Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Contains over 600,000 preprints of scientific papers, and includes papers in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics.
(Produced by the nonprofit Center for Practical Bioethics) This site provides bibliographic access to the American Journal of Bioethics (AJOB) as well as useful news, commentary, and networking for research and policy issues surrounding medical ethics and health care. To access full text articles in the AJOB, you will need to use the Thrift Library’s online databases which have access to this title from 2001 on with a one year embargo. Also included is a Bioethics News section with free full-text access to news and commentary from a wide range of international media sources. The News section, searchable by keywords, is organized in 23 topics ranging from Biotechnology to Environmental Ethics to Neuroethics. Blog.Bioethics.net (designated a Nature Top 50 science blog) provides commentary on current bioethical issues by contributors, including AJOB's prestigious editorial board and invited experts.
Eric Weisstein’s Treasure Troves of Science
This massive interlinking site covers Astronomy, Biography, Books, chemistry, Life, Mathematics, Music, and Physics.
Florida Center for Environmental Studies
The center acts as a facilitator and co-coordinator of research and training related to the environment and as a locus for environmental information. Grounding its activities in the Florida sub-tropical environment, its mandate encompasses global tropical and sub-tropical environments especially the issues and problems of water dominated ecosystems.
US Department of Energy tracks fuel economy of new & used car models.
Futurity.org: News from Leading Research Universities
Futurity.org presents press releases for wide-ranging, significant research findings at leading public and private universities to balance the tendency in popular media to emphasize "sexy" news about major breakthroughs or miracle cures. Stories are categorized in the broad areas of Earth and Environment, Health and Medicine, Science and Technology, and Society and Culture. Most articles mention a journal or book in which the work will be formally published; many have a YouTube video interview with the researchers
National Council for Science and the Environment
A universal, timely, and easy-to-use single-point entry to environmental information and data for the use of all participants in the environmental enterprise.
OSTI - Office of Scientific and Technical Information
OSTI.GOV is the primary search tool for DOE science, technology, and engineering research and development. It contains over 3 million records, including citations to 1.5 million journal articles, 1 million of which have digital object identifiers (DOIs) linking to full-text articles on publishers' websites.
Public Library of Science (PLOS)
A nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource.
Searches 60 databases and over 2,200 websites for government information on the sciences.
Science Learning Network
Science resource for K-8 teachers and students. Offers news and links, an online museum, and a chat community area.
United Nations Climate Change Portal
A very important site for anyone concerned about climate change at any educational level
US Environmental Protection Agency
The US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) site provides a wide range of unique national, state, and local environmental information to a broad audience. The Learn the Issues section lets users quickly find information on broad topics such as air, water, climate, and waste; an A-Z subject index allows users to locate other related topics. The Science and Technology section includes data, models, tools, and methods useful for researchers and environmental professionals. The Laws and Regulations section is an excellent way to locate both the text of and information about specific statutes and regulations, including current rulemaking and regulatory proposals. My Environment, another excellent tool, allows users to search for environmental information based on ZIP code or city. My Environment also compiles data from other state and federal agencies, providing a more comprehensive view of an area's environmental conditions.
Video Lectures Net
The portal to more than 6,000 lectures and 8,300 videos on all topics - all free - can be used to supplement the classroom or learn something new of personal interest.
Suggest a Link - BE
If you would like to suggest a website for inclusion in this LibGuide, email us the link.
You may also want to include its Title and Description, and your email address as well if you would like a response.