A Bible commentary will explain, in depth, each book of the Bible. This is usually done by printing the Biblical text itself, noting any problem with translation of ancient manuscripts, offering historical and cultural background material on a Biblical passage, and giving an explanation of the meaning of the Biblical passage.
An Expository Survey by
Taking a telescopic view of the Bible, Exploring the Old Testament Book by Book and Exploring the New Testament Book by Book enable readers to see the big picture behind this Book of books, to see how the various parts of Scripture relate to one another. These volumes from gifted expositor John Phillips teaches the importance of taking a few steps back from Scripture in order to gain fresh insight into the message, meaning, and art of the Bible.
Exploring the Old Testament Book by Book by
Taking a telescopic view of the Bible, Exploring the Old Testament Book by Book and Exploring the New Testament Book by Book enable readers to see the big picture behind this Book of books, to see how the various parts of Scripture relate to one another. These volumes from gifted expositor John Phillips teaches the importance of taking a few steps back from Scripture in order to gain fresh insight into the message, meaning, and art of the Bible.
The Holman Concise Bible Commentary by
The Holman Concise Bible Commentary provides in one easy-to-access place a commentary on the entire Bible. Here is a perfect Bible study tool for the new Christian, for Sunday School teachers, and even for pastors when they want to be reminded of the key themes and emphases of the 66 books of the Bible. In addition, each section of the Bible is given an overview designed to help the reader to place the passage being studied into a larger context.
The Interpreter's one volume commentary on the Bible : introd. and commentary for each book of the Bible including the Apocrypha, with general articles. by 
Mercer Commentary on the Bible by
A companion to the Mercer Dictionary of the Bible, published in 1990 in association with the National Association of Baptist Professors of Religion. The two volumes are meant to be used together, and the Commentary does not repeat material available in the Dictionary . The intent is to fill the need for single-volume resources, not to supplant the
The Oxford Bible Commentary by
The Oxford Bible Commentary is a completely new Bible study and reference work for 21st century students and readers. It offers verse-by-verse explanation of every book of the Bible by the world's leading biblical scholars. It provides everything any reader needs to understand the text of theBible. From its inception, OBC has been designed as a completely non-denominational commentary; contributors have been chosen from every faith and none. The OBC will enlighten readers with no religious background, as well as Jewish readers and those from all Christian traditions - Protestant,Catholic, Anglican, and Orthodox. Written for all readers, expert and novice The OBC has been carefully written and edited to provide the best scholarship in a readable style, Details are not introduced for their own sake but to make the explicaton clearer and to bring insights from various criticalapproaches to clarify the meaning of the text. A commentary on the Bible in its entirety The OBC includes comment on all the books recognized as canonical in Protestant, Catholic, and Orthodox Churches, as well as those books regarded as Apocryphal in the Anglican tradition, and extracts of booksfound only in the Ethiopic or Coptic canons. Written by a team of 70 respected biblical scholars from all over the world The OBC contributors include scholars from Jewish, Catholic, Anglican, Protestant, and Orthodox traditions. The best combination of scholarly approaches for each individual bookThe OBC uses the traditional historical-critical method to search for the original meaning of the texts, but also brings in new perspectives and insights - literary, sociological, and cultural - to bring out the expanding meanings of these ancient writings. Everything you need There is a fullBibliographical Guide to Biblical Studies providing a much-needed up-to-date reference guide to key works, and there are bibliographies contained in each article. An index to the introductory articles is provided, whilst the commentaries themselves can be accessed through the use of any standardconcordance. OBC also contains 11 full-colour maps. A resource that can be read with any modern version of the Bible. The perfect reference work for a multitude of needs The OBC serves readers wishing to explore the religious, cultural, and historical significance of the Bible; students looking foran authoritative but accessible introduction to the scholarly issues involved in understanding the biblical text; and professionals, clergy or lay peoole, who teach or preach. Offering greater insight into the meaning of this complex and many-faceted work, the OBC brings this ancient text alive fora new generation in the third millennium. 'Our aim has been to make a commentary that would provide everything the 21st-century reader requires to engage quickly and immediately with the text. Of primary importance has been finding the best approach. In the Oxford Bible Commentary the traditionalhistorical-critical method in Biblical studies sits alongside other ways of reading which bring their own rewards. We have not abandoned the search for the original meaning, but have given individual contributors freedom to explore for the modern reader new perspectives and insights into theevolving meaning of the Biblical text. We hope that a wide readership will be helped by the Commentary. From those who seek a clearer perespective on a text which they hold in reverence - pastors preparing sermons, those reading the Bible together in study or discussion groups or in privatemeditation - to readers for whom the Bible is a highly significanct document from the ancient world and a major classic of world literature- each should discover a clearer understanding of this complex and many-faceted work. If it also stimulates plenty of discussion and further enquiry, we willconsider our job of editing this 21st-century commentary well done.'
