Books on the topic of Criminal Justice can be found in the following call number sections:
Criminal Justice
Aged offenders
Alcoholism and crime – HV5053–HV5055
Arrest
Assault and battery
Capital punishment - HV8694-HV8699
Clemency
Corrections
Courts
Crime – HV6001–HV7220.5
Crime against humanity – K5301–K5305
Crime analysis – HV7936.C88
Crime and age – HV6163
Crime and race
Crime forecasting
Crime in mass media – P96.C74
Crime laboratories - HV8073
Crime of passion - HV6053
Crime prevention – HV 7431
Crime without victims
Criminal act
Criminal anthropology - HV 6001–HV6197
Criminal attempt
Criminal behavior
Criminal behavior, Prediction of
Criminal courts
Criminal intent
Criminal investigation – HV 8073–HV8079
Criminal justice personnel
Criminal justice, Administration of - HV7231–HV9960
Criminal law
Criminal methods
Criminal procedure
Criminal profilers
Criminal psychology – HV6080–HV6113
Criminal registers
Criminal statistics
Criminals
- GT6550 – GT6710 (Manners and customs)
- HV6001 – HV7220.5 (Criminology)
- Identification– HV6065–HV6079
- Rehabilitation – H 9261–HV9430.7
Criminologists
Criminology – HV6001–HV6030
- Religious aspects – BL65.C 7
- Sociological aspects
Female offenders
Fugitives from justice (Not Subd Geog)
Gangs – HV 6437–HV 6439
Gangsters
Habeas corpus
Hoodlums
Human trafficking
Imprisonment
Indictments
Juvenile delinquents –HV9051-HV9230.7
Law enforcement
Lawyers
Mentally ill offenders
Motions (Law)
Murderers
Offenders with mental disabilities
Pardon – HV8692
Pleading (Criminal procedure)
Pleas (Criminal procedure)
Presumption (law)
Prisons – HV8301-HV9920
Prosecution
Public defenders – JK1548.P8
Rape – HV 6558–HV 6569
Searches and seizures
Sentences (Criminal procedure)
Sex offenders - HQ71–HQ72
Stay of proceedings (Criminal procedure)
Summary proceedings
Terrorists
Thieves – HV6653
Violent offenders
War criminals
Criminal Justice - the law enforcement system and its operations
Criminology - the sociological and psychological behaviors of criminals to determine why they commit crimes
Juvenile delinquency / Juvenile Justice
Careers in Law, Criminal Justice and Emergency Services by
Written for high school and undergraduate students, this series will help students explore their futures, and set goals in these exciting fields. This title examines 20 occupations in law and criminology. Careers covered in the text include Courts & Court Administration Judge & Attorney Law Enforcement & Investigation Corporate Security Computer Security Corrections Chapters provide an inside-look at the career options within a particular profession, including: Overview: Sphere of Work A Day in the Life Work Environment: Physical, Human, Technological Education & Training: Schooling, Licensing, Adult Job Seekers Earnings & Advancement Areas with the Highest Employment Levels Employment Outlook Associations & Business Contacts to Jumpstart Networking Plus... Famous Firsts, Occupation Specialties, Skills & Abilities, Fun Facts Conversations with Real Professionals, including "What I Wish I Had Known"
So You Want to Be a Cop by
Many children, from the time they are old enough to be attracted to a siren and flashing lights, dream their whole lives of becoming a police officer. As a retired police officer, herself, Alley Evola looks at the daily ins and outs of the job of a police officer. From recruitment, life at the academy, patrol and eventually promotion, she provides a helpful understanding of what you can really expect. She also looks at the current issues, including race and gender, and how these have shaped certain expectations from the public that a police officer needs to be prepared for when working in this field. When you're young and dreaming you don't think about the process it will take to become a police officer. And it's also not evident until after the police academy the many challenges and issues you will face in the field. So You Want to Be a Cop is for everyone who secretly wishes they were a police officer, or is pursuing their dream in hopes of transforming it into reality.
Battleground: Criminal Justice [2 Volumes] by
There are many controversial aspects of our criminal justice system, and this encyclopedia examines the most significant controversies throughout American history with emphasis on current debates, trends, and issues. Arranged alphabetically, approximately 100 entries cover background, explanations, notable cases and events, various sides of an issue, and what to expect in the future. Entries are objective and factual, allowing readers to formulate their own conclusions. Sidebars and case examples help to illustrate each entry, and sources for further reading point readers to other important materials. Given the prevalance of controversial criminal justice topics in the news, this timely reference is an important resource for anyone interested in crime and justice. Entries include: Boot Camps, Corporal Punishment, DNA Evidence, Domestic Violence, Expert Testimony, Eye Witness Identifications, Gun Control, Homeland Security, International Criminal Court, Legalization of Marijuana, Mental Health and Insanity, Police Brutality, Prison Violence, Racial Profiling, School Violence, Sex Offender Laws, Stalking Laws, Supermax Prisons, Three Strikes, Treating Juveniles as Adults, War on Drugs, and more.
Crime and Criminal Behavior by
Crime and Criminal Behavior delves into such hotly debated topics as age of consent, euthanasia and assisted suicide, gambling, guns, internet pornography, marijuana and other drug laws, religious convictions, and terrorism and extremism. From using a faking I.D. to assaulting one's domestic partner to driving drunk, a vast array of behaviors fit into the definition of criminal. The authors of these 20 chapters examine the historical contexts of each topic and offer arguments both for and against the ways in which legislators and courts have defined and responded to criminal behaviors, addressing the sometimes complex policy considerations involved. Sensitive subjects such as hate crimes are addressed, as are crimes carried out by large groups or states, including war crime and corporate crime. This volume also considers crimes that are difficult to prosecute, such as Internet crime and intellectual property crime, and crimes about which there is disagreement as to whether the behavior harms society or the individual involved (gun control and euthanasia, for example). The SeriesThe five brief, issues-based books in SAGE Reference's Key Issues in Crime & Punishment Series offer examinations of controversial programs, practices, problems or issues from varied perspectives. Volumes correspond to the five central subfields in the Criminal Justice curriculum: Crime & Criminal Behavior, Policing, The Courts, Corrections, and Juvenile Justice. Each volume consists of approximately 20 chapters offering succinct pro/con examinations, and Recommended Readings conclude each chapter, highlighting different approaches to or perspectives on the issue at hand. As a set, these volumes provide perfect reference support for students writing position papers in undergraduate courses spanning the Criminal Justice curriculum. Each title is approximately 350 pages in length.
