Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Literature and Laguage Arts Databases
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
This resource contains more than 20,000 critical essays from over 500 literary journals and 2,300 scholarly and critical books, including 700 titles published by Bloom's Literary Criticism and Facts On File. Also included in the database are more than 13,000 biographies, 45,000 character entries, 5,000 synopses of literary works and hundreds of images and 1,160 videos. (Infobase)
Gale Books & Authors This link opens in a new window
Browse authors, titles, or genres to discover today’s popular fiction and non-fiction titles as well as the classics of yesterday. If you're wondering what to read next, check here first. Users will find over 300,000 book reviews from over 30 reputable sources. (Gale)
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
A combination database that allows a search across several major Literature databases including Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writer Series, and Twayne's Author Series. Also find the useful Gale Literary Index within Gale Literary Sources to search by author or title to identify multiple reference books in the Thrift Collection that address your needs. (Gale)
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database that provides more than 35,000 plot summaries, synopses, and work overviews. Also provides nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticism. (Ebsco)
NoveList K-8 Plus This link opens in a new window
A great online resource for helping teachers, school librarians, and kids find the next great fiction read. Also provides access to information on over 30,500 nonfiction titles. (K-8) (Ebsco)
NoveList Plus This link opens in a new window
Another database designed to help users find the next great read. Contains information on over 260,000 fiction and nonfiction titles. (Ebsco)
Gale Ebooks (Novels for Students) This link opens in a new window
For middle school students through adults. Collection includes Volumes 1-66 and is a guide to understanding novels from various cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes, critical overviews, and style as well as the work’s cultural and historical significance. Provides suggested readings on similar themes and topics, as well as classroom aides. (Gale)
Gale Ebooks: (Poetry for Students) This link opens in a new window
For middle school students through adults, this collection includes Volumes 1-62 and is a guide to understanding the most studied poems. It features discussion and analysis of poems of all time periods, nations, and cultures and provides an overview of the poem and discussion of its principal themes, images, form, and construction. (Gale)
TeachingBooks Library This link opens in a new window
One stop provides resources for books you are reading and teaching, including author and illustrator interviews, lesson plans, and other enrichment content.
TumbleBookLibrary This link opens in a new window
A digital library of animated talking picture books, which has the added bonus of being accessible – 24/7 – from any device with an internet connection!
Writer's Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Tools on how to write and research effectively, including a step-by-step guide to writing a good essay. Explores the fundamentals of writing and includes guides for research and documents, writing resources covering grammar, style, and research - suitable for middle school to adult.