Peake's Commentary on the Bible by
Introductory articles on textual, literary, historical, social, theological, and other aspects of the Old and New Testaments accompany scholarly verse-by-verse commentaries on all the the books of both.
The Jerome Biblical commentary / edited by Raymond E. Brown, Joseph A. Fitzmyer [and] Roland E. Murphy. With a foreword by Augustin Cardinal Bea.Bible
- Biography - BS570-580
- Canon - BS465
- Commentaries - BS482-498
Companions - SEE Handbooks, Manuals, etc.
- Comparative Studies
- Concordances - BS420-429
- Criticsim
- Criticism, Form - BS2377
- Criticism, Interpretation, etc. - BS500-534
- Criticism, Narrative
- Criticism, Redaction
- Criticism, Textual - BSBS471
- Dictionaries - BS440-443
- Encyclopedias
- Evidences, authority. etc. - BS480
- Geography - BS630-633
- Glossary
- Handbooks, Manuals, etc - BS417
- Hermeneutics
- History - BS445-460
- Homiletical use
- Indexes - BS432
- Inspiration - BS480
- Introductions - BS474-475
- Parables - BS680.P3
- Parallel versions
- Prayers - BS680.P64
- Prophecies - BS647-BS649
BS1198 (old Testament
BS2827 (New Testament)
see also - Jesus Christ - Prophecies
- Quotations - BS416
- Reference editions
- Sermons
- Sources
- Structuralist criticism
- Study and teaching - BS585-BS613
- Terminology
- - Pronunciation
- Theology - BS543
- Translations - BS449-BS450
- Use
Versions - BS450-460
Bible. Greek - SEE Greek language, Biblical
Bible. Latin
Bible and atheism
Bible and Christian union - BX9.5.B5
Bible and law
Bible and literature
Bible and science - BS650-667
Bible and technology
Bible as literature - BS535-537
Old Testament Commentary Survey by
Leading Old Testament scholar Tremper Longman III provides students and pastors with expert guidance on choosing a commentary for any book of the Old Testament. The fifth edition has been updated to assess the most recently published commentaries, providing evaluative comments. Longman lists a number of works available for each book of the Old Testament, gives a brief indication of their emphases and viewpoints, and evaluates them. The result is a balanced, sensible guide for those who preach and teach the Old Testament and need help in choosing the best tools.
An Annotated Guide to Biblical Resources in Ministry by
Bauer (biblical studies, Asbury Theological Seminary, Wilmore, Kentucky) provides pastors, scholars, and seminary students a guide to secondary resources for use in biblical interpretation. Twenty-two hundred titles by 1,300 authors are organized into sections on the whole Bible, the Old Testament,
Revelation by
The book of Revelation, also called the Apocalypse of John, encourages Christians to be faithful to their Lord, Jesus Christ, through a rich mixture of symbolism and images. Perhaps the most puzzling book in all Scripture, Revelation introduces bowls and scrolls, saints and angels, horsemen and beasts, the bride and the lamb, in a wondrous end-times drama. The scene shifts from cataclysmic battles to the climax of a new heaven and new earth. In the end, the reader is exhorted to heed the words of this stunning prophecy. Dr. Ford addresses the seemingly infinite questions surrounding the book of Revelation. Issues of authorship, date, literary composition, theology, audience, purpose, and the meaning of John's now obscure symbolism occupy Ford throughout. Traditionally, Revelation is the final New Testament book, but its theology, imagery, and historical content suggest it might be the transitional link between the Hebrew Bible and the New Testament. Contrary to general scholarly opinion, Ford identifies the writer as the Hebrew prophet and forerunner of Jesus, John the Baptist, not John the Evangelist. She conjectures that the Baptist spread his fiery apocalyptic visions decades before the first Gospels were completed. Along with a fresh new translation of the book, the author's insightful commentary and unique conclusions make for captivating reading. In light of both ancient writings and recent archaeological discoveries, Dr. Ford shows what this baffling work meant to first-century believers, and what it means for Christians today. J. Massyngberde Ford is Professor of New Testament Studies at the University of Notre Dame in Indiana.