The Criminal Justice System by
This new edition offers clear, comprehensive and authoritative treatment of all aspects of the criminal justice system. The Criminal Justice System, completely updated, covers the most important aspects of criminal justice in the United States. It details the commission and frequency of crimes through the investigation, apprehension, prosecution, and punishment of wrongdoers. The core issues of criminal justice are approached through a variety of perspectives: Crimes: includes nearly 40 core articles on specific categories of crime - ranging from animal abuse and arson to vandalism and white-collar crime .Codes: The framework of American law and significant individual pieces of legislation. Constitutions: The content of the nation's foundation documents, their interpretation, and their impact on modern criminal justice. Cops: The varieties of municipal, state, and federal law-enforcement agencies and the relationships among them, as well as their investigative work, specific functions, and arrests and other procedures. Courts: The structures of the federal and state court system, the relationships among the courts, attorneys, judges and officers of the courts, and trial procedures.Corrections: Sentencing, capital punishment, prison systems, prison conditions, and parole and pardons are covered in depth. Other broad subjects include business and commerce, drugs, juvenile justice, the media, military justice, rights issues, traffic law, victims and aspects of international justice . Five indexes and a multitude of informative appendices round out the text. Designed for high school and undergraduate researchers, as well as public library patrons, this clear and authoritative source is an engaging resource for this high-interest subject area
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice by
A complete revision of the 1982 edition, the Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice deals with not only law but also sociology, psychology, history and economics.
The Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice by
***Selected as a 2015 Outstanding Reference Source by Reference and User Services Association, a division of the American Library Association*** "An excellent introduction to topics under the criminology umbrella for those unschooled in the field and a state-of-the-art refresher for those who are." - Choice Offers wide-ranging and comprehensive coverage spanning 15 substantive areas within criminology and criminal justice, including criminal law, juvenile justice, education and professionalism, history of crime, and victimization Combines state-of-the-art coverage of developments in areas such as homeland security and forensic science, with the core topics within criminology and criminal justice Edited by one of criminology's leading authorities, and peer reviewed by a team of 14 associate editors, all of whom are renowned in their fields Brings together an international team of contributors from ten countries to offer a uniquely global perspective on topics such as transnational crime 5 Volumes www.encyclopediaofcriminology.com
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice by
The Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice is an international, comprehensive reference tool for the field of Criminology and Criminal Justice that is both cutting edge as well as of very high scientific quality and prestige. This 10-volume work provides a complete and systematic coverage of the field that is unprecedented. The Encyclopedia "defines the field" through its choice of organization and entries. It identifies and brings emerging ideas and trends to the forefront. The Encyclopedia covers Criminology and Criminal Justice in ten broad areas, with leading researchers writing substantive contributions within their area of expertise: Corrections and Criminal Justice Supervision in the Community Courts, Sentencing and the Judicial System Crimes, Criminals and Victims Crime Places and Situations Explanations for Criminal Behavior Forensic Science Data, Methods, and Statistics Police and Law Enforcement Psychology of Law Social Interventions and Prevention This work features approximately 600 entries, organized in alphabetical order. The work is comprised under the direction of two Editors-in-Chief in consultation with 12 Associate Editors and more than 180 Area Editors. It is an essential and dynamic reference for researchers in the fields of Criminology and Criminal Justice, as well as useful a research tool for those in related fields of the social and behavioral sciences.
21st Century Criminology: a Reference Handbook by
Criminology has experienced tremendous growth over the last few decades, evident, in part, by the widespread popularity and increased enrollment in criminology and criminal justice departments at the undergraduate and graduate levels across the U.S. and internationally. Evolutionary paradigmatic shift has accompanied this surge in definitional, disciplinary and pragmatic terms. Though long identified as a leading sociological specialty area, criminology has emerged as a stand-alone discipline in its own right, one that continues to grow and is clearly here to stay. Criminology, today, remains inherently theoretical but is also far more applied in focus and thus more connected to the academic and practitioner concerns of criminal justice and related professional service fields. Contemporary criminology is also increasingly interdisciplinary and thus features a broad variety of ideological orientations to and perspectives on the causes, effects and responses to crime. 21st Century Criminology: A Reference Handbook provides straightforward and definitive overviews of 100 key topics comprising traditional criminology and its modern outgrowths. The individual chapters have been designed to serve as a "first-look" reference source for most criminological inquires. Both connected to the sociological origins of criminology (i.e., theory and research methods) and the justice systems' response to crime and related social problems, as well as coverage of major crime types, this two-volume set offers a comprehensive overview of the current state of criminology. From student term papers and masters theses to researchers commencing literature reviews, 21st Century Criminology is a ready source from which to quickly access authoritative knowledge on a range of key issues and topics central to contemporary criminology. This two-volume set in the SAGE 21st Century Reference Series is intended to provide undergraduate
The Blackwell Companion to Criminology by
The Blackwell Companion to Criminology provides a contemporary and global resource to scholarship in both classical and topical areas of criminology. Written accessibly, and with its international perspective and first-rate scholarship, this is truly the first global handbook of criminology. Editors and contributors are international experts in criminology, offering a comparative perspective on theories and systems Contains full discussion of key debates and theories, the implications of new topics, studies and ideas, and contemporary developments Coverage includes: class, gender, and race, criminal justice, juvenile delinquency, punishment, mass media, international crimes, and social control
The Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice by
***Selected as a 2015 Outstanding Reference Source by Reference and User Services Association, a division of the American Library Association*** "An excellent introduction to topics under the criminology umbrella for those unschooled in the field and a state-of-the-art refresher for those who are." - Choice Offers wide-ranging and comprehensive coverage spanning 15 substantive areas within criminology and criminal justice, including criminal law, juvenile justice, education and professionalism, history of crime, and victimization Combines state-of-the-art coverage of developments in areas such as homeland security and forensic science, with the core topics within criminology and criminal justice Edited by one of criminology's leading authorities, and peer reviewed by a team of 14 associate editors, all of whom are renowned in their fields Brings together an international team of contributors from ten countries to offer a uniquely global perspective on topics such as transnational crime 5 Volumes www.encyclopediaofcriminology.com
Forensics under Fire by
Television shows like CSI, Forensic Files, and The New Detectives make it look so easy. A crime-scene photographer snaps photographs, a fingerprint technician examines a gun, uniformed officers seal off a house while detectives gather hair and blood samples, placing them carefully into separate evidence containers. In a crime laboratory, a suspect's hands are meticulously examined for gunshot residue. An autopsy is performed in order to determine range and angle of the gunshot and time-of-death evidence. Dozens of tests and analyses are performed and cross-referenced. A conviction is made. Another crime is solved. The credits roll. The American public has become captivated by success stories like this one with their satisfyingly definitive conclusions, all made possible because of the wonders of forensic science. Unfortunately, however, popular television dramas do not represent the way most homicide cases in the United States are actually handled. Crime scenes are not always protected from contamination; physical evidence is often packaged improperly, lost, or left unaccounted for; forensic experts are not always consulted; and mistakes and omissions on the autopsy table frequently cut investigations short or send detectives down the wrong investigative path. In Forensics Under Fire, Jim Fisher makes a compelling case that these and other problems in the practice of forensic science allow offenders to escape justice and can also lead to the imprisonment of innocent people. Bringing together examples from a host of high-profile criminal cases and familiar figures, such as the JonBenet Ramsey case and Dr. Henry Lee who presented physical evidence in the O. J. Simpson trial, along with many lesser known but fascinating stories, Fisher presents daunting evidence that forensic science has a long way to go before it lives up to its potential and the public's expectations.
