Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How Big is the Thrift Library?
Imagine that the Thrift Library’s physical collections – Books, DVDs, Music CDs, Scores - were as big as the Earth.
Check out Rules
Unless noted otherwise, library materials may be checked out for three weeks.
Three week renewals through end of the semester.
Student ID required.
You may renew materials over the phone - 231-2050
Or by email - firstname.lastname@example.org
Or renew online.
- 87.000 books including both fiction and nonfiction.
- Books are arranged on shelves on the second floor according to the Library of Congress System.
- Three week checkout. Three week renewals up till the end of the semester.
- Student ID required for checkout.
- Faculty sometimes pull books from the shelves and place them behind the Front Desk to make them easier for students to find.
- Reserve materials may take any format - books, media, cameras, photocopies, etc.
- Usually check out rules are 3 hrs., do not take from the library, in order to ensure that an entire class can share the same material.
Unlike public and school libraries which use the Dewey Decimal system to arrange books on the shelf, books in the Thrift Library are arranged according to the Library of Congress system. Under that system Fiction is located in the P's upstairs.
- PR - British Literature
- PS - American Literature
The Library of Congress system combines books by an author with books about the author, and is better for scholarship.
Periodicals, Current (in print)
The library subscribes to a limited number of magazines, journals and newspapers in print. Located next to the fireplace. The great majority of its periodicals though are located online.
Children's and JUV Books - Located in the Curriculum Lab at Johnston Hall
The Adventures of Superhero Girl by
Call Number: JUV PN6727.H53 A43 2013
Cartoonist Faith Erin Hicks brings charming humor to the trials and tribulations of a young, female superhero, battling monsters both supernatural and mundane in an all-too-ordinary world.
Horton Hears a Who! by
Call Number: JUV PZ8.3.G276 Ho 1982
Publication Date: 1962-09-12
Everyone's favorite elephant returns in this timeless, moving, and comical classic in which we discover that "a person's a person, no matter how small."
2,000 children and young adult books located in the Curriculum Lab in Johnston Hall.
There are two subcollections.
- The Caldecott Collection contains winners and runners up for the Caldecott Medal given by the American Library Association each year for the best in Children's Illustrated Books.
- The Newbery Collection contains winners and runners up for the Newbery Medal given by the American Library Association each year for the best in children's literature.
Periodicals, Electronic (online)
- 40,000 digital journals and magazines are available through OneSearch, and individual databases.
- To find what titles are contained in what database, what years are covered, and whether or not there is an embargo period (delay), check Journal Search.
Music - CDs and Streaming
- Streaming Audio - 100,000 recordings located in two databases and in OneSearch.
- Over 2,000 Music CDs located near the fireplace on the main floor. Find these by searching OneSearch.
The Poets' Corner by
The wide variety of carefully selected poems in this book provides the perfect introduction to appeal to readers new to poetry, and for poetry lovers to experience beloved verses in a fresh, vivid way.
Curriculum Lab - Johnston Hall
The Curriculum Lab at Johnston Hall
The Curriculum Lab is located on the second floor of Johnston, in Room 215
It contains thousands of children and young adult books, classroom textbooks, booklets, kits, audio visuals, manipulatives, maps, posters, Big Books, puppets, costumes, realia and educational journals.
Its holdings are noted in OneSearch. Call numbers begin with JUV or CURR.
Two computers are provided as well with a printer. Copies are charged to your account through the university's printing software.
The Star-Spangled Girl by
Call Number: Theatre Audition PS3537.I663 S7 1968
THE STORY: Andy and Norman are two earnest young men using their apartment as a publishing office for a protest magazine in San Francisco. Sophie, an Olympic swimmer and all-American girl, moves into another apartment on the same floor. Sophie ma
Singer's Musical Theatre Anthology by
Call Number: Theatre Audition M1507 .S56 2015
(Vocal Collection). Volume 6 continues the traditions of this series, with songs in original keys in authentic versions, categorized by voice type. Each book has a unique song list, mixing contemporary and classic theatre material, and plot notes about each show and song.