Mark by
In this new addition to the BECNT series, respected New Testament scholar Robert Stein offers a substantive yet highly accessible commentary on the Gospel of Mark. The commentary focuses primarily on the Markan understanding of the Jesus traditions as reflected in this key New Testament book. For each section in Mark, the author analyzes how it fits the immediate and larger context of the Gospel; offers verse-by-verse comments on the words, phrases, sentences, and themes found in the section; and explores what Mark is seeking to teach. As with all BECNT volumes, Mark features the author's detailed interaction with the Greek text. It combines academic sophistication with pastoral sensitivity and accessibility to serve as a useful tool for pastors, church leaders, students, and teachers.
Beacon Bible Commentary, Volume 2 by
Insights from 40 Bible scholars, with in-depth explanations of Scripture, critical analysis of key words and phrases, and outlines for expository preaching. Based on KJV. 5-volume Old Testament, 5-volume New Testament. Cloth with jacket.
Bible Exposition Commentary - Old Testament Wisdom and Poetry by
With this final installation in this six-volume set, Dr. Wiersbe has covered the entire Bible! Anthologizing his exhaustive "Be Series," Dr. Wiersbe has written one of the most outstanding commentary collections of all time. Also contains materials from Song of Solomon, and Psalms.
Exalting Jesus in Matthew by
Edited by David Platt, Daniel L. Akin, and Tony Merida, this new commentary series, projected to be 48 volumes, takes a Christcentered approach to expositing each book of the Bible. Rather than a verse-by-verse approach, the authors have crafted chapters that explain and apply key passages in their assigned Bible books. Readers will learn to see Christ in all aspects of Scripture, and they will be encouraged by the devotional nature of each exposition. Exalting Jesus in Matthew is the second volume in the series and is solely authored by Platt (best-selling author of Radical). Other projected contributors to the series include notable authors such as Russell D. Moore, Al Mohler, Matt Chandler, Francis Chan, Mark Dever, and others.
Old Testament by
12 vols.
Hebrews - Revelation by
Continuing a Gold Medallion Award-winning legacy, the completely revised Expositor's Bible Commentary puts world-class biblical scholarship in your hands. A staple for students, teachers, and pastors worldwide, The Expositor's Bible Commentary (EBC) offers comprehensive yet succinct commentary from scholars committed to the authority of the Holy Scriptures. The EBC uses the New International Version of the Bible, but the contributors work from the original Hebrew and Greek languages and refer to other translations when useful. Each section of the commentary includes: An introduction: background information, a short bibliography, and an outline An overview of Scripture to illuminate the big picture The complete NIV text Extensive commentary Notes on textual questions, key words, and concepts Reflections to give expanded thoughts on important issues The series features 56 contributors, who: Believe in the divine inspiration, complete trustworthiness, and full authority of the Bible Have demonstrated proficiency in the biblical book that is their specialty Are committed to the church and the pastoral dimension of biblical interpretation Represent geographical and denominational diversity Use a balanced and respectful approach toward marked differences of opinion Write from an evangelical viewpoint For insightful exposition, thoughtful discussion, and ease of use--look no further than The Expositor's Bible Commentary.
The International Critical Commentary on the Holy Scriptures of the Old and New Testaments by
This work has been selected by scholars as being culturally important and is part of the knowledge base of civilization as we know it. This work is in the public domain in the United States of America, and possibly other nations. Within the United States, you may freely copy and distribute this work, as no entity (individual or corporate) has a copyright on the body of the work. Scholars believe, and we concur, that this work is important enough to be preserved, reproduced, and made generally available to the public. To ensure a quality reading experience, this work has been proofread and republished using a format that seamlessly blends the original graphical elements with text in an easy-to-read typeface. We appreciate your support of the preservation process, and thank you for being an important part of keeping this knowledge alive and relevant.
Layman's Bible Book Commentary by
Written in clear, readable style, this 24-volume set is designed to give a thorough and easily understood exposition of each book of the Bible.
Maclaren's expositions of holy scripture by
11 vols.
The New Interpreter's Bible by
General and Old Testament Articles; Genesis; Exodus; and Leviticus New Interpreter's#65533; Bible offers critically sound biblical interpretations for the 1990s and beyond. Guided by scholars, pastors, and laity representing diverse traditions, academic experience, and involvement in the Church, this entirely new collection of writings is specifically prepared to meet the needs of preachers, teachers, and all students of the Bible. Easy-to-use Format: * Full texts and critical notes: NIV and NRSV * Detailed, critical Commentary providing an exegetical "close-reading" of the biblical text * Reflections that present a detailed exposition of issues raised in the discussion and dealt with in the Commentary Key Features: The entire Bible (including the Apocrypha Deuterocanonical books) in twelve volumes * Introductions to each book that cover essential historical, sociocultural, literary, and theological issues An ecumenical roster of contributors Comprehensive, concise articles Numerous visual aids (illustrations, maps, charts, timelines) enhance use. Download The NIB Vol. 1 Errata Sheet
Mark by
Each volume offers fresh translation, repetition of the text before each exegetical unit, verse-by-verse comments and applications, critical notes on the Greek text, and chapter summaries.
The Pulpit Commentary by
One of the largest homiletical commentary sets of its kind, this work gives a verse-by-verse exposition, a translation, and historical and geographical information, followed by the homiletics section, homilies by numerous authors, a homiletical index to the Bible, and a complete general index volume. This series contains the following volumes: 1 Genesis/Exodus 2 Leviticus/Numbers 3 Deuteronomy/Joshua/Judges 4 Ruth/1&2 Samuel 5 1&2 Kings 6 1&2 Chronicles 7 Ezra/Nehemiah/Esther/Job 8 Psalms 9 Proverbs/Ecclesiastes/Song of Solomon 10 Isaiah 11 Jeremiah/Lamentations 12 Ezekiel 13 Daniel/Hosea/Joel 14 Amos - Malachi 15 Matthew 16 Mark/Luke 17 John 18 Acts/Romans 19 1&2 Corinthians 20 Galatians - Colossians 21 1&2 Thessalonians - James 22 1&2 Peter - Revelation 23 General Index
Word biblical commentary by
The Word Biblical Commentary delivers the best in biblical scholarship, from the leading scholars of our day who share a commitment to Scripture as divine revelation. This series emphasizes a thorough analysis of textual, linguistic, structural, and theological evidence. The result is judicious and balanced insight into the meanings of the text in the framework of biblical theology. These widely acclaimed commentaries serve as exceptional resources for the professional theologian and instructor, the seminary or university student, the working minister, and everyone concerned with building theological understanding from a solid base of biblical scholarship.
Overwhelmed by commentaries? Ask your professor for advice.
"There are many different commentary series’ because there are many different purposes and uses for Bible commentaries. Most readers want to know what English translation a commentary uses, information about the theological convictions of the author, and what makes a particular volume of series unique."
The following series of commentaries are shelved individually by books of the Bible. Type in the name of the commentary and the name of the book of Bible to find them in OneSearch. Or just go to the shelves and browse by Library of Congress Call number.
A full outline may be found below.
Romans by
An exegetically rigorous and expositionally satisfying commentary on one of the most important Christian documents ever written.
Matthew by
One of the most beloved books of the New Testament, the Gospel of Matthew speaks with eloquence and power. Among the Gospels, Matthew paints a fuller picture of the life, ministry, and teachings of Jesus. Anna Case-Winters's incisive commentary reveals that Matthew is clearly a theological book. It is about God's saving work in Jesus Christ. Moreover, it is presented in a way that easily lends itself to the task of teaching and preaching. Case-Winters highlights five themes that shape the distinctive portrait of Jesus this Gospel offers. Here we see Jesus facing up to conflict and controversy, ministering at the margins, overturning presuppositions about insiders and outsiders, privileging the powerless, demonstrating the authority of ethical leadership, challenging allegiance to empire, and pointing the way to a wider divine embrace than many dared imagine. Case-Winters captures the core of Matthew's unique Gospel, which speaks powerfully to the life of Christian faith today in the midst of our own issues and struggles.
