.
Gazetteers – Geographical dictionaries, sometimes with supporting pictures.
Handbooks/Guidebooks - Provide information or instruction on such topics as plants and animals of the Bible, dietary habits, weights and measures, calendars and holidays, etc.
Handbooks can also be on a specific topic such as Christian philosophy, prophesy, denominations,etc.
The best place to find an eBook is in OneSearch.
Search for your topic, and then limit your results to eBooks.
Christianity by
Christianity is a concise and readable survey of the history of Christianity from its beginnings in late antiquity, through Reformations in the West, to its present day globalization. Focusing particularly on the modern period, it provides a valuable introduction to contemporary Christian beliefs and practices and looks at the ways in which this diverse religion has adapted, and continues to adapt, to the challenges of the modern world. Written in an accessible and informative style, and assuming little or no prior knowledge on the part of the reader, this book gives a basic introduction to the faith--its history, beliefs, and practices. Provides valuable pedagogy, including: timeline; maps; glossary; list of sacred days/festivals; suggested reading; pronunciation guide; index; feature boxes focusing on some aspects of the arts; 11 black and white pictures and artworks. Readers interested in learning more about the world's religions.
Christianity: a Very Short Introduction by
At a time when Christianity is flourishing in the Southern hemisphere but declining in much of the West, thisVery Short Introductionoffers an important new overview of the world's largest religion.Exploring the cultural and institutional dimensions of Christianity, and tracing its course over two millennia, this book provides a fresh, lively, and candid portrait of its past and present. Addressing topics that other studies neglect, including the competition for power between different formsof Christianity, the churches' uses of power, and their struggles with modernity, Linda Woodhead concludes by showing the ways in which those who previously had the least power in Christianity--women and non-Europeans--have become increasingly central to its unfolding story.
Dictionary of the Christian Church by
An essential resource for students of church history First published in 1997 as The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, Third Edition this unique, one-volume reference work has put information on all aspects of the Christian church at generations of reader s fingertips. Its extensive cross-referenced A Z entries offer unmatched coverage of a wide-ranging spectrum of topics. A roster of acknowledged experts in their fields penned the Dictionary of the Christian Church s entries. These authors, representing Christian traditions from around the world, offer informed, even-handed treatment of the many subjects addressed in the DCC. Whether one is seeking information on the Bible, religious orders, theologians or philosophers, archaeology or spirituality, the Dictionary of the Christian Church is the resource to consult. No library should be without this affordable edition of an authoritative work. Ideal for clergy, seminarians, students, and anyone interested in topics pertaining to the church Thousands of entries are cross-referenced to ease data retrieval Scholarly yet accessible Priced right for home and church libraries "
Encyclopedia of Catholicism by
Encyclopedia of World Religions is a new series from ""Facts On File"" that explores the major religions of the world, emphasizing the living faiths and their historical and social background. Each volume was written by an expert in the field, and reviewed and approved by series editor, J. Gordon Melton. Ideal for high school and junior college students, these authoritative references are accessible enough to be of use to the general reader as well as the serious scholar. Each volume includes approximately 600 A-to-Z entries that provide easy access to the theological concepts, personalities, historical events, institutions, and movements that helped shape the history of each religion and the way it is practiced today. Fascinating introductions by each author place the religion in context, and further readings, a bibliography, an index, and approximately 80 black-and-white photographs complete these invaluable resources.
Encyclopedia of Christianity by
There are numerous reference volumes dealing with Christianity. Remarkably, however, until now there has been no one-volume encyclopedia dedicated Christianity on a global scale.This exhaustive work presupposes no prior knowledge of Christianity, and can usefully be consulted by Jews and Muslims, people of other faiths or no faith at all. It covers all forms of Christianity throughout history and the world. Over 300 major articles by distinguished internationalcontributors are linked through a novel series of pointers that provide different angles on topics and show the connections between them. The contributors include the leading experts on the topics under consideration, which range from regional surveys to portraits of denominations and sects,explorations of theological and moral questions, relationships with other faiths, and a "Who's Who" of Christianity. In addition to the main articles, helpful "fact boxes" present basic factual material, often in the form of lists, bringing together information that is often surprisingly difficultto find: creeds, councils, popes, miracles and parables of Jesus, religious orders, and much more. This remarkable resource, more than ten years in the making, fills a major gap in the literature on world Christianity.