Handbook of Critical Criminology by
The Routledge Handbook of Critical Criminologyis a collection of original essays specifically designed to offer students, faculty, policy makers, and others an in-depth overview of the most up-to-date empirical, theoretical, and political contributions made by critical criminologists around the world. Special attention is devoted to new theoretical directions in the field, such as cultural criminology, masculinities studies, and feminist criminologies. Its diverse essays not only cover the history of critical criminology and cutting edge theories, but also the variety of research methods used by leading scholars in the field and the rich data generated by their rigorous empirical work. In addition, some of the chapters suggest innovative and realistic short- and long-term policy proposals that are typically ignored by mainstream criminology. These progressive strategies address some of the most pressing social problems facing contemporary society today, and that generate much pain and suffering for socially and economically disenfranchised people. The Handbookexplores up-to-date empirical, theoretical, and political contributions, and is specifically designed to be a comprehensive resource for undergraduate and post-graduate students, researchers, and policy makers.
Handbook of Forensic Science by
Forensic science has become increasingly important within contemporary criminal justice, from criminal investigation through to courtroom deliberations, and an increasing number of agencies and individuals are having to engage with its contribution to contemporary justice. This Handbook aims to provide an authoritative map of the landscape of forensic science within the criminal justice system of the UK. It sets out the essential features of the subject, covering the disciplinary, technological, organizational and legislative resources that are brought together to make up contemporary forensic science practice. It is the first full-length publication which reviews forensic science in a wider political, economic, social, technological and legal context, identifying emerging themes on the current status and potential future of forensic science as part of the criminal justice system. With contributions from many of the leading authorities in the field it will be essential reading for both students and practitioners.
Domestic Violence and Abuse by
A comprehensive and timely resource for students, activists, educators, and advocates, Domestic Violence and Abuse: A Reference Handbook provides a rich and scholarly assessment of this important social issue while also including stories and profiles for a more personal understanding. Domestic Violence and Abuse: A Reference Handbook provides a thorough review of the most recent research about intimate partner violence. Additionally, a historical review provides readers with a sense of how views on domestic violence have changed over time and how different policies and practices have and have not been successful. Appropriate for readers at the high school level and above, the volume focuses on the scope, extent, and characteristics of domestic violence and offers several unique elements, including profiles of significant individuals, personal stories from advocates, activists and survivors, and a review of controversial issues. The volume also includes a chronology of key events, relevant data and documents, primary source data, and recommended resources. Compiles the most recent data about victims and offenders, thereby correcting many misconceptions about domestic violence Offers a timeline of critical events for readers to understand the history of the movement Includes primary source documents and personal stories, which help make the book beneficial to all readers Addresses the most common controversies in the field, allowing readers to support more informed positions
Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence and Abuse [2 Volumes] by
An estimated 1,300 to 1,800 Americans are murdered by intimate partners each year. Far from being a problem that only impacts women, domestic violence hurts society as a whole both socially as well as financially, with an estimated direct and indirect cost of nearly $6 billion annually in the United States. This book provides a timely and thorough reference for educators, students, scholars and activists seeking to better understand the global issue of domestic abuse. The entries document the history of the domestic violence prevention movement, provide explanations for abuse, identify warning signs of hidden abuse, describe types of victims and offenders, and supply information on interventions and prevention programs. Written by an array of experts in the field, the book also integrates the personal stories of survivors and addresses abuse as a global issue by covering topics such as acid attacks and female genital mutilation.
Responding to Domestic Violence by
This book covers the victim's and the offender′s perspective and discusses the needs, preferences and satisfaction for intervention, as well as the impact of interventions. The diversity in victims is examined, suggesting that this not only impacts their needs, preferences, and attitudes, but also differentially impacts service needs and impact of interventions. Responding to Domestic Violenceprovides a strong focus on the criminal justice system's responses to domestic violence and a comprehensive overview of public and non-profit social service and healthcare services and interventions. This text includes student-friendly material: end-of-chapter summaries and review questions, "Best Practices" sidebars, victim and offender case studies, and interviews with figures in the field.
The Price of Safety by
Specialized public resources for survivors of intimate partner violence (IPV) are increasingly common and diverse--from protection order courts and dedicated domestic violence units in police precincts to a vast network of community-based emergency shelters and counseling services. Yet little consensus exists regarding which resources actually work to reduce violence and help survivors lead the lives they would like to live. This book is an account of these resources and IPV survivors' experiences with them in three communities in the United States. Through detailed observations of services such as court procedures, public benefits processes, and community-based IPV programs as well as in-depth interviews with dozens of IPV survivors and practitioners, Shoener describes how our current institutional response to IPV is often not useful--and sometimes quite harmful--for IPV survivors with the least material, social, and cultural capital to spare. For these women, as the interviews vividly record, IPV has long-term economic and social consequences, disrupting career paths and creating social isolation.
Forensics under Fire by
Television shows like CSI, Forensic Files, and The New Detectives make it look so easy. A crime-scene photographer snaps photographs, a fingerprint technician examines a gun, uniformed officers seal off a house while detectives gather hair and blood samples, placing them carefully into separate evidence containers. In a crime laboratory, a suspect's hands are meticulously examined for gunshot residue. An autopsy is performed in order to determine range and angle of the gunshot and time-of-death evidence. Dozens of tests and analyses are performed and cross-referenced. A conviction is made. Another crime is solved. The credits roll. The American public has become captivated by success stories like this one with their satisfyingly definitive conclusions, all made possible because of the wonders of forensic science. Unfortunately, however, popular television dramas do not represent the way most homicide cases in the United States are actually handled. Crime scenes are not always protected from contamination; physical evidence is often packaged improperly, lost, or left unaccounted for; forensic experts are not always consulted; and mistakes and omissions on the autopsy table frequently cut investigations short or send detectives down the wrong investigative path. In Forensics Under Fire, Jim Fisher makes a compelling case that these and other problems in the practice of forensic science allow offenders to escape justice and can also lead to the imprisonment of innocent people. Bringing together examples from a host of high-profile criminal cases and familiar figures, such as the JonBenet Ramsey case and Dr. Henry Lee who presented physical evidence in the O. J. Simpson trial, along with many lesser known but fascinating stories, Fisher presents daunting evidence that forensic science has a long way to go before it lives up to its potential and the public's expectations.
Handbook of Forensic Science by
Forensic science has become increasingly important within contemporary criminal justice, from criminal investigation through to courtroom deliberations, and an increasing number of agencies and individuals are having to engage with its contribution to contemporary justice. This Handbook aims to provide an authoritative map of the landscape of forensic science within the criminal justice system of the UK. It sets out the essential features of the subject, covering the disciplinary, technological, organizational and legislative resources that are brought together to make up contemporary forensic science practice. It is the first full-length publication which reviews forensic science in a wider political, economic, social, technological and legal context, identifying emerging themes on the current status and potential future of forensic science as part of the criminal justice system. With contributions from many of the leading authorities in the field it will be essential reading for both students and practitioners.
