Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Support: Budget

TinyURL: http://tinyurl.com/institutionalrep-au

Budget - FAQs

1. How do I find out how much departmental money I have? Budgeted? Expended? Balance?

2. Can you explain the DeptBud Report?

  • The report shows two Tables. Table A tracks spending for various "acquisitions"  – books, eBooks, media, bound periodicals, software, etc. These are all formats that are cataloged and added to the library collection / total volume count.
  • Table A contains the only source of discretionary spending available to you.

Example

 

Below Acquisitions you will be find Table B - Databases. Since they do not add to the library’s volume count, they are tracked separately. Since these are ongoing "subscriptions", the money committed to them is already spent.

Note that it is impossible to compare your department's database spending to others,. Many departments enjoy free or heavily subsidized databases compliments of PASCAL and DISCUS. Moreover, many of our databases are purchased as part of packages, and we would not be able to cancel one underperforming databases without also cancelling many highly performing databases.

 

3. What about periodicals?

  • The periodical budget has shrunk significantly. We now subscribe to less that 50 print titles vs. the 40,000+ volumes available thorough our databases. You can see your departmental periodical subscriptions for the previous year here. 

 

4. Can I spend subscription money (databases / periodicals)  on acquisitions (books / ebooks) or vice versus?

  • No. The library is required to spend money within its designated line item.

 

5. Can I add a new periodical or database this year?

  • The library begins each school year with a budget sufficient to renew last year's subscriptions. Requests to add subscriptions need to be submitted midway through the Fall semester in order to be included in the following year's budget.