Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Support: Collection Development Tips

TinyURL: http://tinyurl.com/institutionalrep-au

Library Liaisons

While anyone in the library would be happy to help you with any library related question or request you may have, each department at the university has a specific liaison who works with the department's collection development and specific collection related needs. 

For more information on the full library faculty and staff and everyone's areas of specialty, please see our Contacts Page.

Choice Reviews

Collection Development Involvement

We would love for as many people as possible to be involved in our collection development activities. Anyone who is interested (faculty, staff, or students) is allowed to suggest possible titles for purchase. If you have something you would be interested in the library acquiring, please contact your department's library liaison.

Selection resources

There are many sources from where you can acquire information on new materials.

  • Your professional organization: listservs, journals, newsletters, etc

Attention Faculty. We need to know your preferred format - Paperback, Hardback, eBook (1 Users, 3 Users, Unlimited Users)

The library defaults to these formats if faculty do not indicate a preference.

  • Ebooks over Books
  • Streaming Video over DVDs
  • Streaming Audio over CDs

The library may choose a less expensive format for items costing more than $250.

If your preferences differ from these defaults, fill out an online form to let us know what format to buy.

Double your budget with DDA - Demand Driven Acqusitions

DDA - Demand Driven Acquisitions is a new method of buying eBooks that allows you to place them in OneSearch without buying them. There they sit waiting patiently alongside all the eBooks you already own without taking up any space or costing any money. You are only charged IF and WHEN they are used.

Worried about not having enough money left over for traditional purchases? No problem.

  • To date, departmental expenditures for DDA titles is running at about 6% of the overall departmental budget.

Worried about going over budget? No problem.

  • We monitor spending constantly and can deactivate each department's DDA titles with a single click at any time.

Example 1 - Music has chosen to activate all the music scores available through OneSearch. This includes over 500 scores valued at over $10,000. In the first year, only three scores have been used. 

Example 2 - Business has activated every Harvard Business Review title, comprising over 400 titles valued at over $30,000. In the first year, only one purchase were made.

Conclusion - Making good materials available for purchase is MUCH more cost effective than buying them and hoping they will get used.

Request Forms

"Purchase" requests may submitted to your liaison in any format. Rather than indicating what format to purchase - book or eBook - every time you submit a purchase request, you can fill out a Format Preference Form to save time.

Requests for "Subscriptions" must pass through a review process and then funding must be approved by the administration for the next fiscal year.

Want something from JSTOR?

JSTOR allows individual users to create a FREE! MyJSTOR account and have full-text access to up to 3 articles every two weeks (that’s up to 78 articles a year). It’s not a perfect solution to database access, but it is at least a partial solution that doesn’t cost you anything. Find out more information here: http://about.jstor.org/rr.

Wondering why AU does not subscribe to JSTOR?  Please click here.

But wait! AU DOES have JSTOR! Sort of. The JSTOR index is free to all and is listed as one of our databases. When our discovery engine, OneSearch, searches JSTOR's index it checks to see if we have the same article in one of our databases. If we do, it takes you to it.

Streaming Media

Increasingly faculty are ordering media, both audio and video, in a digital, online format.

There are a wide number of considerations involving content, cost, and access in selecting online media.

More...

FYI About eBooks

Approximately 20% of books in print are available as eBooks.

Approximately 10% of eBooks are available for unlimited use.