Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Bible: Books

This LibGuide covers all aspects of the Christian Bible and leads the researcher to biblical commentaries, translations, atlases, Greek, Latin and Hebrew lexicons, concordances, dictionaries and encyclopedias.

Subject Searching in the Library Catalog.

Look for individual Bible translations under Bible versions

Look for the Old Testament under Bible. O.T.

Look for Exodus under Bible. O.T. Exodus

Look for Matthew under Bible. N.T. Matthew

Look for Letter of Paul to the Galatians under Bible. N.T. Galatians         

About the Bible

Bible

- Biography - BS570-580

- Canon - BS465

- Commentaries - BS482-498

Companions - SEE Handbooks, Manuals, etc.

- Comparative Studies

- Concordances - BS420-429

- Criticsim

- Criticism, Form - BS2377

- Criticism, Interpretation, etc. - BS500-534

- Criticism, Narrative

- Criticism, Redaction

- Criticism, Textual - BSBS471

- Dictionaries   - BS440-443

- Encyclopedias

- Evidences, authority. etc. - BS480

- Geography - BS630-633

- Glossary

- Handbooks, Manuals, etc - BS417

- Hermeneutics

- History - BS445-460

- Homiletical use

- Indexes - BS432

- Inspiration - BS480

- Introductions - BS474-475

- Parables - BS680.P3

- Parallel versions

- Prayers - BS680.P64

- Prophecies - BS647-BS649

BS1198 (old Testament
BS2827 (New Testament)
see also - Jesus Christ - Prophecies

- Quotations - BS416

- Reference editions

- Sermons

- Sources

- Structuralist criticism

- Study and teaching - BS585-BS613

- Terminology

    - - Pronunciation

- Theology - BS543

- Translations - BS449-BS450

- Use

Versions - BS450-460

Bible. Greek - SEE Greek language, Biblical

Bible. Latin

Bible and atheism

Bible and Christian union  - BX9.5.B5

Bible and law

Bible and literature

Bible and science - BS650-667

Bible and technology

Bible as literature - BS535-537

General

This section contains a variety of reference types such as bibles, commentaries, concordances, comparative studies, dictionaries, and encyclopedias. These categories and their content can be accessed using the drop down menu under Books.

Library of Congress Call Numbers for Books of the Bible

OLD TESTAMENT

BS 1231 - 1235.5        Genesis

BS 1241 - 1245.5        Exodus

BS 1254 - 1255.5        Leviticus

BS 1261 - 1265.5        Numbers

BS 1271 - 1275.5        Deuteronomy

BS 1291 - 1295.5        Joshua

BS 1301 - 1305.5        Judges

BS 1311 - 1315.5        Ruth

BS 1321 - 1325.5        1 Samuel

BS 1331 - 1335.5        1 & 2 Kings

BS 1341 - 1345.5        1 & 2 Chronicles

BS 1351 - 1355.5        Ezra

BS 1361 - 1365.5        Nehemiah

BS 1371 - 1375.5        Esther

BS 1411 - 1415.5        Job

BS 1418 - 1451           Psalms

BS 1461 - 1465.5        Proverbs

BS 1471 - 1475.5        Ecclesiastes

BS 1481 - 1485.5        Song of Solomon

BS 1511 - 1515.5        Isaiah

BS 1521 - 1525.5        Jeremiah

BS 1531 - 1535.5        Lamentations

BS 1541 - 1545.5        Ezekiel

BS 1551 - 1555.5        Daniel

BS 1561 - 1565.5        Hosea

BS 1571 - 1575.5        Joel

BS 1581 - 1585.5        Amos

BS 1591 - 1595.5        Obadiah

BS 1601 - 1605.5        Jonah

BS 1611 - 1615.5        Micah

BS 1621 - 1625.5        Nahum

BS 1631 - 1635.5        Habakkuk

BS 1641 - 1645.5        Zephaniah

BS 1651 - 1655.5        Haggai

BS 1661 - 1661.5        Zechariah

BS 1671 - 1675.5        Malachi

 

NEW TESTAMENT

BS 2570 - 2575.5        Matthew

BS 2580 - 2585.5        Mark

BS 2590 - 2595.5        Luke

BS 2610 - 2615.5        John

BS 2620 - 2625.5        Acts of the Apostles

BS 2660 - 2665.5        Romans

BS 2670 - 2675.5        1 & 2 Corinthians

BS 2680 - 2685.5        Galatians

BS 2690 - 2695.5        Ephesians

BS 2700 - 2705.5        Philippians

BS 2710 - 2715.5        Colossians

BS 2720 - 2725.5        1 & 2 Thessalonians

B S 2740 - 2745.5       1 & 2 Timothy

BS 2750 - 2755.5        Titus

BS 2760 - 2765.5        Philemon

BS 2770 - 2775.5        Hebrews

BS 2780 - 2785.5        James

BS 2790 - 2795.5        1 & 2 Peter

BS 2800 - 2805.5        1, 2 & 3 John

BS 2810 - 2815.5        Jude

BS 2820 - 2825.5        Revelation

 

APOCRYPHA

BS 1711 - 1715.5        1 & 2 Esdras

BS 1721 - 1725.5        Tobit

BS 1731 - 1735.5        Judith

BS 1741 - 1745.5        Additions to the Book of Esther

BS 1751 - 1755.5        Wisdom of Solomon

BS 1761 - 1765.5        Ecclesiasticus, or the Wisdom of Jesus Son of Sirach

BS 1771 - 1775.5        Baruch

BS 1781 - 1785.5        The Prayer of Azariah and the Song of the Three Jews

BS 1791 - 1795.5        Susanna

BS 1801 - 1805.5        Bel and the Dragon

BS 1811 - 1815.5        Prayer of Manasseh

BS 1821 - 1825.5        1, 2, 3 & 4 Maccabees

Subject Guide

Fred Guyette's picture
Fred Guyette
Contact:
Thrift Library
Anderson University
316 Boulevard
Anderson, SC 29621
864-231-2050

Printable Bibliography