Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Comparative Religion: Websites

This LibGuide is a starting place for research on religions of the world / denominations. There is a special page on Southern Baptists.

Websites

The Association of Relgion Data Archives

Apologetics Index - Apologetics Research Resources on Religious Cults, Sects, Movements, Doctrines, 

Bahai World - Official Site of the Baha'i Faith 

Baptists Today

Bestcommentary.com – This site rates and recommends biblical commentaries.

BibleMap.org – A free Bible atlas which harnesses Google maps. Type in a bible verse containing a geographic reference and see it on a Google satellite map.

BiblePlaces.com - photographs and descriptions of sites in Israel, Jordan, Egypt, Turkey and Greece with an emphasis on biblical archaeology, geography and history.

Biblios.com - We are working to provide a parallel Bible for each language, with navigation in one's own native tongue.

Bullfinch’s Mythology – Online version of the timeless book on Greek and Roman mythology.

Catholic Encyclopedia – Exhaustive full text encyclopedia on Christianity and Religion.

Christian Answers Network - Six Christian ministries join together to tackle tough questions about life and the Christian faith.

Christian Classics Ethereal Library - Electronic books selected for edification

ChristianityToday.com - Directory covers several topics including bible studies, entertainment, sports, families, and more

Classical Mythology - Glossary, genealogical trees, The Olympian gods, myths, hymns, images, etc.

Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative (CDRI)- A repository of digital resources contributed by member libraries.  CDRI provides access to digital images of woodcuts, photographs, slides, papyri, coins, maps, manuscripts, and sermons.  The site is in database form, and users can search across collections.

Encyclopedia Mythica – Encyclopedia on mythology, folklore and legend

Ethics Updates - Ethics Updates is designed primarily to be used by ethics instructors and their students. It is intended to provide updates on current literature, both popular and professional, that relates to ethics.

Facets of Religion – Links to the world’s religions.

Greek Mythology Links – Read the biographies of all the Olympian gods or a particular tale, or deepen one's knowledge about heroes or events through clicking at the many links.

Judaism and Jewish Resources – Links.

Maven - More than 5,500 Jewish-Israel Links 

Mircea Eleiade: From Primitives to Zen – Online version of the classic book.

Online Resources for 21srt Century Baptists –Organizations and Resources for Baptists who are Committed to Faith in Christ, Authority of Scripture, Missions, Evangelism, Priesthood of Believers, Freedom, and Christian Integrity. Organized by Baptists Today and BaptistLife.Com.

Philosophy Pages - This site offers helpful information for students of the Western philosophical tradition. The elements you will find on this site include: The Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and Names, a survey of the History of Western Philosophy, a Timeline for the intellectual figures discussed here, detailed discussion of several major Philosophers, summary treatment of the elementary principles of Logic, a generic Study Guide for students of philosophy, and links to other philosophy sites on the Internet.

Religion, Religions, and Religious Studies – Information resources for the study of religion.

TextKit – Online resource for learning Greek and Latin. Textkit is the Internet's largest provider of free and fully downloadable Greek and Latin grammars and readers with 146 free books

Textweek.com- Offers background research for sermons, artistic and liturgical resources for worship preparation, and direct EBSCOhost links to ATLAS article recommendations. 

Turabian 7th edition and MLA 7th edition Citation Maker – Type in you citation’s details, or just the ISBN, and get a complete citation. You can also look up books by key words. Includes a wide variety of non-traditional formats including online sources, sermons, streaming videos, etc.  Create Bibliographies, Footnotes, Reference Lists, Parenthetical Citations, and Works Cited.

Video Lectures Net – The portal to more than 6,000 lectures and 8,300 videos on all topics  - all free - can be used to supplement the classroom or learn something new of personal interest. 

Westminster Theological Seminary: Center on Theological Writing – Lots of online tools to assist seminary students in writing.

Subject Guide

Fred Guyette's picture
Fred Guyette
Contact:
Thrift Library
Anderson University
316 Boulevard
Anderson, SC 29621
864-231-2050