Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Credo Reference: Contemporary World Issues

Credo Reference- Contemporary World Issues


This box will search all of your Contemporary World Issues titles.

Contemporary World Issues Reference Handbooks

Information Overload? The Contemporary World Issues Reference Handbook series is a great gateway through which to begin your research.

The library has a large collection of this series online and in print. You can access the online versions either through the Library Catalog or through Credo Reference.

Highlights
• Thematic essay and topical entry formats
• Extensive resources for further research
• Coverage of critical issues facing America and the world

Features
• Exhaustive introductory essay
• Chronology of key events, movements, and legislation
• Biographies of important individuals
• Directory of important private organizations and government agencies
• Annotated guide to print and nonprint resources
• Extensive statistical resources in tabular and graph form

Example of a Reference Handbook - Table of Contents

The Internet and Society - Table of Contents

  • 1 Background and History
    • What the Internet and an Intranet Are—and the Internet’s Colorful History
      • What the Internet Is
      • What an Intranet Is
      • The Colorful History of the Internet and Its Increasingly Problematic Future
    • How the Internet Works
      • The General Nature of the Internet
      • Gaining Access
      • Ways to Communicate
      • Publishing on the World Wide Web
      • Creating a Website and Getting a Domain Name Address
      • Navigating the World Wide Web
    • Future Development of the Internet
      • Online Voting and VoIP Long-Distance Telephoning
      • Beating Jetlag with Redefined Internet Videoconferencing
      • Indulging in the Need for Speed with New and Improved Wireless Networks
      • Growing Podcasting
      • Turning to the Web to Watch Television
      • Dual-Core Multi-Processing and 64-Bit Computing
    • Conclusion
    • References
  • 2 Problems, Controversies, and Solutions
    • Internet Users’ Concerns about Privacy, Security, and Trust
      • Concerns about Privacy
      • Concerns about Security
      • Concerns about Trust
    • An Overview of Internet Crimes
      • Internet Crimes Resulting in Harm to Property
      • Internet Crimes Resulting in Harm to Persons
      • Technical Nonoffenses
      • Internet Criminal Liability: Four Elements
    • Conclusion
    • References
  • 3 Worldwide Perspective
    • Cultural Adaptation Factors Influencing the Digital Divide
      • Geographical Factors
      • Socioeconomic Status, Gender, and Life Stage Factors
    • Legal Jurisdictional Adaptation Factors
      • A U.S. Noncomplex Legal Jurisdiction Case in Point
      • The Electronic Frontier and Frontier Justice
    • Governments and Internet-Related Crimes
      • The United States
      • Canada
      • The United Kingdom
      • International Developments: The Convention on Cyber-Crime
    • Culture and the Digital Divide
      • An International Incident
    • Cultural Property and Personal Access
      • Intellectual Property Rights (IPR) Protection
      • Censorship of Certain Websites
    • Conclusion
    • References
  • 4 Chronology
    • The Setting
    • The Creative Beginning: The 1970s
    • The Growing-up Years: The 1980s
    • The Booming 1990s
    • Fear of a High-Tech Meltdown: 2001 to the Present
  • 5 Biographical Sketches
    • Tim Bray
    • Sergey Brin and Larry Page
    • Tim Burners-Lee
    • Vinton Cerf
    • Stephen Cook
    • Shawn Fanning
    • David Filo and Jerry Yang
    • William H. Gates
    • James Gosling
    • Steve Jobs
    • Johan Johansen
    • Mers Kutt
    • Mafiaboy
    • Kevin Mitnick
    • Pierre Omidyar
    • Dennis Ritchie
    • Dmitry Sklyarov
    • Ken Thompson
    • Ray Tomlinson
    • Steve Wozniak
    • References
  • 6 Data and Documents
    • Internet Legislation in the U.S.
      • 18 U.S.C.
      • Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA)
      • Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998 (DMCA)
      • Gramm-Leach Bliley Act of 1999 (Financial Services Modernization Act)
      • Trademark Law, Patent Law, and the U.S. Anticybersquatting Consumer Protection Act of 1999
      • USA Patriot Act of 2001 and Patriot Act II
      • Homeland Security Act of 2002
      • Cyber Security Research and Development Act of 2002
      • PROTECT Act of 2003, COPPA of 1998, and CIPA of 2000
      • CAN-SPAM Act of 2003
      • Cyber Security Enhancement Act of 2005/2001
    • A Sampling of Recent Internet Crime Cases
      • Russian Computer Hacker Sentenced to Three Years in Prison
      • Creator of Melissa Computer Virus Sentenced to Twenty Months in Federal Prison
      • Disgruntled Philadelphia Phillies Fan Charged with Hacking into Computers Triggering Spam E-Mail Attacks
      • Los Angeles, California, Man Sentenced to Prison for Role in International Computer Hacking and Internet Fraud Scheme
      • U.S. Charges Hacker with Illegally Accessing New York Times Computer Network
      • Justice Department Sues to Halt Alleged Internet Tax Scam
      • Internet Pharmacy Operator Receives 51-Month Prison Sentence
      • First Criminal Defendants Plead Guilty in Peer-to-Peer Copyright Piracy Crackdown
      • Second Defendant Pleads Guilty in Prosecution of Major International Spam Operation
      • Virginia Man Pleads Guilty to Child Pornography Charges
    • Data Regarding Internet Use and Prevalence Worldwide
    • References
  • 7 Directory of Organizations
    • Government Agencies
    • Independent Organizations
    • Academic Degrees in Internet Security
  • 8 Selected Print and Nonprint Resources
    • Books
    • Internet-Related Journals and Magazines
      • Journals
      • Magazines
    • Online Newspapers, Scholarly and Literary Journals, and E-Zines
      • URLs of Selected Online Newspapers
      • URLs of Selected Scholarly and Literary Journals
      • URLs of Selected E-Zines
    • Websites
      • Websites of Companies Offering Antivirus Software
      • Websites of Companies Offering Firewalls
      • Websites of Companies Offering Intrusion Detection Systems
      • Websites Related to Sexual Assault, Cyber Pornography, and Cyber Child Pornography
      • Websites Related to Internet Periodicals and Journals
      • Internet-Related Audios, Documentaries, and Films
  • Glossary
  • About the Author