Atlas of Forensic Pathology by
The Atlas of Forensic Pathology, For Police, Forensic Scientists, Attorneys and Death Investigators is a Major Reference Work that is specifically is designed for non-pathologists who normally interact with forensic pathologists. Chapters 1 through 6 will provide background information regarding medicine, pathology, forensic pathology, death investigation, cause, manner and mechanism of death, death certification, and anatomy and physiology. The next 3 chapters will deal with general topics within forensic pathology, including the forensic autopsy, postmortem changes and time of death, and body identification. Chapters 10 through 20 will detail the major types of deaths encountered by forensic pathologists, including natural deaths, drug/toxin deaths, blunt force injuries, gunshot wounds, sharp force injuries, asphyxia, drowning, electrocution, temperature-related injuries, burns and fires, and infant/childhood deaths. The final chapter includes brief descriptions dealing with various miscellaneous topics, such as in-custody deaths, homicidal deaths related to underlying natural disease, and artifacts in forensic pathology. This atlas differs from competition in that no atlas currently exists that address material for non-pathologists (detectives, forensic entomologists and pathologists), who normally interact with forensic pathologists. The book will present such images that are or interest to not only forensic pathologists but also of interest to odontology, anthropology, crime scene investigators, fingerprints specialists, DNA specialists and entomologists, etc. The competing atlases present images of interest mostly to medical examiners, forensic pathologists and pathologists and consist mostly of wounds, and trauma with some coverage of diseases. The color photographs will come from the collection of over 50,000 slides in the Adelaide Australia collection and some 100,000 slides from the collection compiled by Dr. Prahlow that includes slides from Cook County, Indianapolis, and North Carolina.
The Gun Debate by
With public debate of gun violence at an all-time high, this new third edition of The Gun Debate: An Encyclopedia of Gun Control & Gun Rights is a must-have resource for all libraries. Over 350 entries provide in-depth coverage of both sides of the gun debate. Updated and expanded coverage includes new entries on recent gun laws and legislation, coverage of mass shootings and gun incidents, plus new information from the groups who support gun rights, and those who support gun control in the United States. Content is arranged using a balanced and unbiased approach to this controversial issue. Easy-to-use A-Z format, with numerous cross-references. Detailed Preface and Introduction provide the reader with a useful background to the gun debate in America. Expanded Primary Documents Section, including speeches, articles, and legislation surrounding the gun debate. Appendix 1: State Constitutional Gun Rights Provisions & Stand Your Ground laws. Appendix 2: Statutory and Constitutional Provisions Relating to the Purchase, Ownership, and Use of Firearms. Appendix 3: List of Organizations. Updated Chronology, now including key 2016 legislation and shooting incidents. Bibliography, Subject Index & New Category Index. Available in print and ebook formats. Combining the history of this important issue with current events and current viewpoints, this new third edition will be an important addition to public, university and high school libraries.
Reference Shelf: Guns in America by
A national debate continues to rage in regard to 2nd amendment rights in contemporary society. This collection will deal with concerns about domestic violence committed by guns, the ramifications of a widely armed citizenry, the government's failure to pass comprehensive gun legislation, as well as police brutality, strong gun lobbies, open-carry laws, home-grown terrorism, fatal shootings of black men by police in Louisiana and Minnesota, and the Orlando massacre. From domestic terrorism, to the Black Lives Matter movement articles in this title will reflect differences in policy views on the subject in the longstanding debate around gun rights and gun control.
APA Handbook of Psychology and Juvenile Justice by
The APA Handbook of Psychology and Juvenile Justice consolidates and advances knowledge about the legal, scientific, and applied foundations of the juvenile justice system. In addition to an overview of the area, it contains chapters in the following sections: Relevant Law (focusing on important legislation and on U.S. Supreme Court decisions from Kent and Gault to Eddings, Roper, Graham, and Miller-Jackson, and on the relevant legal theory of preventive justice for dolescents) Human Development (describing research on adolescent development and brain development as they apply to behavior in the juvenile justice context) Patterns of Offending (including evidence about offending in juveniles and the persistence vs. desistance into adulthood) Risk Factors for Offending (evidence about risk factors for juvenile offending including Risk-Need-Responsivity theory, juvenile psychopathy, substance abuse, gangs, and trauma/adverse experience, as well as threat assessment and bullying prevention in schools) Forensic Assessment (assessing risk, needs/amenability, and sophistication-maturity as part of legal decisions on commitment, transfer, and reverse transfer, as well as legal decisions on Miranda waiver capacity and competence to stand trial) Interventions (evidence on risk-reducing interventions, both in the community and in residential placement, including for specialized offending of sexual offenders) Training and Ethics (including the updated MacArthur curriculum on adolescents in the juvenile justice system and an analysis of the ethical issues particular to juvenile justice)
The Handbook of Juvenile Delinquency and Juvenile Justice by
This handbook is an up-to-date examination of advances in the fields of juvenile delinquency and juvenile justice that includes interdisciplinary perspectives from leading scholars and practitioners. Examines advances in the fields of juvenile delinquency and juvenile justice with interdisciplinary perspectives from leading scholars and practitioners Provides a current state of both fields, while also assessing where they have been and defining where they should go in years to come Addresses developments in theory, research, and policy, as well as cultural changes and legal shifts Contains summaries of juvenile justice trends from around the world, including the US, the Netherlands, Brazil, Russia, India, South Africa, and China Covers central issues in the scholarly literature, such as social learning theories, opportunity theories, criminal processing, labeling and deterrence, gangs and crime, community-based sanctions and reentry, victimization, and fear of crime
The Oxford Handbook of Juvenile Crime and Juvenile Justice by
Over the last two decades, researchers have made significant discoveries about the causes and origins of delinquency. Specifically, we have learned a great deal about adolescent development and its relationship to decision-making, about multiple factors that contribute to delinquency, andabout the processes and contexts associated with the course of delinquent careers. Over the same period, public officials have made sweeping jurisprudential, jurisdictional, and procedural changes in our juvenile justice systems.The Oxford Handbook of Juvenile Crime and Juvenile Justice presents a timely compilation of state-of-the-art critical reviews of knowledge about causes of delinquency and their significance for justice policy, and about developments in the juvenile justice system to prevent and control youth crime.The first half of the handbook focuses on juvenile crime and examines trends and patterns in delinquency and victimization, explores causes of delinquency - at the individual, micro-social, and macro-social levels, and from natural and social science perspectives - and their implications forstructuring a youth justice system. The second half of the handbook concentrates on juvenile justice and examines a range of issues - including the historical origins and re-invention of the juvenile court; juvenile offenders' mental health status and considerations of trial competence andculpability; intake, diversion, detention, and juvenile courts; and transfer/waiver strategies - and considers how the juvenile justice system itself influences delinquency.The Oxford Handbook of Juvenile Crime and Juvenile Justice provides a comprehensive overview of juvenile crime and juvenile justice administration by authors who are all leading scholars involved in cutting-edge research, and is an essential resource for scholars, students, and justice officials.
Battleground : criminal justice / edited by Gregg Barak.
Courts, law, and justice [electronic resource] / William Chambliss, general editor.
Crime, Reason and History by Crime and criminal behavior [electronic resource] / William Chambliss, general editor.
Crime and punishment around the world [electronic resource].
Crime and punishment in America reference library / Richard C. Hanes, Sharon M. Hanes, and Kelly Rudd ; Sarah Hermsen, project editor.
Crime and punishment [electronic resource] : essential primary sources / K. Lee and Brenda Wilmoth Lerner, editors.
The criminal law handbook: know your rights, survive the system / by Paul Bergman & Sara J. Berman.
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment by 
Encyclopedia of Criminal Justice Ethics [electronic resource]
Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Law by
A convenient, comprehensive guide to the language of law for everyone from the homeowner to the legal professional. * Includes more than 10,000 legal words and phrases. * Updated entries taken from recent events that propelled legal terms into our daily lives: * From the financial meltdown--credit default swap, subprime, systemic risk, credit rating agency, moral hazard * From the world of computers and the Internet--cyberbullying, identity fraud, malware, phishing * From crime--Amber alert, community policing, person of interest * Includes pronunciations, example phrases and quotations, and frequent supplementary notes. * Special sections on the judicial system, important legal cases, government agencies, and historic laws.
The Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment by
The Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment provides the most comprehensive reference for a vast number of topics relevant to crime and punishment with a unique focus on the multi/interdisciplinary and international aspects of these topics and historical perspectives on crime and punishment around the world. Named as one of Choice's Outstanding Academic Titles of 2016 Comprising nearly 300 entries, this invaluable reference resource serves as the most up-to-date and wide-ranging resource on crime and punishment Offers a global perspective from an international team of leading scholars, including coverage of the strong and rapidly growing body of work on criminology in Europe, Asia, and other areas Acknowledges the overlap of criminology and criminal justice with a number of disciplines such as sociology, psychology, epidemiology, history, economics, and public health, and law Entry topics are organized around 12 core substantive areas: international aspects, multi/interdisciplinary aspects, crime types, corrections, policing, law and justice, research methods, criminological theory, correlates of crime, organizations and institutions (U.S.), victimology, and special populations Organized, authored and Edited by leading scholars, all of whom come to the project with exemplary track records and international standing 3 Volumes www.crimeandpunishmentencyclopedia.com
Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law by
What is involved in estate planning? What can I legally do if I have noisy neighbors? What are the consequences of an expired visa? The Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law fills a much-needed gap between legal texts focusing on the theory and history behind the law and more practical guides dealing with the law and its everyday effect upon its citizens. Containing 276 articles, the Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law includes: brief descriptions of each issues historical background, covering important statutes and cases, profiles of various U.S. laws and regulations, details of how laws and regulations vary from state to state, and comprehensive bibliographies, including print and Web resources and lists of relevant organizations. The Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law provides information and resources to help users answer their legal questions, and outlines their rights and recourses, as well as consequences, under the law. It also provides a general background and explanation of legal issues and educates the user on federal and state/local laws, statutes, cases, and regulations and Constitutional protections. Information is at the users fingertips, with a detailed table of contents, a mini-table of contents at the beginning of each essay, and a comprehensive index. In addition, each article provides additional resources, including a bibliography, websites, and organizations with conta
Great American Court Cases Series by
This resource, whilst focusing on Supreme Court cases, also includes precedent-settingcases. This 4-volume set contains approximately 800 cases, organized by broad legal principles, then arranged alphabetically under the more specific legal issues.
Great American Trials by
The updated and expanded edition of this RUSA Outstanding Reference Source brings to life approximately 360 of the most compelling legal battles in American history. Illustrated entries cover trials that were historically and/or legally significant as well as those that gained notoriety and large public interest. Featuring trials from the 1800s to the present, entries in this comprehensive two-volume set cover the principals involved, the crime charged, the verdict and sentence, and the significance and impact of each trial. Features include a bibliography, further reading list and detailed keyword index.
U. S. Court Cases by
A comprehensive collection of essays covering more than 670 rulings by the U.S. Supreme Court and other federal and state courts, it is the largest collection of articles on individual court cases available in any compact reference work.
Economics of Crime and Enforcement by
This text is designed for use in a course on the economics of crime in a variety of settings. Assuming only a previous course in basic microeconomics, this innovative book is strongly linked to the new theoretical and empirical journal literature. Showing the power of microeconomics in action, Yezer covers a wide array of topics. There are chapters on the following topics: benefit-cost and the imprisonment decision, enforcement games, juvenile crime, private enforcement, economics of 3 strikes law, broken windows strategies, police profiling, and crime in developing countries. There are also separate chapters on guns, drugs, and capital punishment. Timely boxed examples are found throughout. Problems at the end of each chapter allow students to reinforce their microeconomics skills and to gain insight into the way they can be applied to case examples.
The Encyclopedia of American Law Enforcement by
Written in a clear and engaging style, ""The Encyclopedia of American Law Enforcement"" provides an A-to-Z history of the police and law enforcement authorities in the United States - from the 17th century to the present. More than 600 entries highlight the world of law enforcement and its role throughout history. This entertaining volume is the perfect handy reference for anyone interested in the history of American police and law enforcement agencies. Coverage includes: all major federal law enforcement agencies; at least one police department from each state; biographies of key figures; civil rights and social issues; community outreach efforts; famous or infamous incidents and scandals; law enforcement campaigns, such as the War on Drugs; police codes, organization, and jargon; police tactics and special units; types of crime; and, women in law enforcement.
Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement by
This three-volume Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement provides a comprehensive, critical, and descriptive examination of all facets of law enforcement on the state and local, federal and national, and international stages. This work is a unique reference source that provides readers with informed discussions on the practice and theory of policing in an historical and contemporary framework.nbsp;The volumes treat subjects that are particular to the area of state and local, federal and national, and international policing. Many of the themes and issues of policing cut across disciplinary borders, however, and several entries provide comparative information that places the subject in context.
Modern Police Leadership by
This edited textbook covers a range of key operational and strategic aspects of police administration, from experts who have both an academic and practitioner background. It sets out the modern challenges and demands facing the police and then covers the theory and practice of how to deal with such issues, including the leadership skills which are required at every level. These challenges are covered in sections on the use of force, international policing, investigation of new crimes and forensic investigation, counter-terrorism, intelligence, mental well-being, and community policing. Some of the key themes discussed include dealing with public demand for police services, diversity and partnership/interoperability working locally, regionally and internationally. This book is designed at all levels of warranted officer and speaks to undergraduate and postgraduate policing students with a range of pedagogic features including seminar and exam questions.
Policing in America by
This book maps the development of modern policing--both theory and practice--from humans' first efforts at social control, through the British roots of modern policing, to the unique institution of American policing today. How Americans view police has varied dramatically through history. In 1856, New York police opposed wearing uniforms because they felt it represented a militaristic and nondemocratic type of organization. Today, our police model themselves on the military and use military tactics in the "war" on drugs. Policing in America: A Reference Handbook chronicles our changing ideas and methods of social control, beginning with the first recorded instances. It traces the trends that have shaped America's unique policing system and our fascination with police. It also examines the hot-button issues that concern police scholars today--such as the nature of the police subculture and police corruption--and details the trends and issues that will shape the future of policing. An essential reference for those interested in--and affected by--the American system of policing, which impacts us all. A glossary of standard policing terms, such as "blue curtain," "police subculture," "stakeout," and "forensics," allows the reader to better acquaint themselves with the law enforcement world A detailed list of associations and organizations in the field points readers to sources of further information
Policing in an Age of Reform by
This book tackles the contentious issue of policing in an age of controversy and uncertainty. It is a timely book written by police scholars -- predominantly former practitioners from Europe, Australia and North America -- who draw from their own research and operational experiences to illuminate key issues relating to police reform in the present day. While acknowledging some relevance of usual proposed models, such as problem-solving, evidence-based policing and procedural justice, the contributors provide an insider look at a variety of perspectives and approaches to police reform which have emerged in recent decades. It invites university students, criminologists, social scientists, police managers, forensic scientists to question and adapt their perspectives on a broad range of topics such as community policing, hate crime, Islamic radicalisation, neighborhood dynamics, situational policing, antidiscrimination and civil society, police ethics, performance measures, and advances in forensic science, technology, intelligence and more in an accessible and comprehensive manner.
