Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online / Distance Students

Useful Library Research Guide Descriptions

About the Library - Your starting point for everything you need to know.

Find A Journal

Citing Sources - APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian, etc. Examples, advice, links to online citation engines, etc

Credo Reference - How to find answers in online dictionaries, encyclopedia, handbooks, etc.

Databases

Donations

eBooks - How to find, read, and download eBooks.

Faculty Support

FYE

iPads - Tips, apps, app reviews, detailed instructions, FAQs, important links, etc.

Library Catalog

Movies in the Library

New OneSearch - your (almost) one stop search engine.

Online Searching - Directs you to the best online resources. Teaches you how to search like a Librarian.

Online Students - Advice for accessing the libraries services and resources from off campus.

Plagiarism - How to write a paper without stealing anothers words or ideas.

Recommended Web Sites - Thousands of useful, free sites selected by librarians and faculty.

Research: Getting Started

Subject Headings - Use official Library of Congress Subject Headings when searching the Library Catalog.

Top Picks for College Students

Research Guides from Other Libraries

A number of other universities have fantastic Research Guides about beginning your research. Some to look at are:

Beginning your Research from The University of Melbourne

Writing College Papers from Anne Arundel Community College

Study Skills from Drury University

Sources

Books

  • Library Catalog - Search here for books, scores, theatre scripts, and audio visuals. Does NOT contain articles.
  • Subject Headings - Suggested search terms (by discipline) for use in the Library Catalog.
  • Call Numbers - Books are arranged on the library's shelves by call numbers according to the Library of Congress Classificatory System. Art in in the N's. History is in the C's, D's, E's, and F's. Religion is in BR - BZ.

eBooks

  • eBooks Research Guide - Essential instructions for accessing and using the library's many eBook collections. Explains how to find, read, and download eBooks. Complete list of eBook sources.

Journals

To find article in journals search the library's databases.

  • A-Z Title List - Lists all of the library's databases by title and subject.
  • Interlibrary Loan - Locate books to borrow using state or national catalogs, then borrow them using the online form.Use this also to obtain articles not available in full text in the library's databases.

Databases

Music Resources

  • Music Index Online - Online scores. You may also find scores in the Library Catalog. Search by title or composer, then select "Score" under Format.
  • Recordings - Use the Library Catalog to find its large CD collection.Search by title or composer, then select "Sound Recording" under Format. NOTE: The Library Catalog contains the names of the CDs, not the names of the compositions or parts of the compositions, unless they are also the name of the CD.
  • NAXOS - 130,000 streaming CDs. Mostly classical music.
  • Naxos Music Library- Jazz
  • Naxos Video Library - Containing classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts, and documentaries.

Internet Resources

Search the Library Catalog

All our cataloged library materials can be accessed through the Library Catalog, which includes books, eBooks, music, scores, DVDs, theater scripts, etc. 

Ebooks can also be accessed through our various eBook services, like eBooks on EBSCOhost.

Search the Catalog: