Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Children's literature review by
Call Number: eBook
A series of Children's Literature reviews. Please check the catalog for more in this series.
From Cover to Cover by
Call Number: PN98.B7 H67 2010
Publication Date: 2010-04-27
The revised edition of From Cover to Cover offers a fresh, up-to-date look at some of the best examples of children's literature today and also includes practical advice on how to write clearly articulated, reasoned opinions so that others can learn about books they have not yet read. A brief, updated introduction explains how children's books evolve from manuscripts into bound books, the importance of the many different parts of a book (jacket flaps, title page, copyright, etc.), and changes in the children's book industry, such as the creation of two new major genre awards. In addition, the author demonstrates how to think about and critically evaluate several different genres of children's books. Included are sections about books of information (and the author's responsibility to document sources); traditional literature (myths, legends, tall tales, folktales); poetry, verse, rhymes, and songs; picture books; easy readers and traditional books; and fiction and graphic novels. There is also a concluding chapter on how to write reviews that are both descriptive and analytical, as well as a segment on children's literature blogs. From Cover to Cover is an invaluable resource for all professionals who wish to write book evaluations that go beyond a simple personal response.
Kids Review Kids' Books by
Call Number: Z1037.A1 K47 1997
Literature and the Child by
Call Number: Z1037 .C946 2010
Publication Date: 2009-05-22
LITERATURE AND THE CHILD, 7th Edition, covers the two major topical areas of children's literature'the genres of children's literature (picture books, folklore, etc.) and the use of children's literature in the classroom. Deliberately concise, the book offers succinct yet beautifully written and illustrated discussions that reflect the tone and feel of children's books. Featuring discussions of the latest works of children's literature, the text includes coverage of the growing importance of young adult literature as well as expanded emphasis on upper-level children's literature and adolescent literature. The authors pay careful attention to diversity in children's literature and equip students with practical, research-based teaching ideas.
A Critical Handbook of Children's Literature by
Call Number: PN1009.A1 L84 2007
Publication Date: 2006-05-31
Reviews in Online Databases
Users looking for reviews of children's literature are advised to start with the library's Mega-databases.. Search by combing the word Review with either the author or title.
- Where the Wild Things Are and Reviews
- Beverly Cleary and Reviews
Some databases will allow the searcher to limit results by format / document type, i.e. Book Reviews or Poetry Review.
For scholarly articles, you may wish to start with the MLA International Bibliography.