A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Eighth Edition by
A little more than seventy-five years ago, Kate L. Turabian drafted a set of guidelines to help students understand how to write, cite, and formally submit research writing. Seven editions and more than nine million copies later, the name Turabian has become synonymous with best practices in research writing and style. Her Manual for Writers continues to be the gold standard for generations of college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines. Now in its eighth edition, A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations has been fully revised to meet the needs of today's writers and researchers. The Manual retains its familiar three-part structure, beginning with an overview of the steps in the research and writing process, including formulating questions, reading critically, building arguments, and revising drafts. Part II provides an overview of citation practices with detailed information on the two main scholarly citation styles (notes-bibliography and author-date), an array of source types with contemporary examples, and detailed guidance on citing online resources. The final section treats all matters of editorial style, with advice on punctuation, capitalization, spelling, abbreviations, table formatting, and the use of quotations. Style and citation recommendations have been revised throughout to reflect the sixteenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style. With an appendix on paper format and submission that has been vetted by dissertation officials from across the country and a bibliography with the most up-to-date listing of critical resources available, A Manual for Writers remains the essential resource for students and their teachers.
The Chicago/Turabian style is generally used in the humanities and social sciences. Chicago/Turabian uses footnotes and endnotes for in text citations (these can easily be entered using the keyboard shortcut Ctrl+Alt+F on a PC or Option+Command+F on Word for Mac). A bibliography should also be included at the end of the paper.
The following examples were generated by the respective databases and differ slightly from official Turabian style.
An Article from ATLAS
Chisholm, Robert B, Jr. "Samson: the hero and the man: the story of Samson (Judges 13-16)." Bibliotheca sacra 165, no. 657 (January 1, 2008): 108-109. ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials, EBSCOhost (accessed August 1, 2011).
An eBook from eBooks on EBSCOhost
Allen, Ronald J., and Gilbert Leinbach Bartholomew. Preaching Verse By Verse. Westminster John Knox Press, 2000. eBook Collection, EBSCOhost (accessed August 1, 2011).
There are a number of great online resources you can use to assist you with your citations.
From the Thrift Library:
Other helpful websites:
Many databases will also create automatic citations for you - just look for the "Citation" link with your particular article and select the style you need. However, DOUBLE CHECK any citations you create with any citation generator because they can be (and often are) incorrect.