The State of American Policing by
Written by a veteran police officer turned college professor, this modern-day study of American policing covers hot-button issues including police use of deadly force against and bias toward minorities. Grounded in research of historical and current events, this text examines police practices and the psychological impact that those practices have on minority communities. Author David J. Thomas, a retired police officer and associate professor of criminal justice, looks at and beyond historical perspectives to address many of today's most controversial issues central to minority communities. Topics covered include the repeated failure to convict officers for fatally shooting unarmed subjects, the rise of heated debates between the Black Lives Matter and Blue Lives Matter movements, the militarization of police agencies, and police response to protests by NFL players. The text also offers insight into the psychology of race, police culture, implicit bias, and the decision to use deadly force. Thomas additionally examines possible solutions to these problems. College students, researchers, academics, and readers interested in politics will find this work informative and thought-provoking. Takes a multidisciplinary approach to the problem, covering police psychology, behavior, policy, and law Addresses the proliferation of violence in minority communities Examines the response of minority communities to police brutality and the shooting of unarmed Black men, in addition to the psychology of oppression within those communities Illustrates signs that a police agency is faltering, how a community becomes disenfranchised from police and the consequences for law enforcement efforts, and quality assurance measures that could reduce or remove the problems
Power and Restraint by
Thoroughly revised and updated, this edition of the classic casebook on police ethics explores the moral complexities of situations faced by law enforcement officers every day across the United States. This updated edition of Power and Restraint maintains its place as a leading set of standards for evaluating police behavior. It extends our understanding of the basis of police accountability by grounding it in principles of the social contract and constitutional democracy. It applies the standards of fair access, public trust, public safety first, role discipline, and neutral professionalism to a variety of modern policing situations that help identify best practices and increase understanding of the challenges of policing in 21st-century America. Power and Restraint first locates itself in the context of other significant studies by scholars from various disciplines on moral issues in police work. Next, it establishes a foundation for moral evaluation of police work grounded in social contract theory as expressed in the U.S. Constitution and Declaration of Independence. Third, the authors generate five standards derived from the social contract for judging the actions of police. In the second half of the book, the reader is asked to apply these standards to a variety of typical but morally ambiguous policing situations. Clarifies the basis for judgments of police behavior Features case studies of actual law enforcement situations with complex ethical considerations Improves police officers' ability to think about their actions by examining the principles of ethical policing and applying those principles to concrete cases Explains both the need for and limitations on police authority, including the use of force
Forensic Science by
This completely updated, new edition of Forensic Science approaches its subject from multiple directions. One primary approach is from the points of view of forensic investigators. In addition to its core essays on subspecialties and allied fields, the set has essays on specific types of investigations, investigative techniques, specialised equipment, and types of evidence. Also included is coverage of the role of forensic science in the American legal system. The articles define the topic and summarise their relevance to forensic science. This new edition adds hundreds of new entries and a complete update of existing entries to offer a comprehensive overview of this popular field.
Handbook of Criminal Investigation by
This book provides the most comprehensive and authoritative book yet published on the subject of criminal investigation, a rapidly developing area within the police and other law enforcement agencies, and an important sub discipline within police studies. The subject is rarely out of the headlines, and there is widespread media interest in criminal investigation. Within the police rapid strides are being made in the direction of professionalizing the criminal investigation process, and it has been a particular focus as a means of improving police performance. A number of important reports have been published in the last few years, highlighting the importance of the criminal investigation process not only to the work of the police but to public confidence in this. Each of these reports has identified shortcomings in the way criminal investigations have been conducted, and has made recommendations for improvement . The Handbook of Criminal Investigation provides a rigorous and critical approach to not only the process of criminal investigation, but also the context in which this takes place, the theory underlying it, and the variety of factors which influence approaches to it. It will be an indispensable source of reference for anybody with an interest in, and needing to know about, criminal investigation. Contributors to the book are drawn from both practitioners in the field and academics.
Handbook of Police Psychology by
The Handbook of Police Psychology represents the contributions of overnbsp;thirty police psychologists, all experts in their field, on the core subject matters of police psychology. Police psychology is broadly defined as the application of psychological principles and methods to law enforcement. This growing area includes topics such as screening and hiring of police officers; conducting screening for special squads (e.g., SWAT); fitness-for-duty evaluations; investigations, hostage negotiations; training and consultation, and stress counseling, among others. The book examines the beginnings of police psychology and early influences on the profession such as experimentalnbsp;investigations of psychological testing on police attitude and performance. Influential figures in the field of police psychology are discussed, including the nation's first full-time police psychologist who served on the Los Angeles Police Department, and the first full-time police officer to earn a doctorate in psychology while still in uniform with the New York Police Department.
Handbook of Policing by
This new edition of the Handbook of Policing updates and expands the highly successful first edition, and now includes a completely new chapter on policing and forensics. It provides a comprehensive, but highly readable overview of policing in the UK, and is an essential reference point, combining the expertise of leading academic experts on policing and policing practitioners themselves.
Routledge Handbook of Surveillance Studies by
Surveillance is a central organizing practice. Gathering personal data and processing them in searchable databases drives administrative efficiency but also raises questions about security, governance, civil liberties and privacy. Surveillance is both globalized in cooperative schemes, such as sharing biometric data, and localized in the daily minutiae of social life. This innovative Handbook explores the empirical, theoretical and ethical issues around surveillance and its use in daily life. With a collection of over forty essays from the leading names in surveillance studies, the Handbook takes a truly multi-disciplinary approach to critically question issues of: surveillance and population control policing, intelligence and war production and consumption new media security identification regulation and resistance. The Routledge Handbook of Surveillance Studies is an international, accessible, definitive and comprehensive overview of the rapidly growing multi-disciplinary field of surveillance studies. The Handbook's direct, authoritative style will appeal to a wide range of scholars and students in the social sciences, arts and humanities.
Crime, Prisons and Jails by
Focuses on the social and moral issues surrounding crime, prisons, and jails.
