Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music: Oxford Music Online

Books Included in Oxford Music Online

Content includes the following preeminent music resources.

Description

Oxford Music Online (OMO) searches the following scholarly resources, either individually, all at the same time, or in various combinations thereof:   

Grove Music Online

  • New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd edition) 29 vols.
  • New Grove Dictionary of Opera, 4 vols.
  • New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2nd edition). 3 vols.

The Oxford Companion to Music (2002)

The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006)

Features

Oxford Music Online (OMO) is comprehensive and authoritative:

  • Covers the entire history of music from Bach to the Blues
  • Broad coverage of musical styles
  • Updated regularly with new and revised articles
  • Detailed composers' works lists
  • Extensive lists of additional research resources
  • Powerful search tools

Content Description

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (2001) - 60,000 articles by 6,000 contributors, 30,000 biographies, sophisticated search and browse capabilities, over 500 Sibelius-enabled musical examples, and extensive links to musical sites on the Internet, making it the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of music.

The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), is a comprehensive resource on the study of opera designed for scholars and opera aficionados. Its 11,000 articles, written by more than 1,300 of the world's leading critics and scholars, cover 1,800 operas, the lives and works of more than 2900 composers and hundreds of singers  Indexes of character names and arias make it easy to find what you are looking for. Illustrations throughout the book present rare photographs, reproductions of original posters, set and costume designs, and scenes from modern productions.

New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (2002), is the largest, most comprehensive reference work on jazz ever published with over 7,000 articles on every aspect of the field, from jazz groups, composers and arrangers to instruments, terms, record labels and venues,

The Oxford Companion to Music (2002), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and

The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006), which supplements Grove's more extensive articles with content geared toward undergraduates and general users. Both of these sources are included in subscriptions to Grove Music Online.

Encyclopedia of Popular Music, 4th edition (2006). The most comprehensive reference work devoted exclusively to popular music, EPM is the authoritative biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists, covering popular music from 1900 to the present. It is exhaustive, meticulous, authoritative — and incredibly fun to read.

Self Quiz

Sample Questions:

1)      You are unsure of how to spell the last name of Giovanni Francesco Sabeno? Sabino? Sabieno?  But you are sure it starts with “Sab”. Hint: Click on Subject Headings and search for “Sab”.   Hint: Click on Subject Headings and search for “Sab”.

2)      Who liberated the timpani around 1800?

3)      Where can you find a list of women in music by time period? Hint: Use the Tools and Resource Tab (top of page) and scroll down to Music Timelines . Then scroll down to Women in Music.

4)      How many operas did Ottorino Respighi write?

5)      Who was Sa-Chi?

6)      How do I cite the following article?  Hint: Click on the small orange Cite Tab near the upper right hand corner and choose the Chicago/Turabian example. Due to the fact that Oxford Music Online consists of more than a half dozen different titles, this is a good way to make sure you are citing the right source. However, although the example provided by the database is close to proper Chicago/Turabian form, you will need to double check it against the handout

 Online Example:

John C.G. Waterhouse, et al. "Respighi, Ottorino." Grove Music Online. Oxford Music Online. 13 Sep. 2010 <http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com/subscriber/article/grove/music/47335>.

7)      Does Groves list more than a dozen scholarly sources on Antonio Salieri? Hint: Check the Bibliography at the end of the main article.

8)      Find an illustration (image) of Tempo.

Self Quiz - Answers

Sample Questions:

1)      You are unsure of how to spell the last name of Giovanni Francesco Sabeno? Sabino? Sabieno?  But you are sure it starts with “Sab”. Hint: Click on Subject Headings and search for “Sab”.   Sabino

2)      Who liberated the timpani around 1800?  Beethoven

3)      Where can you find a list of women composers by time period? Hint: Use the Tools and Resource Tab (top of page) and scroll down to Women Composers. Click on the By Time Period Tab.

4)      How many operas did Ottorino Respighi write? 10

5)      Who was Sa-Chi?  Béla Szakcsi Lakatos

6)      How do I cite the above article? Hint: Click on the small orange Cite Tab near the upper right hand corner and choose the MLA example. Due to the fact that Oxford Music Online consists of more than a half dozen different titles, this is a good way to make sure you are citing the right source. However, although the example provided by the database is close to proper MLA form, you will need to double check it against the handout

 

Online Example:

John C.G. Waterhouse, et al. "Respighi, Ottorino." Grove Music Online. Oxford Music Online. 13 Sep. 2010 <http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com/subscriber/article/grove/music/47335>.

            Corrected Citation:

John C.G. Waterhouse, et al. "Respighi, Ottorino." Grove Music Online. Oxford Music Online. Web. 13 Sep. 2010.

 

7)      Does Groves list more than a dozen scholarly sources on Antonio Salieri? Hint: Check the Bibliography at the end of the main article.Yes

8)      Find an illustration (image) of Tempo.

 

Printing

Notice that a typical article may be over 40 pages long, so printing is not a good option. You may want to consider bookmarking the article, saving it to your computer, or emailing it to yourself. A digital copy will also be helpful if you wish to copy and paste portions into your paper.

Browsing

Due to the extreme length of some articles, even browsing for something specific can be a challenge. Instead, use the Article Contents on the left side of the screen. For instance, using the long article on Mozart, open all the +’s until you find the Vocal Works of Mozart. Then hyperlink to them.