Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biographies of women mathematicians
Here you can find biographical essays or comments on the women mathematicians profiled on this site, as well as additional resources about women in mathematics.
Digital Video Library
This collection of over 1,000 educational videos concentrates on Math and Science. “Presents sound educational theory hand-in-hand with research and case studies, illustrative classroom footage, scientific demonstrations, and interviews with students, teachers, and experts. Searchable by variety of state and national math and science standards.
National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM)
Contains an abundance of resources for mathematics educators at all levels including 500+ lesson plans with downloadable worksheets, NCTM standards. Includes the Illuminations feature which describes real life situations in which mathematics can be used, Curriculum Focal Points which list important math topics for each grade level as well related ideas, concepts, skills, and procedures.
National Science Digital Library (NSDL)
Covers science, technology, engineering and mathematics and provides separate gateways for Higher Education, Libraries, and K-12. This huge collection of “teaching and learning resources” includes such things as articles, research, and websites. Content is not always free.
NUMDAM This link opens in a new window
NUMDAM is a collection of a dozen mathematics periodicals in full image format, many going back to vol. 1. NUMDAM is in the process of translating its French titles into English.
Sage is a free open-source mathematics software system licensed under the GPL. Mission: Creating a viable free open source alternative to Magma, Maple, Mathematica and Matlab.
Although especially strong with the sciences, WolframAlpha. pulls up statistics and brief facts about almost anything – people, culture, sports, education, etc. Want to know how popular your name is? Type it and find out its rank. How many calories do you burn running? Type in the particulars and find out. Enter any math formula, place, plant, animal or chemical. Compare multiple stocks, or just about anything by separating your search terms with a comma.