Call Number: Theatre Audition PN2080 .D86 2009
(Applause Acting Series). Culled from the work of over 100 playwrights and encompassing the seminal issues of our time, this follow-up compendium is by turns comic and serious but always intensely human. Pieces include scenes from August: Osage County , George & Martha , Intimate Apparel , Take Me Out , and Water Music .
- 1,600 plus scripts and supporting materials - How to Audition, Acting Tips, Stagecraft - located on the main floor behind the Current Periodicals.
- Scripts may be monologues, dialogues, and multi person plays suitable for auditioning.
- Also includes Music and Musicals
- An additional 400 - 500 plays are located upstairs with their authors.
Many plays and musicals are located in the M's and P's.
Video - DVDs and Streaming
Remember the Titans [videorecording] / Walt Disney Picture
Call Number: DVD E185.61 .R4 2001
A rousing celebration of how a town torn apart by resentment, friction and mistrust comes together in triumphant harmony.
Groundhog Day / produced by Trevor Albert, Harold Ramis
Call Number: DVD PN1995.9.C55 G76 2008
A television weatherman covering the official groundhog appearance finds his day repeating over and over and over and over.
- 270,000 streaming media located in over a half dozen databases.
- Almost 1,500 DVDs located on the main floor next to the Current Periodicals.
- Video recordings may be checked out for three days.
- Video equipment for DVDs available for check out for three days. Ask at the Front Desk.
- Over a half million titles located in over a dozen eBook databases.
- NOTE: The library's eBook collection is six times as large as it physical collection.
- Rules for downloading vary from database to database and even from title to title.
- In most cases though, there is no need to download. Titles are easier to use with the built in online reader.
Conduct your search. Then click Available Online on the left side of the screen under Availability, then click on Books under Resource Type. FYI – OneSearch calls both Books and Ebooks, Books.
Note: There are two other Resource Types which fall under the category of Ebooks. They are Book Chapters and Reference Entries. A Reference Entry might be a topic found in an Encyclopedia, Handbook, or other Reference Work.
A stunning blend of adventure and mysticism, environmentalism and politics, Dune won the first Nebula Award, shared the Hugo Award, and formed the basis of what it undoubtedly the grandest epic in science fiction.
The library's science fiction collection is arranged according to Library of Congress rules in the P's.
- The library's special collection consist of historical documents including Yearbooks, Academic Catalogs and Handbooks, and its Literary Magazines.
- Yearbooks are located on the main floor near the end of the Bound Periodical section, Yearbooks may not be checked out.
- Other materials are stored in the Special Collections.
- Digital copies of the university's yearbooks, catalogs, literary magazines, etc., may be found on the Internet Archive.
The Power of a Praying Life by
Call Number: BV210.3 .O54 2010
Each of her best-selling books have opened up the mystery of prayer and helped readers approach God with confidence and experience His power.
Foundations of Christian Thought by
Call Number: BR100 .C67 2006
Written by a veteran Christian educator, this readable book describes the relationship between the Christian faith and the world of learning by looking at the five modern worldviews competing with Christian theism.
LIterary Magazine - Ivy Leaves, 1964+
Yearbooks - Columns. Available digitally from 1942-1996.
Publication Date: 2013-09-10
China, 1898. An unwanted fourth daughter, Four-Girl isn't even given a proper name by her family. She finds friendship-and a name, Vibiana-in the most unlikely of places: Christianity. But China is a dangerous place for Christians.
The Complete Maus by
Call Number: PN6727.S65 M38 2011
Publication Date: 1996-11-19
Here is the definitive edition of the book acclaimed as "the most affecting and successful narrative ever done about the Holocaust" (Wall Street Journal) and "the first masterpiece in comic book history" (The New Yorker).
- Graphic Novels do not have a special location. Instead they are filed upstairs in the P's according to the Library of Congress system.
- To find graphic novels, search for "graphic novels" in OneSearch and then limit to Books under Resource Type.