Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A Day in the Life of a Librarian by
Call Number: JUV Z682.4.A34 P34 1985
Follows the chief librarian in an Illinois public library through her day's work, as she supervises library employees and helps them carry out their responsibilities in the technical processing center, children's reading room, graphic arts department, and other areas.
A Letter to Mrs. Roosevelt by
Call Number: JUV PZ7.D5413 Le 2000
Eleven-year-old Margo fulfills a class assignment by writing a letter to Eleanor Roosevelt asking for help to save her family's home during the Great Depression.
Arthur and the Poetry Contest by
Call Number: JUV PZ7.K883 Ars 1999
Fern dares Arthur and his friends to enter the poetry writing contest at the local library, but writing poems turns out to be harder than they thought.
Fahrenheit 451 : and related readings by
Call Number: JUV PS3503.R167 F333 1998
The Bradbury classic about a future crisis in intellectual freedom and book burning. Fahrenheit 451 is the temperature at which book paper catches fire and burns.
Good Books, Good Times! by
Call Number: JUV PS595.B65 G66 1990
An anthology of poems about the joys of books and reading. Includes selections by David McCord, Karla Kuskin, Myra Cohn Livingston, and Jack Prelutsky.
Call Number: JUV LB1576 .D628 2003
The Asian Arts & Crafts for Creative Kids series is the first series, aimed at readers ages 7-12, that provides a fun and educational introduction to Asian culture and art. Through hands on projects readers will explore each art--engaging in activities to gain a better understanding of each form.
How a Book Is Made by
Call Number: JUV Z116.A2 A42 1986
Describes the stages in making a book, starting with the writing of the manuscript and the drawing of the pictures, and explaining all the technical processes leading to printed and bound copies.
Just a few words, Mr. Lincoln : the story of the Gettysburg Address by
Call Number: JUV E475.55 .F86 1993
Provides a look at the private side of Abraham Lincoln and at the circumstances surrounding his short, but memorable speech at the dedication of the cemetery at the Gettysburg battlefield. Includes text of the speech.
Purple Parrots Eating Carrots by
Call Number: JUV PZ5 .P7898 1991
A collection of stories and poems incorporating rebuses, designed to introduce an early understanding of reading.
Putting on a play : the young playwright's guide to scripting, directing, and performing by
Call Number: JUV PN1661 .B44 1996
A step-by-step guide for the playwright including suggestions for finding a story, writing a script, producing a play, and performing it on stage. Includes sample plays.
Read All about It! by
Call Number: JUV PZ7.B9653 Rec 2008
Tyrone and his friends rule the school except for the library, which he thinks is boring until strange happenings during story hour change his mind.
Richard Wright and the Library Card by
Call Number: JUV PZ7.M63915 Ri 1997
Based on a scene from Wright's autobiography, Black boy, in which the seventeen-year-old African-American borrows a white man's library card and devours every book as a ticket to freedom.
Sequoyah : inventor of the Cherokee alphabet by
Call Number: JUV E99.C5 S389 1994
"Artist, inventor, and patriot of the Cherokee nation, Sequoyah achieved a feat rare in history. Without training in any language but his own, he developed for speakers of Cherokee a system of writing, and with it the hope of empowerment......."
The Book Thief by
Call Number: JUV PZ7.Z837 Boo 2007
Trying to make sense of the horrors of World War II, Death relates the story of Liesel--a young German girl whose book-stealing and story-telling talents help sustain her family and the Jewish man they are hiding, as well as their neighbors. Includes readers' guide.
The bug in the jug wants a hug : a short vowel sounds book by
Call Number: JUV PE1157 .C54 2009
Part of Brain Cleary's 'Sounds Like Reading' Series.
The frail snail on the trail : long vowel sounds with consonant blends by
Call Number: JUV PE1157 .C545 2009
Part of Brian Cleary's 'Sounds like Reading' series.
The Library Dragon by
Call Number: JUV PZ7.D3587 Li 1994
Miss Lotta Scales is a dragon who believes her job is to protect the school's library books from the children, but when she finally realizes that books are meant to be read, the dragon turns into Miss Lotty, librarian and storyteller.
The New York Public Library kid's guide to research by
Call Number: JUV Z710 .H38 1998
Provides guidance on how to do research, including how to use libraries and their resources, the Internet, and other sources such as interviews and surveys.
The nice mice in the rice : a long vowel sound book by
Call Number: JUV PE1157 .C55 2009
Part of the 'Sounds like Reading' series by Brain P. Cleary.
The peaches on the beaches : a book about inflectional endings by
Call Number: JUV PE1175 .C53 2009
Come along with me and learn all about reading! Brian P. Cleary's wacky sentences and Jason Miskimins's colorful art will make phonics fun!
- Goodreads description
The thing on the wing can sing : short vowel sounds & consonant digraphs by
Call Number: JUV PE1157 .C57 2009
Part of Brian Cleary's 'Sounds like Reading' series.
The Wednesday Surprise by
Call Number: JUV PZ7.B91527 Wf 1989
On Wednesday nights when Grandma stays with Anna everyone thinks she is teaching Anna to read.
Whose Shoes Would You Choose? by
Call Number: JUV PE1159 .C53 2009
You read to me, I'll read to you : very short stories to read together by
Call Number: JUV PS3558.O3367 Y68 2001
Teaching Reading in the 21st Century by
Call Number: LB 1573 .G656 2007
Publication Date: 2006-04-19
With new chapters on fluency and motivation,Teaching Reading in the 21stCenturymaintains the friendly voice of its widely recognized author team and its superior coverage of assessment for learning, and strengthens its commitment to a rich, balanced, and comprehensive program of reading instruction. Informed by the latest research on topics ranging from phonemic awareness and phonics to teaching comprehension strategies and assessment, this text provides the knowledge base, skills, andassessment strategiesthat all teachers need to guide elementary students successfully toward literacy for the 21st Century–using reading and writing for thinking, problem solving, and communicating. Alwayspracticaland with a focus oncritical literacy, this edition is even richer in first-person accounts, instructional routines, classroom vignettes, and hands-on literacy activities. Principal themes include balancing phonemic skills with more holistic approaches; fostering the love of reading; and successfully teaching all students–mainstream and minority, native speakers of English and English-language learners, and special needs and gifted–to become able and eager readers.