Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Support: Collection Development

TinyURL: http://tinyurl.com/institutionalrep-au

1. What is Collection Development and how do I do it?

Collection development covers various activities –

  • Evaluating and selecting materials for purchase
  • Evaluating the library’s collection for your area so that you will know what needs to be added
  • Participation in developing long-term buying plans
  • Weeding (deselecting) dated materials

2. How do I order a book or video?

Send your request to your library liaison by whatever means – email, brochure, catalog, phone, etc.

Make sure you have identified yourself as the requester and that there is sufficient bibliographic data to identify and order the item. It is useful to include the ISBN as multiple books may have the same title. For media it is often useful to provide the vendor.

·         Library Liaisons

3. How do I order an eBook?

Simply identify the correct format, book or eBook, or both, when you send in your request. If there are any issues, your liaison will get back to you.

4. What is an ISBN? (Example : 987-0-8389-1092-4)

An ISBN is an International Standard Book Number. They used to be 10 digits, but have now grown to 13. Some books have both. ISBNS are usually found on either the back cover of the book or the back of the title page. ISBNs identify not only the book, but the binding – paperback / hardback / eBook, etc. and the edition - 5th, 6th, etc. The important thing to remember about ISBNs is that they are unique, and therefore very helpful in ordering the right version of a book

5. How do I order a periodical?

Since periodicals are ongoing subscriptions, not one time purchases, buying them is a much more important decision. Consequently they are vetted by both the requesting department and the library. An explanatory form is available on the library’s home page under Forms.

New periodicals are unbudgeted and can only be added after the administration approves the necessary budget increase.

FYI - The preferred format for periodicals is digital. Print periodicals are seldom used anymore. We currently average less that 2 circulations per title per year with most circulations generated by only 10 titles..

6. How do I order a database?

Since databases are ongoing subscriptions, not one time purchases, buying them is a much more important decision. This is further complicated by the fact that they are often expensive, increase in price 5% or more per year, tend to overlap with other databases and the library’s local holdings, have various bells and whistles, etc. Consequently they are vetted by both the requesting department and the library. An explanatory form is available on the library’s home page under Forms.

New databases are unbudgeted and can only be added after the administration approves the necessary budget increase.

7. How do I check the status of a book or video order?

Check the Library Catalog to see if it has been added to the collection.

Check the NewBooks spreadsheet found on the Faculty Support Guide, Departmental Support - Budget Page -  Departmental Budget and Acquisitions Box. There you can determine when it was ordered and when it was cataloged.

Check with Lorraine Casey, Head of Acquisitions - 231-1855, lcasey@andersonuniversity.edu for specific inquiries.

8. How do I use Choice Reviews?

      - a database of around 150,000 academic reviews covering books, audiovisuals, and websites. It publishes over 7,000 reviews per year. While you can view its contents from on campus without a password, you will not be able to select and forward titles to the library without logging in under your department's account.

9. Choosing a format. Book or eBook? DVD or Streaming Video?

 All formats have their own strengths and weaknesses, and some of these strengths and weaknesses are specific to academic disciplines. Learn more by reading Choosing the Right Format (below)  and submit a form (See below) to the library noting your format preferences.