Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is Bible Commentary?
Biblical Commentaries provide in-depth explanations of each book of the Bible - sometimes verse by verse. This is usually done by printing the Biblical text itself, noting any problem with translation of ancient manuscripts, offering historical and cultural background material on a Biblical passage, and then giving an explanation of the meaning of the Biblical passage.
Bible Commentary at Anderson University
The Thrift Library has a vast collection of Bible Commentary. The commentaries may be shelved either together as a series, or by indvidual books of the Bible.
Search the Library Catalog
Bible Commentary Series
The Anchor Bible Commentary
Call Number: BS192.2.A 1964.G3
Publication Date: 1964
More than 30 volumes. A more technical commentary set than Interpreter's, this series is incomplete. Most of the books of the Bible have volues devoted to them, including the books of the Apocrypha.
Beacon Bible Commentary
Call Number: BS491.2.B4
Publication Date: 1969
This series, based on KJV, provides insights from Bible scholars, in-depth explanations of Scripture, critical analysis of key words and phrases, and outlines for expository preaching.
The Bible Exposition Commentary
Call Number: BS491.3W54 2001
Publication Date: 2001
A best selling insightful series.
Broadman Bible Commentary
Call Number: BS491.2.B67
Publication Date: 1973
Expositor's Bible Commentary
Publication Date: 2005
International Critical Commentary
Call Number: BS491.I6 1969
Publication Date: 1969
This series brings together relevant aids to interpretation; linguistic and textual, archaelogical, historical, literary, and theological, with superior quality of scholarship.
Layman's Bible Commentary
Call Number: BS 491.2.L3
Mercer Commentary on the Bible
Call Number: BS491.2.M47 1995
Publication Date: 1995
1 volume. Articles are signed and often contain bibliographies. Based on the New Revised Standard Version.
New Interpreter's Bible
Call Number: BS491.2.N484 1994
Publication Date: 1994
12 volumes. Covers all the books of the Bible. Includes long introductions with bibliographies to the whole Bible, to each Testament, and to each book with both an exposition and an exegesis using both the Revised Standard and New International Versions as the base text.
The Pulpit Commentary
Call Number: BS2341.2.P45
Publication Date: 1950
Word Biblical Commentary
Call Number: BS491.2.W67
Publication Date: 1982
52 volumes. This series in progress includes the most recent scholarship on biblical study.
Bible Commentary Shelved by Books of the Bible
The following series of commentaries can be located in the library catalog by books of the Bible. The call number given is just an example of one book in the series.
Baker Exegetical Commentary on New Testament series
Call Number: BS2665.3 .S36 1998
Publication Date: 1994-2009
This series provides commentaries that blend scholarly depth with readability, exegetical detail with sensitivity to the whole, and attention to critical problems with theological relevance.
IVP New Testament Commentary series
Call Number: BS2675.53 .B35 2011
Publication Date: 1991-2009
This series give access to Reformation-era commentary on Scripture that is largely unknown.
John Phillips Commentary series
Call Number: BS2341.2.P45 2009
Publication Date: 2009
NIV Application Commentary series
Call Number: BS1295.53 .H83 2009
Publication Date: 1997-2009
This unique series parallels the ancient message with modern times. It explains not only meaning, but also how it can speak powerfully today.
Preaching the Word series
Call Number: BS1465.53 .O78 2012
Publication Date: 1989-2012
This series is designed to help preachers better understand and communicate the Scriptures. The series is especially known for its unqualified commitment to Biblical authority, clear exposition of Scripture, readability, and practical application.
Reformation Expository Commentary
Call Number: BS2695.53 .C43 2009
Publication Date: 2005-2009
The Reformed Expository Commentary is biblical, doctrinal, redemptive-historical, and practical.
Smith & Helwys Bible Commentary series
Call Number: BS2795.53 .V56 2010
Publication Date: 2006-2011
This series was written by scholars and designed to make Bible study more accessible and enhance interpretation of the Scriptures.
Sunday: 3 pm- Midnight
Monday- Thursday: 8 am- Midnight
Friday: 8 am- 5 pm
Saturday: 11 am- 5 pm
Check the Library Schedule for exceptions.