Matthew by
This commentary brings the stimulating insights of world-renowned theologian Stanley Hauerwas to the first Gospel. This volume, like each in the Brazos Theological Commentary on the Bible, is designed to serve the church--through aid in preaching, teaching, study groups, and so forth--and demonstrate the continuing intellectual and practical viability of theological interpretation of the Bible.
Exalting Jesus in Matthew by
Edited by David Platt, Daniel L. Akin, and Tony Merida, this new commentary series, projected to be 48 volumes, takes a Christcentered approach to expositing each book of the Bible. Rather than a verse-by-verse approach, the authors have crafted chapters that explain and apply key passages in their assigned Bible books. Readers will learn to see Christ in all aspects of Scripture, and they will be encouraged by the devotional nature of each exposition. Exalting Jesus in Matthew is the second volume in the series and is solely authored by Platt (best-selling author of Radical). Other projected contributors to the series include notable authors such as Russell D. Moore, Al Mohler, Matt Chandler, Francis Chan, Mark Dever, and others.
Mark by
Professor Adela Yarbro Collins brings to bear on the text of the first Gospel the latest historical-critical perspectives, providing a full treatment of such controversial issues as the relationship of canonical Mark to the "Secret Gospel of Mark" and the text of the Gospel, including its longer endings. She situates the Gospel, with its enigmatic portrait of the misunderstood Messiah, in the context of Jewish and Greco-Roman literature of the first century. Her comments draw on her profound knowledge of apocalyptic literature as well as on the traditions of popular biography in the Greco-Roman world to illuminate the overall literary form of the Gospel. The commentary also introduces an impressive store of data on the language and style of Mark, illustrated from papyrological and epigraphical sources. Collins is in constructive dialogue with the wide range of scholarship on Mark that has been produced in the twentieth century. Her work will be foundational for Markan scholarship in the first half of the twenty-first century.
Paul Through Mediterranean Eyes by
2012 Christianity Today Book Award winnerPaul was a Hebrew of the Hebrews, steeped in the learning of his people. But he was also a Roman citizen who widely traveled the Mediterranean basin, and was very knowledgeable of the dominant Greek and Roman culture of his day. These two mighty rivers of influence converge in Paul's first letter to the Corinthians.With razor-sharp attention to the text, Kenneth Bailey examines the cultural milieu and rhetorical strategies that shaped this pivotal epistle. He discovers the deep layers of the Hebraic prophetic tradition informing Paul's writing, linking the Apostle with the great prophets of the Old Testament.Throughout, Bailey employs his expert knowledge of Near Eastern and Mediterranean culture to deliver to readers a new understanding of Paul and his world. Familiar passages take on a new hue as they are stripped of standard Western interpretations and rendered back into their ancient setting.
James by
THE NEW AMERICAN COMMENTARY is for the minister or Bible student who wants to understand and expound the Scriptures. Notable features include: * commentary based on THE NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION; * the NIV text printed in the body of the commentary; * sound scholarly methodology that reflects capable research in the original languages; * interpretation that emphasizes the theological unity of each book and of Scripture as a whole; * readable and applicable exposition.
Gospel of Matthew by
"It is a special pleasure to introduce R T (Dick) France's commentary to the pastoral and scholarly community, who should find it a truly exceptional - and helpful - volume." So says Gordon Fee in his preface to this work. France's masterful commentary on Matthew focuses on exegesis of Matthew's text as it stands rather than on the prehistory of the material or details of Synoptic comparison. It is concerned throughout with what Matthew himself meant to convey about Jesus and how he set about doing so within the cultural and historical context of first-century Palestine. Amid the wide array of Matthew commentaries available today, France's world-class stature, his clear focus on Matthew and Jesus, his careful methodology, and his user-friendly style promise to make this volume an enduring standard for years to come.