Punishment in America by
From the Salem witch trials to death row, this work is a gripping analysis of the evolution of punishment practices, policies, and problems in America. From Puritan ducking stools to boot camps and supermax prisons, Punishment in America investigates the evolution of punishment in the United States. Intriguing inquiries into penitentiaries, parole, capital punishment, and other sanctions reveal how the rationales behind them--retribution, rehabilitation, and deterrence--reflect changes in society, culture, and values. Reaching beyond the typical focus on prisons and incarceration to extralegal lynchings and vigilante operations and the treatment of the poor and the mentally challenged, this remarkable review also explores the impact of stricter laws on pedophiles and drug offenders and the effect of three-strikes legislation and truth in sentencing. This thought-provoking work will help readers understand the conflicting roles that punishment has played in delivering justice and promoting rehabilitation. A chronology tracking the history of punishment in the United States begins with ancient practices like blood feuds A chapter on facts and data presents studies on the impact of the war on drugs and the truth-in-sentencing laws on the prison population
Prisons in the United States by
Offering perspectives from a range of experts, both academic and nonacademic, this reference book examines the development of prisons in the United States and addresses the principal contemporary issues and controversies of our prisons and prison systems. Prisons were initially created as a means of reforming offenders, but over time, the objective of rehabilitation gave way to a strategy of mass imprisonment--a system that has resulted in correctional facilities dealing with serious problems such as overcrowding, prison gangs, pervasive violence, and a significant incidence of mental illness among inmates. Prisons in the United States: A Reference Handbook examines the history of corrections in America, detailing how well-intentioned policies intended to "get tough on crime" sanctioned the dismantling of parole systems and resulted in laws that imposed mandatory minimum sentences. These changes contributed to the United States now having the biggest incarcerated population worldwide and the highest rate of incarceration. The book offers an accessible history of the development of the prison system in the United States and analyzes the various problems and controversies associated with prisons in the present day. The coverage includes key related issues, including those of race and gender, and enables readers to understand how past developments continue to affect public and official perceptions of the prison experience--for example, how the practice of keeping inmates in solitary confinement for lengthy periods has been reinvented and represents a return to a historically discredited practice. Accounts of former inmates and of correctional officers are integrated into the text, adding context and offering rarely heard perspectives on difficult issues affecting prisons. Presents a comprehensive yet succinct history of the development of men's and women's prisons in the United States Offers a range of author perspectives that identify and explore the principal issues associated with prisons and imprisonment Documents the shift from an intent to reform inmates in prisons to retribution and an attempt to remove all criminals from society, using prisons for "warehousing" of undesired elements Provides a complete reference guide for the understanding of prisons and imprisonment as a punishment
American Prisons by
Imprisonment has become big business in the United States. Using a "history of ideas" approach, this book examines the cultural underpinnings of prisons in the United States and explores how shared ideas about imprisonment evolve into a complex, loosely connected nationwide system of prisons that keeps enough persons to populate a small nation behind bars, razor wire and electrified fences. Tracing both the history of the prison and the very idea of imprisonment in the United States, this book provides students with a critical overview of American prisons and considers their past, their present and directions for the future. Topics covered include: * a history of imprisonment in America from 1600 to the present day; * the twentieth-century prison building bin≥ * the relationship between U.S. prisons and the private sect∨ * a critical account of capital punishment; * less-visible prison minorities, including women, children and the elderly; and * sex, violence and disease in prison. This comprehensive book is essential reading for advanced courses on corrections and correctional management and offers a compelling and provocative analysis of the realities of American penal culture from past to present. It is perfect reading for students of criminal justice, corrections, penology and the sociology of punishment.
Criminal Psychology by
This comprehensive, four-volume reference set on the subject of criminal psychology includes contributions from top scholars and practitioners in the field, explaining new and emerging theory and research in the study of the criminal mind and criminal behavior. Unfortunately, criminal behavior surrounds us in our society--from petty theft and vandalism to multimillion-dollar white-collar crime to shocking terrorism attempts and school killings. Invariably, one of the first questions is, "Why did they do it?" Criminal psychology seeks to solve this complex puzzle. In this four-volume reference work, a unparalleled team of leading experts offer an exhaustive look at the history, developments, emerging and classic research issues, controversies, and victories in the expanding field of criminal psychology. The first volume examines the general theories in the study of criminal psychology. The second volume focuses more specifically on research of criminal behavior and crime types, while the last two volumes delve into criminal justice and forensic applications. The comprehensive content allows readers to better understand criminal behavior and appreciate the specific criminal justice and forensic settings in which this theory and research is applied, such as criminal profiling, forensic assessment of danger, and correctional rehabilitation and offender reentry.
The Psychology of Criminal Conduct by
The Psychology of Criminal Conduct, Sixth Edition, provides a psychological and evidence-informed perspective of criminal behavior that sets it apart from many criminological and mental health explanations of criminal behavior. Drawing upon the General Personality and Cognitive Social Learning theory, James Bonta and Donald Andrews provide an overview of the theoretical context and major knowledge base of the psychology of criminal conduct, discuss the eight major risk/need factors of criminal conduct, examine the prediction and classification of criminal behavior along with prevention and rehabilitation, and summarize the major issues in understanding criminal conduct. This book also offers the Risk/Need/Responsivity (RNR) model of offender assessment and treatment that has guided developments in the subject throughout the world. In this edition, the first since Andrews' death, Bonta carefully maintains the book's original contributions while presenting these core concepts succinctly, clearly, and elegantly. Appropriate for advanced undergraduates and graduate students as well as for scholars, researchers, and practitioners, The Psychology of Criminal Conduct, Sixth Edition, further extends and refines the authors' body of work.
Profiling by
The true stories of how professional profilers help catch serial killers. Profiling reveals the confidential arsenal of tactics that real-life FBI investigators used to solve some of the most horrific murders in modern history. It begins with an overview of how profiling was first developed as a viable technique, followed by illustrated chapters that describe the specific parts of the profiling process: The FBI's crime scene analysis procedure Crime scene facts and evidence The organized and disorganized classifications of violent serial offenders Geographical profiling Types of rape and the clues they leave A serial killer's crime signature Identifying child abductors and abusers Profiling criminals through written documents How profilers work with other investigators and interrogators Profiling focuses on 50 notorious true crimes to explain profiling, describing how crime scene evidence is processed and revealing the psychological clues and how the profilers helped to solve the case. Some of these headline-grabbing cases are: The Black Dahlia murder investigation David Carpenter, the Trailside Killer Robert Hansen, a highly organized killer who abducted prostitutes and left them in the Alaska wilderness so he could hunt them with a rifle Ted Bundy Jeffrey Dahmer Profiling is the gripping behind-the-scenes story of a topic that has had fans of Criminal Minds and the CSI series glued to their television screens for many years.
Profiling in Policy and Practice by
'Profilers' and 'Profiling' are now widely discussed, with almost mythical respect. This is the first volume to cut through the confusions and misunderstandings surrounding this topic to report on detailed, original, scientific research that examines the variations in criminal behaviour from which any 'profile' must be derived.
Psychology and Crime by
Crime is an expensive aspect of society, and each year huge amounts of public money are spent on the courts, police, probation services, and prisons, while the human costs in terms of pain, fear and loss is incalculable. Psychology and Crime comprehensively covers the vital role of psychological theories and methods in understanding and managing criminal behaviour. It analyzes in depth the application of psychological findings to a range of serious crimes, such as arson, violent crime, and sexual crime. It examines the use of psychology by the police and the courts and discusses the role of psychology in crime reduction strategies. Written by a leading authority on the subject and informed by over twenty years of teaching experience, the second edition of this popular text has been thoroughly revised and updated to take account of the most recent research in the field. New features also include: Expansive coverage of the development of criminal behaviour; Chapter summaries and end-of-chapter discussion points; Text boxes throughout highlighting key issues, debates and brief histories; Supplementary online resources at www.routledge.com/cw/hollin. Psychology and Crime is an essential introduction and reference for undergraduate and postgraduate students in psychology, criminology, sociology and related subjects. It also represents an invaluable resource for professional training courses and anyone planning a career in the criminal justice system.
