Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Rare Materials for the Study and Performance of Latin American Music
This site contains rare manuscript and printed sources for the study and performance of Latin American music held at The Latin American Library of Tulane University.
eBooks on Ethnomusicology
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011-06-22
Sources for research and general information. Guides for research in ethnomusicology -- Research guides -- Encyclopedias and dictionaries -- Bibliographies, discographies, and filmographies -- Indexing and abstracting tools -- Sources for research and learning. Journals and other serial publications -- Audio recordings -- Film and video recordings -- Books.
The Garland Handbook of Latin American Music by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2007-10-24
This Handbook of Latin American Music is comprised of essays from The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music: Vol 2: South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean. Revised and updated, the essays offer detailed, regional studies of the different musical cultures of Latin America and examine the ways in which music helps to define the identity of this particular area.
The 2nd edition has been expanded to cover Haiti, Panama, several more Amerindian musical cultures, and Afro-Peru. Questions for Critical Thinking at the end of each major section guide focus attention on what musical and cultural issues arise when one studies the music of Latin America -- issues that might not occur in the study of other musics of the world. Two audio compact discs offer musical examples of some of the music of Latin America.
The Garland Handbook of Southeast Asian Music by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2008-03-10
The Garland Handbook of Southeast Asian Music is comprised of essays from The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music: Volume 4, Southeast Asia (1998). Largely revised and updated, the essays offer detailed, regional studies of the different musical cultures of Southeast Asia and examine the ways in which music helps to define the identity of this particular area.
On the shelves @ Thrift Library - Ethnomusicology Books
Ethnomusicology: history, definitions, and scope : a core collection of scholarly articles by
Call Number: ML3799 .E8 1992
This anthology of 25 scholarly articles offers a broad historical overview of the history, definition, and scope of ethnomusicology. The essays range from early summaries of the field's subject matter and state of research to later, comprehensive discussions spanning the discipline at large, its intellectual history, and future prospects. Ethnomusicology surveys the field, its methods, philosophy, and goals, and is well-suited for use as an introductory text.
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by
Call Number: ML100 .G16 1998 and eBook
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music.
Most volumes accompanied by 1 sound disc.
The Garland library of readings in ethnomusicology : a core collection of important ethnomusicological articles by
Call Number: ML3799 .G37 1990
Reprint of essays originally published from various sources 1809-1987.
v. 1. History, definitions, and scope of ethnomusicology
v. 2. Ethnomusicological theory and method
v. 3. Music as culture
v. 4. Musical transcription
v. 5. Cross-cultural musical analysis
v. 6. Musical processes, resources, and technologies
v. 7. A century of ethnological thought.
Thinking musically : experiencing music, expressing culture by
Call Number: ML3798 .W33 2004
Publication Date: 2003-09-18
Thinking Musically is the central volume in the Global Music Series. It incorporates music from many diverse cultures--including the Americas, Asia, Africa, Oceania, and Europe--and establishes the framework for exploring the practice of music around the world. It sets the stage for an array of case study volumes, each of which focuses on a single area of the world. Each case study uses the contemporary musical situation as a point of departure--covering historical information and traditions as they relate to the present--and comes with an audio CD of musical examples discussed in the text. The case studies can be used in any combination with Thinking Musically to provide a rich exploration of world musical cultures. Visit www.oup.com/us/globalmusic for a list of case studies in the series. The website also includes instructional materials to accompany each study.