The Book of Job by
In the Old Testament we read God's word as it was spoken to his people Israel. Today, thousands of years later, we hear in these thirty-nine books his inspired and authoritative message for us.? These twin convictions, shared by all of the contributors to The New International Commentary on the Old Testament, define the goal of this ambitious series of commentaries. For those many modern readers who find the Old Testament to be strange and foreign soil, the NICOT series serves as an authoritative guide bridging the cultural gap between today's world and the world of ancient Israel. Each NICOT volume aims to help us hear God's word as clearly as possible. Scholars, pastors, and serious Bible students will welcome the fresh light that this commentary series casts on ancient yet familiar biblical texts. The contributors apply their proven scholarly expertise and wide experience as teachers to illumine our understanding of the Old Testament. As gifted writers, they present the results of the best recent research in an interesting manner. Each commentary opens with an introduction to the biblical book, looking especially at questions concerning its background, authorship, date, purpose, structure, and theology. A select bibliography also points readers to resources for their own study. The author's own translation from the original Hebrew forms the basis of the commentary proper. Verse-by-verse comments nicely balance in-depth discussions of technical matters ? textual criticism, critical problems, and so on ? with exposition of the biblical writer's theology and its implications for the life of faith today.
John by
Almost from the earliest days of the church, John's distinctive presentation of Jesus has provoked discussion about its place among the other Gospels. One cannot help but see the differences from the Synoptics and wonder about the origins and character of John. In this new volume in the New Testament Library series, Marianne Meye Thompson explores the ministry and significance of Jesus of Nazareth as presented in the Gospel of John, paying special attention to the social, cultural, and historical contexts that produced it. John's Gospel, Thompson posits, is the product of a social-cultural world whose language, commitments, and contours must be investigated in order to read John's narrative well. In doing so, Thompson studies the narrative, structure, central themes, and theological and rhetorical arguments found in the Fourth Gospel. Thompson's expert commentary unpacks and illuminates John's unique witness to Jesus--who he was, what he did, and what that means. The New Testament Library series offers authoritative commentary on every book and major aspect of the New Testament, providing fresh translations based on the best available ancient manuscripts, critical portrayals of the historical world in which the books were created, careful attention to their literary design, and a theologically perceptive exposition of the biblical text. The contributors are scholars of international standing. The editorial board consists of C. Clifton Black, Princeton Theological Seminary; M. Eugene Boring, Brite Divinity School; and John T. Carroll, Union Presbyterian Seminary.
Joshua by
The NIV Application Commentary helps you communicate and apply biblical text effectively in today's context. The book of Joshua recounts major transitions in the lives of God's chosen people and speaks of subjects that are difficult to comprehend, such as war and ethnic cleansing. Robert Hubbard navigates through these chapters, probing beneath the surface of the biblical text to apply the timeless themes of the book of Joshua to our lives in the twenty-first century. To bring the ancient messages of the Bible into today's context, each passage is treated in three sections: Original Meaning. Concise exegesis to help the reader understand the original meaning of the biblical text in its historical, literary, and cultural context. Bridging Contexts. A bridge between the world of the Bible and the world of today, between the original context and the contemporary context, built by discerning what is timeless in the timely pages of the Bible. Contemporary Significance. This section identifies situations that are comparable to those faced by the original audience and explores personal, cultural, and societal applications of the passage to those situations. The author also alerts the reader to problems they may encounter when seeking to apply the passage and helps them think through the issues involved. This unique, award-winning commentary is the ideal resource for today's preachers, teachers, and serious students of the Bible, giving them the tools, ideas, and insights, they need to communicate God's Word with the same powerful impact it had when it was first written.
Old Testament library
The Old Testament Library provides fresh and authoritative treatments of important aspects of Old Testament study through commentaries and general surveys. The contributors are scholars of international standing.
Old Testament library series by
78 volumes.
The Old Testament Library by Westminster John Knox Press provides fresh and authoritative treatments of important aspects of Old Testament study through commentaries and general surveys.
Paidia Commentaries of the New Testament by
Paideia commentaries explore how New Testament texts form Christian readers by - attending to the ancient narrative and rhetorical strategies the text employs - showing how the text shapes theological convictions and moral habits - commenting on the final, canonical form of each New Testament book - focusing on the cultural, literary, and theological settings of the text - making judicious use of maps, photos, and sidebars in a reader-friendly format
Preaching the Word series
23 titles
This series is designed to help preachers better understand and communicate the Scriptures. The series is especially known for its unqualified commitment to Biblical authority, clear exposition of Scripture, readability, and practical application.