Criminal Justice Research Methods by
The study of research methodologies can be daunting to many students due to complex terminology, mathematical formulas, and lack of practical examples. Now in its second edition, Criminal Justice Research Methods: Theory and Practice offers a straightforward, easy-to-understand text that clarifies this complex subject matter, keeping perplexing res
Introduction to Criminal Justice Research Methods by
This third edition is designed as an introduction to research methods in criminal justice techniques. The detailed information that is generated by research is a management tool that has become a significant part of criminal justice operations. The text discusses the purposes, process, and uses of research that focus on identifying what information is already known about a particular topic or question. Ethical issues in criminal justice research are reviewed, as is investigating the validity and reliability of crime data sources. Also offered is an introduction to research design--the plan or blueprint for a complete research project. The principles of sampling are thoroughly discussed as is survey research, a common form of gathering information in the criminal justice setting. A review of the concept of scaling and some common methods of scale construction are introduced. Additional major topics include qualitative interviews and observational studies in qualitative research, as well as a wide variety of research techniques that comprise evaluation research. The definitions and examples provided in the book will help students and practitioners to both comprehend research articles and reports and to conduct their own research. Each of the authors brings specific areas of expertise to the text, and they are familiar with the research process and have worked together on several published studies. The text is designed primarily for persons with little or no research background and provides real-world examples and clear definitions of terms and concepts.
Legal Research by
Legal Research: Take the law into your own hands Do you have legal questions at home, at work, or as part of law-related course work? Legal Research provides everything you need, laying out easy-to-follow research methods that will help you find the right answers. Find out how to: locate and understand statutes, regulations, and cases make sure your research is 100% up to date organize your research results into a memorandum of law for use at school, at work, or in court. Completely updated for the 17th edition, Legal Research shows how to use the Web to find statutes, cases, background information, and answers to specific legal questions. Even more important, you'll be guided to the most reliable and user-friendly sites, so you won't drown in an information flood. Lots of examples and easy-to-understand instructions teach you how to use all the basic legal research tools, including: Internet search engines reliable free legal websites legal encyclopedias, periodicals, and treatises annotated legal codes and statutes published reports of state and federal court cases case digests and Shepard's Citations the best legal blogs
Legal Research in a Nutshell by
Serving as both a text for beginning law students and a reference for experienced researchers, Legal Research in a Nutshell provides an overview of basic research methods. The expert authors discuss case law, statutes, secondary sources, and other research tools; they also analyze resources in more specialized areas, such as legislative history and administrative law. Completely updated with dozens of new Web addresses and 20 percent more illustrations of print and electronic sources, this comprehensive guide explains the investigative process using online databases, CD-ROM, and Internet resources, including free and commercial internet sites. Discussion also includes international and comparative law materials, as well as business and interdisciplinary research.
Methods of Criminology and Criminal Justice Research by
The eleven chapters in this volume of Sociology of Crime, Law and Deviance discuss a variety of issues of methodological significance in research in the fields of criminology and criminal justice studies. As scholarly work on various aspects of crime, deviance, criminal justice, and social control has progressed tremendously in recent decades, both in terms of scope as well as with respect to theoretical approaches, the employed methods of investigation have also broadened and advanced to be as sophisticated as those used in any other area of contemporary social-science inquiry. The authors in this volume demonstrate the methodological maturity and diversity of current empirical research in criminology and criminal justice in a number of areas, such as general trends of crime, criminal networks, violence against women, sex work, elder financial exploitation, school safety, immigrant detention, extremism on the internet, and human trafficking. Presenting a state-of-the-art overview of criminological and criminal justice methodologies today, this book is of interest to a wide range of scholars and students in the fields of criminology, sociology, justice policy, and criminal justice.
Research Methods in Criminal Justice and Criminology by
Research Methods in Criminal Justice and Criminology connects key concepts to real field research and practices using contemporary examples and recurring case studies that demonstrate how concepts relate to students' lives.
Atlas of Crime by
With topics ranging from armed robbery in L.A. to murder in Miami, this atlas provides a unique collection of maps and essays, presenting a comprehensive and multi-faceted picture of crime in the United States. Blending current trends with history, Atlas of Crime stands out for its coverage of critical topics such as school violence, hate crimes, domestic terrorism, rape, capital punishment, and more. This outstanding resource includes approximately 170 graphics (maps, charts, and tables), and at least 30 original essays from 32 contributors.
Crime in the United States 2013 by
Crime in the United States contains findings from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) of the offenses, known to law enforcement, released annually from its Uniform Crime Reporting Program. Because the FBI no longer prints these findings, Bernan Press continues to provide this practical information in convenient book form. In this intricately detailed source, legal and law enforcement professionals, researchers, and those who are just curious will find violent and property crime statistics for the nation as a whole-and for regions, states, counties, cities, towns, and even college and university campuses.Crime in the United States includes statistics for: * violent and property crimes * hate crimes * crime trends * victims, by type * crimes cleared (those closed by arrest or other means) * persons arrested (age, sex, and race) * juvenile offenders * law enforcement personnel (including the number of sworn officers killed or assaulted) * characteristics of homicides (including age, sex, and race of victims and offenders; victim-offender relationships; weapons used; and circumstances surrounding homicides) In addition to data, Crime in the United States also includes text and pertinent figures that explain the data in greater detail and supplies a visual perspective of these major offenses. Violent crimes include: * murder and non-negligent manslaughter * forcible rape * robbery * aggravated assault Property crimes include: * burglary * larceny-theft * motor vehicle theft * arson Hate crimes include any crime motivated by bias against: * race * religion * sexual orientation * ethnicity/national origin * and/or disability Data include the following: offense type, location, bias motivation, victim type, number of individual victims, number of offenders, and the race of the offenders.
Victimology by
Victimology, 7th Edition,introduces students to the criminal justice system in the United States and its impact on crime victims. Authors William Doerner and Steven Lab provide a fresh look at the theoretical basis of victimology and then present the key facets of crime and its effects. They examine financial and social costs both to the individual and to the larger community. This new edition brings forward the theoretical foundation of victimology into Part 1 to establish a clear conceptual framework and reduce repetition. Emerging trends in the field receive greater emphasis in this edition, including non-adversarial resolution options that offer remediation for crime victims. Crimes like intimate-partner violence and victimization in the work or school environment continue to take a toll, and the authors examine efforts to prevent these crimes as well as responses after an incident occurs. Doerner and Lab challenge students to rethink the current response to crime victims and to develop improved approaches to this costly social issue. Online supplements are available for both professors and students. This breakthrough work provides an organizing structure for the history and current state of the field of victimology, and outlines the reasons compelling a separate focus on crime victims. Highly readable, Victimology explores the role of victimology in today's criminal justice system, examining the consequences of victimization and the various remedies now available for victims. A new chapter covers the important implications of restorative justice. The text is supplemented by illustrative figures and tables as well as learning objectives, key terms and a listing of related Internet sites.
