Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Support: Citation Management Tools

TinyURL: http://tinyurl.com/institutionalrep-au

Comparisons

RefWorks

"...an online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies."

RefWorks has not responded to a request for a free trial.

Zotero

"Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, collaborate and share your research sources."  You can sync the information across your devices.

Works as a Firefox add-in, standalone software, and/or through the web interface.  Chrome and Safari plugins are also available.

Free! Try it now.

A personal research assistant. -  Zotero is the only research tool that automatically senses content in your web browser, allowing you to add it to your personal library with a single click. Whether you're searching for a preprint on arXiv.org, a journal article from JSTOR, a news story from the New York Times, or a book from your university library catalog, Zotero has you covered with support for thousands of sites.

Store anything. -  Zotero collects all your research in a single, searchable interface. You can add PDFs, images, audio and video files, snapshots of web pages, and really anything else. Zotero automatically indexes the full-text content of your library, enabling you to find exactly what you're looking for with just a few keystrokes.

About

This guide is to be used to posts links, materials, descriptions, and comments about possible citation management subscriptions.

Price

Tool Price
EasyBib $1,260/yr.
EndNote $114/software pp. / the basic version is free
RefWorks $100/yr. pp.
Mendeley free
Zotero free
NoodleTools $15/yr. pp.

 

EasyBib

“Automatic works cited and bibliography formatting for MLA, APA and Chicago/Turabian citation styles. Free version supports MLA only.

Comparison from Web-based Citation Management Systems: Which One Is Best?.

The bottom line: what is best for you?
Zotero and Mendeley are both award-winning tools, RefWorks has the benefit of a large
user base, and WizFolio offers strong search functions within its interface. However,
none of these systems will consistently extract accurate metadata or operate without
glitches. Generating a bibliography from any one of them will produce at least a few
issues, either due to user- or system-error. So, which citation manager is best? It largely
depends on how users interact with a system, where they find the majority of their
sources, and which features are priorities for them. See Table 1 for a comparison
between the various tools
.

RefWorks began, and has largely maintained its identity, as a citation tool. The other
three systems are research tools that also include a citation manager as one of their
features. Mendeley is the most comprehensive research tool, allowing its users to
create a library of articles and sources, annotate these sources by highlighting text or
adding notes anywhere on a page, use the tool as an academic social network, and
search a comprehensive library of shared resources for the latest or most popular
articles in the field. If convenience is a top priority, Zotero is the handiest one-stop
interface.
This tool also extracts metadata from more types of files than its competitors.
WizFolio’s iPad version and its ability to import from the clipboard are two of its best
features,
while the ubiquity of the RefWorks Export button is helpful to many. RefWorks
is also the only system that includes the convenient “create a bibliography” feature.
The
good news is that even if users have worked exclusively in one citation management
system, they can easily export their library of resources into any other if they find a tool
more suited to their needs.

Mendelay

Securely stored and accessible across devices, you can search and sort your references, documents and notes in one place - right down to the keyword you're looking for.

Try it for free!

EndNote


It’s for more than bibliographies. Sync your EndNote library across your desktop, iPad and online. Work on your research from anywhere.  Try it for free!

See this Guide for great information about RefWorks and how to use the different versions, Basic and Web.

My favorite citation mangment tool is...