Copyright © 2007 by ABC-CLIO, Inc.

Sample Titles

Abortion in the United States: A Reference Handbook

Adoption: A Reference Handbook, Second Edition

American Families in Crisis: A Reference Handbook

Animal Rights: A Reference Handbook, Second Edition

Autism Spectrum Disorders: A Reference Handbook

Campaign and Election Reform: A Reference Handbook, Second Edition

Celebrity in the 21st Century: A Reference Handbook

Chemical and Biological Warfare: A Reference Handbook, Second Edition

Childhood Sexual Abuse: A Reference Handbook, Second Edition

Climate Change: A Reference Handbook

Conflicts over Natural Resources: A Reference Handbook

Corporate Crime: A Reference Handbook

DNA Technology: A Reference Handbook

Domestic Violence: A Reference Handbook, Second Edition

Education in Crisis: A Reference Handbook

Emergency Management: A Reference Handbook

Energy Use Worldwide: A Reference Handbook

Environmental Justice: A Reference Handbook, Second Edition

Euthanasia: A Reference Handbook, Second Edition

Food Safety: A Reference Handbook, Second Edition

Forest Fires: A Reference Handbook

Gangs: A Reference Handbook, Second Edition

Gay and Lesbian Rights: A Reference Handbook, Second Edition

Genetic Engineering: A Reference Handbook, Second Edition

Genocide: A Reference Handbook

Global Organized Crime: A Reference Handbook

Global Refugee Crisis: A Reference Handbook, Second Edition

Globalization: A Reference Handbook

Gun Control in the United States: A Reference Handbook

Hate Crimes: A Reference Handbook, Second Edition

Human Rights Worldwide: A Reference Handbook

Hurricanes: A Reference Handbook, Second Edition

Identity Theft: A Reference Handbook

Illegal Immigration: A Reference Handbook

Illicit Trafficking: A Reference Handbook

Intellectual Property: A Reference Handbook

International Environmental Disputes: A Reference Handbook

Invasion of Privacy: A Reference Handbook

Juvenile Justice: A Reference Handbook

Lobbying in America: A Reference Handbook

Mainline Christians and U.S. Public Policy: A Reference Handbook

Mental Health in America: A Reference Handbook

Modern Homelessness: A Reference Handbook

Modern Piracy: A Reference Handbook

Modern Sports Ethics: A Reference Handbook

Native American Issues: A Reference Handbook, Second Edition

New Slavery: A Reference Handbook, Second Edition

Nuclear Weapons and Nonproliferation: A Reference Handbook, Second Edition

Obesity: A Reference Handbook

Policing in America: A Reference Handbook

Punishment in America: A Reference Handbook

Renewable and Alternative Energy Resources: A Reference Handbook

Rich and Poor in America: A Reference Handbook

Same-Sex Marriage: A Reference Handbook

Sentencing: A Reference Handbook

Sexual Crime: A Reference Handbook

Sexual Health: A Reference Handbook

Space and Security: A Reference Handbook

Substance Abuse: A Reference Handbook

The Internet and Society: A Reference Handbook

The United Nations System: A Reference Handbook

U.S. Border Security: A Reference Handbook

U.S. Homeland Security: A Reference Handbook

U.S. Military Service: A Reference Handbook

U.S. National Security: A Reference Handbook, Second Edition

U.S. Social Security: A Reference Handbook

U.S. Trade Issues: A Reference Handbook

Waste Management: A Reference Handbook

Women in Combat: A Reference Handbook

World Population: A Reference Handbook, Second Edition