Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Catalog - How many items are retireved when you search for the term Faith?
Databases - Find and open ATLAS. How many hits do you get when you search for Samson?
NOTE: If off campus, be sure to use the Off-campus Database Access Link.
Favorite Web Pages - Find the ones on Religion. How many deal specifically with Preaching?
Research Guides - Take time to quickly examine the Research Guides listed under the headings - Library and Religion. You will be using these later.
Citing Sources - Find the site for EasyBib and search for 0801012902 under the Book Tab. Can you create a citation from an ISBN?
Distance Education - How many eBooks are noted under Resources?
The Library Home Page - Your Starting Place for Online Content
Library Home Page – Spend some time familiarising yourself with the Library's Home Page and note how each of the five boxes - Search Tools, About the Library, Research Assistance, Library Hours, and Services - directs you to useful content and information. You will be using this page over and over again during this orientation.
Then, find and examine each of the following important links located on the Library Home Page:
- Library Catalog - The Library Catalog contains descriptions of all the library's books, eBooks and media. It does NOT contain articles.
- Databases - Use the library's databases to find articles from magazines and journals. Databases increasingly contain other formats as well such as audio and video recordings, blogs, RSS feeds, graphics, eBooks, etc. Learn how to select the right database for your needs.
- Favorite Web Pages - The library and teaching faculty have worked together to select the BEST websites for each discipline. Find the ones on Religion. How many deal specifically with Preaching?
- Research Guides - Research Guides are online research tools which provide links to recommended resources along with practical advice. These have been created by librarians to provide you with online help 24/7. Take time to quickly examine the Research Guides listed under the headings - Library and Religion. You will be using these later.
- Citing Sources - Good research demands proper documentation. The library provides advice and examples of each discipline's documentation style along with some nifty tools that will create your citations for you. Find the links for the style used in Religion at Anderson University - Chicago/Turabian.
- Distance Education - This is a good jump off page to learn how to access the library's resources online. Among other things it will explain any special requirements necessary to access eBooks and databases from off campus.