Bible
- Biography - BS570-580
- Canon - BS465
- Commentaries - BS482-498
Companions - SEE Handbooks, Manuals, etc.
- Comparative Studies
- Concordances - BS420-429
- Criticsim
- Criticism, Form - BS2377
- Criticism, Interpretation, etc. - BS500-534
- Criticism, Narrative
- Criticism, Redaction
- Criticism, Textual - BSBS471
- Dictionaries - BS440-443
- Encyclopedias
- Evidences, authority. etc. - BS480
- Geography - BS630-633
- Glossary
- Handbooks, Manuals, etc - BS417
- Hermeneutics
- History - BS445-460
- Homiletical use
- Indexes - BS432
- Inspiration - BS480
- Introductions - BS474-475
- Parables - BS680.P3
- Parallel versions
- Prayers - BS680.P64
- Prophecies - BS647-BS649
BS1198 (old Testament
BS2827 (New Testament)
see also - Jesus Christ - Prophecies
- Quotations - BS416
- Reference editions
- Sermons
- Sources
- Structuralist criticism
- Study and teaching - BS585-BS613
- Terminology
- - Pronunciation
- Theology - BS543
- Translations - BS449-BS450
- Use
Versions - BS450-460
Bible. Greek - SEE Greek language, Biblical
Bible. Latin
Bible and atheism
Bible and Christian union - BX9.5.B5
Bible and law
Bible and literature
Bible and science - BS650-667
Bible and technology
Bible as literature - BS535-537
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible by
The field of biblical studies is dynamic, with new discoveries, new methodologies, and new perspectives continually enhancing the interpretation of the Bible. There is thus a need for an up-to-date, comprehensive, authoritative, and balanced series of reference works for biblical scholars andstudents.The two-volume Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible is the first in this series of specialized reference works, each addressing a specific subfield within biblical studies. The series aims to produce high-level scholarly reference works that are accessible and in-depth, going beyond thebasics to provide more specialized coverage.Books of the Bible provides a single source for authoritative reference overviews of scholarship on some of the most important topics of study in the field of biblical studies. The Encyclopedia contains almost 120 in-depth entries, ranging in length from 500 to 10,000 words, on each of the canonicalbooks of the Bible, major apocryphal books of the New and Old Testaments, important noncanonical texts, and thematic essays on topics such as canonicity, textual criticism, and translation.Books of the Bible has extensive cross-references to other useful points of interest within the Encyclopedia, and comprehensive lists of abbreviations and an index for ease of use. Illustrations of various types supplement the text and enhance its appeal. Bibliographies for all entries further addto its usefulness.
Encyclopedia of Religion by
Among Library Journal's selections of the most important reference works of the millennium - with the Encyclopedia Judaica and the New Catholic Encyclopedia - Mircea Eliade's Encyclopedia of Religion won the American Library Associations' Dartmouth Medal in 1988 and is widely regarded as the standard reference work in the field. This second edition, which is intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, will include almost all of the 2750 original entries - many heavily updated - as well as approximately 600 (1.2M words) entirely new articles. Preserving the best of Eliade's cross-cultural approach while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture, this new edition will be the definitive work in the field for the 21st century. An international team of scholars and contributors have reviewed, revised and added to every word of a classic work to make it relevant to the questions and interests of readers, whether students, specialists, or laypersons. The result is an essential purchase for libraries of all kinds. Every article from the first edition was evaluated by our board of scholars. of study are given their own entries. New composite entries present overarching themes - for example, gender and religion, politics and religion - with each article within the composite covering a different religious tradition. Many of the reprinted articles from the first-edition have updated bibliographies. This is an indispensable resource for any school with a department or programme in religious studies. Additionally, articles support the curriculum and general research in history, gender studies, language and literature, music, the visual arts, history, politics, ecology, health and medicine, law, sociology and anthropology. Three Colour inserts serve as pictorial essays illuminating themes such as pilgrimage, prayer, healing, and how these concepts are displayed in various religions throughout the world. Illustrations go beyond the typical stock imagery and present images of authentic value not readily available elsewhere.
