Thrift Library: Music History: Databases

NAXOS

NML Jazz
Mix Selection of Jazz Music
Naxos Music Library Jazz [NMLJ] offers a mix selection of jazz legends and contemporary jazz. Recordings of over 32,000 artists are represented.

World-Famous Jazz Labels
The recordings in Naxos Music Library Jazz come from over 200 labels, and include the catalogue of Blue Note Records, Warner Jazz, EMI, Fantasy and others.
Naxos Video Library
The NAXOS Video Library offers an extensive streaming video library of over 1,400 classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts, and documentaries. Watch the world's greatest opera houses, ballet companies, orchestras, and performances on demand. Once subscribed, stream any video in the collection from anywhere in the world with internet access.

NAXOS Mobile App

Download the NAXOS Mobile App and the Naxos Jazz App (on iOS)

Here for NML on Google Play
Here for NML on Amazon App Store

Wait! Before you do that, you will want to go to NML (or NML Jazz) while on campus or after logging in through the proxy server.
THEN:

Visit the Playlist section which is on the top menu bar
Click “Sign Up” on the Student / Member Playlists title bar
The email address and password you assign also act as your login credentials for the NML mobile apps
Complete the registration process by clicking the activation link in your email
Congratulations! You’re now ready to save personal playlists, and enjoy NML everywhere through the Mobile Apps!

Unfortunately, NAXOS Video Library does not have an app…yet.

Music Databases

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive reference resource that includes images, audio files, videos, and more than 600 full-text reference books on most major subject areas. (Infobase)
Ebooks (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Gale Ebooks (formerly GVRL) contains over 3,500 volumes of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. (Gale)
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music This link opens in a new window
With 9,000 pages—the complete online version of the print set also includes associated audio tracks, musical illustrations, photographs, drawings, song texts, score examples, charts, and maps.
Library Music Source This link opens in a new window
Contains over 300,000 pages of Western Classical sheet music from over 35,000 works for orchestra, chamber ensemble, piano, organ, voice, chorus, strings, winds, percussion and guitar.
Musical Theater Songs This link opens in a new window
MusicalTheaterSongs.com’s easy-to-use interface lets you enter up to 20-plus parameters (voice type, character age, range, ease for accompanist, descriptive characteristics, etc.) to generate a list of songs tailored to your needs from an ever-growing database (thousands of titles already!). Draws from 150 years of musical theater repertoire, ranging from well-known standards to rare finds to help you find the right songs quickly and easily.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Music Online gateway provides access to multiple music resources including the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music

Supplementary Databases - Music

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Full text articles and citations on all topics. (Gale)
All topics. The library's largest database with indexing to 17,000 titles and full text for 11,000. Includes magazines, journals, and transcripts from news outlets. partial coverage of the New York Times (1985+) and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and more. (Gale)
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. (Ebsco)
Need help using ATLA? Click HERE

Dissertations & Theses Databases

Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Open access dissertations and theses from 1955 to present. (Ebsco)

Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 800 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 1,883,713 theses and dissertations.

eBooks

Credo Reference - Music
Search across the content of over a half dozen digital dictionaries and encyclopedias.
more...less...
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World:
The Faber Companion to 20th Century Popular;
The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music;
The Harvard Dictionary of Music;
Metropolitan Opera Encyclopedia:
The New Penguin Dictionary of Music
Oxford Music Online
The Oxford Music Online gateway provides access to multiple music resources.
more...less...
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed.;
The New Grove Dictionary of Opera;
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd ed.;
The Oxford Companion to Music;
The Oxford Dictionary of Music
Oxford History of Western Music, by Richard Taruskin

Biography Databases

Biography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography. (Gale)
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
This resource contains more than 20,000 critical essays from over 500 literary journals and 2,300 scholarly and critical books, including 700 titles published by Bloom's Literary Criticism and Facts On File. Also included in the database are more than 13,000 biographies, 45,000 character entries, 5,000 synopses of literary works and hundreds of images and 1,160 videos. (Infobase)

WorldCat Identities
WorldCat Identities has a summary page for every name in WorldCat (currently some 30 million names) including named persons, organizations and fictitious characters. A typical WorldCat Identities page will include a list of most widely held-by-libraries works by and about the identity, a list of variant forms of name the identity has been known by, a FAST tag cloud of places, topics, etc. closely related to works by and about the person, links to co-authors, and more. Titles listed are linked to WorldCat.org, and in many popular WorldCat Identities pages, links to the corresponding Wikipedia (English language) article are provided.