Reformed Expository Commentary
The Reformed Expository Commentary is Biblical, doctrinal, redemptive-historical, and practical.
Smith & Helwys Bible Commentary series
23 titles
This series was written by scholars and designed to make Bible study more accessible and enhance interpretation of the Scriptures.
Tyndale Old Testament Commentaries
Each volume presents an introduction to the major critical questions and themes of the Old Testament book under consideration, followed by a concise, passage-by-passage interpretation. Written with the educated layperson in mind, these commentaries have also proven their worth for pastors and scholars
Tyndale New Testament commentaries
consists of contributions from noted biblical scholars who have made an effort to address the general Bible reader, helping him to understand clearly what the text actually says and what it means without going unduly into scholarly technicalities.
OLD TESTAMENT
BS 1231 - 1235.5 Genesis
BS 1241 - 1245.5 Exodus
BS 1254 - 1255.5 Leviticus
BS 1261 - 1265.5 Numbers
BS 1271 - 1275.5 Deuteronomy
BS 1291 - 1295.5 Joshua
BS 1301 - 1305.5 Judges
BS 1311 - 1315.5 Ruth
BS 1321 - 1325.5 1 Samuel
BS 1331 - 1335.5 1 & 2 Kings
BS 1341 - 1345.5 1 & 2 Chronicles
BS 1351 - 1355.5 Ezra
BS 1361 - 1365.5 Nehemiah
BS 1371 - 1375.5 Esther
BS 1411 - 1415.5 Job
BS 1418 - 1451 Psalms
BS 1461 - 1465.5 Proverbs
BS 1471 - 1475.5 Ecclesiastes
BS 1481 - 1485.5 Song of Solomon
BS 1511 - 1515.5 Isaiah
BS 1521 - 1525.5 Jeremiah
BS 1531 - 1535.5 Lamentations
BS 1541 - 1545.5 Ezekiel
BS 1551 - 1555.5 Daniel
BS 1561 - 1565.5 Hosea
BS 1571 - 1575.5 Joel
BS 1581 - 1585.5 Amos
BS 1591 - 1595.5 Obadiah
BS 1601 - 1605.5 Jonah
BS 1611 - 1615.5 Micah
BS 1621 - 1625.5 Nahum
BS 1631 - 1635.5 Habakkuk
BS 1641 - 1645.5 Zephaniah
BS 1651 - 1655.5 Haggai
BS 1661 - 1661.5 Zechariah
BS 1671 - 1675.5 Malachi
NEW TESTAMENT
BS 2570 - 2575.5 Matthew
BS 2580 - 2585.5 Mark
BS 2590 - 2595.5 Luke
BS 2610 - 2615.5 John
BS 2620 - 2625.5 Acts of the Apostles
BS 2660 - 2665.5 Romans
BS 2670 - 2675.5 1 & 2 Corinthians
BS 2680 - 2685.5 Galatians
BS 2690 - 2695.5 Ephesians
BS 2700 - 2705.5 Philippians
BS 2710 - 2715.5 Colossians
BS 2720 - 2725.5 1 & 2 Thessalonians
B S 2740 - 2745.5 1 & 2 Timothy
BS 2750 - 2755.5 Titus
BS 2760 - 2765.5 Philemon
BS 2770 - 2775.5 Hebrews
BS 2780 - 2785.5 James
BS 2790 - 2795.5 1 & 2 Peter
BS 2800 - 2805.5 1, 2 & 3 John
BS 2810 - 2815.5 Jude
BS 2820 - 2825.5 Revelation
APOCRYPHA
BS 1711 - 1715.5 1 & 2 Esdras
BS 1721 - 1725.5 Tobit
BS 1731 - 1735.5 Judith
BS 1741 - 1745.5 Additions to the Book of Esther
BS 1751 - 1755.5 Wisdom of Solomon
BS 1761 - 1765.5 Ecclesiasticus, or the Wisdom of Jesus Son of Sirach
BS 1771 - 1775.5 Baruch
BS 1781 - 1785.5 The Prayer of Azariah and the Song of the Three Jews
BS 1791 - 1795.5 Susanna
BS 1801 - 1805.5 Bel and the Dragon
BS 1811 - 1815.5 Prayer of Manasseh
BS 1821 - 1825.5 1, 2, 3 & 4 Maccabees