Encyclopedia of Protestantism by
Encyclopedia of Protestantism explores the movement that began in Europe in the 16th century, established itself in opposition to the Roman Catholic Church, spread around the world, and today lives on in thousands of individual denominations and parachurch organizations. This comprehensive reference to Protestantism covers its history, concepts, people, events, and major organizations worldwide. A special effort has been made to also include those parts of the world in which Protestantism did not take hold until the 19th century, such as Asia, Africa, and Oceania.The entries include: Amish; Biblical criticism; Black theology; The Fundamentals; Hermeneutics; International Pentecostal Holiness Church; Jehovah's Witnesses; Laying on of hands; Neo-Orthodoxy; Nineth-five Theses; Ordination of women; Oriental Mission Society; William Penn; Televangelism; and, Ulrich Zwingli.
Encyclopedia of Religion by
Among Library Journal's selections of the most important reference works of the millennium - with the Encyclopedia Judaica and the New Catholic Encyclopedia - Mircea Eliade's Encyclopedia of Religion won the American Library Associations' Dartmouth Medal in 1988 and is widely regarded as the standard reference work in the field. This second edition, which is intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, will include almost all of the 2750 original entries - many heavily updated - as well as approximately 600 (1.2M words) entirely new articles. Preserving the best of Eliade's cross-cultural approach while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture, this new edition will be the definitive work in the field for the 21st century. An international team of scholars and contributors have reviewed, revised and added to every word of a classic work to make it relevant to the questions and interests of readers, whether students, specialists, or laypersons. The result is an essential purchase for libraries of all kinds. Every article from the first edition was evaluated by our board of scholars. of study are given their own entries. New composite entries present overarching themes - for example, gender and religion, politics and religion - with each article within the composite covering a different religious tradition. Many of the reprinted articles from the first-edition have updated bibliographies. This is an indispensable resource for any school with a department or programme in religious studies. Additionally, articles support the curriculum and general research in history, gender studies, language and literature, music, the visual arts, history, politics, ecology, health and medicine, law, sociology and anthropology. Three Colour inserts serve as pictorial essays illuminating themes such as pilgrimage, prayer, healing, and how these concepts are displayed in various religions throughout the world. Illustrations go beyond the typical stock imagery and present images of authentic value not readily available elsewhere.
Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America, Set by
The Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America harvests the fruits of 25 years of scholarship on the history and current state of women's religious experience in North America. The result of a five-year project led by Rosemary Skinner Keller and Rosemary Radford Ruether and funded by the Lilly Endowment and the Henry Luce Foundation, the encyclopedia marshals the talents of more than 150 scholars to produce the most comprehensive and up-to-date description and analysis of women and religion in North America. The encyclopedia is interreligious, interracial, and multicultural and is aimed at a broad general audience. Instead of hundreds of short entries, this encyclopedia features more than 145 longer essays that enable major themes to be developed more fully. The articles focus on institutions, movements, and ideas. The authors weave biographical sketches into their articles to give them a more personal and humanizing quality, and to recognize the women responsible for the gains made over the centuries. The essays demonstrate that neither the story of women nor the story of religion in North America can be accurately told unless the religious experience of women is integrated into the center of women's and religious history. These well-illustrated volumes will be an essential reference for all of those interested in the role of women in North America's vibrant and complex religious life.
Reference databases are good for short, quick answers and for getting a general overview of a topic when starting your research.
This link opens in a new window