Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Science Research: ScienceDirect info

Learn more about using our library's resources in your science research.

What is ScienceDirect?

ScienceDirect is a huge database which contains many major science books and journals. ScienceDirect contains over 11,000 books and 2,500 journals; some of these are available in full text, while others are just indexed (which lets you know what they contain and allows you to find books or articles you might be interested in requesting through interlibrary loan).

For more information on using ScienceDirect, please see the ScienceDirect Users Guide, which can be found at the top right corner of the page.

ScienceDirect App

ScienceDirect has an iPad app! Named SciVerse ScienceDirect, the app is available in both a free and paid version. To use the app, you will need an account with ScienceDirect. You can use the ScienceDirect app to search and view saved articles.

Creating a ScienceDirect Account

It is easy to create an account with ScienceDirect. To register, just click the Register link which is found in the top right hand corner of any ScieneDirect page. Fill out the requested information, and ScienceDirect will send you a username. A ScienceDirect account is a beneficial thing to have. When you're logged in, ScienceDirect will remember your searches. You can set journals as Favorites, and sign up for article alerts. You can also receive RSS feed subscriptions to different journals.

ScienceDirect Log In

See a tutorial: Registering and Signing In.

Tips

ScienceDirect

 

The basic search bar:

 

The “Advanced search” may be more intuitive:

For full-text articles, check two boxes under “All” labeled “Subscribed publications” and “Open Access articles”

Obviously, if you only want journals, and not books (eBooks), remove the check mark from “Books.”  However, this will also search the Reference Works.

 

 

Results:

Three access types are available in the results list.  Unfortunately, the user cannot choose “Entitled to full text” in the access type filter.  Select “Subscribed publications” check box before searching:

Entitled to full text

Open Access/Open Archive

Abstract Only

 

The following will be found in the results list:
Sort by Relevance or Date.
Export = citation only.
Click “Abstract” arrow to read the abstract.
Click “Research highlights” arrow for a bulleted list.
Click “Graphical abstract” arrow to see thumbnails of images included.

 

Subjects:
Agricultural and Biological Sciences
Arts and Humanities
Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology
Business, Management and Accounting
Chemical Engineering
Chemistry
Computer Science
Decision Sciences
Earth and Planetary Sciences
Economics, Econometrics and Finance
Educational Research
Energy
Engineering
Environmental Science
Immunology and Microbiology
Materials Science
Mathematics
Medicine and Dentistry
Nursing and Health Professions
Pharmacology, Toxicology and Pharmaceutical Science
Physics and Astronomy
Psychology
Social Sciences
Veterinary Science and Veterinary Medicine

 

Journal searching:

Articles in Press = articles accepted for publication but have not yet been assigned a specific journal issue.

 

 

 

Books:

 

 

 

 

Reference Works:

We do not subscribe to all of them.
So, PLEASE select “All Reference Works.” By choosing this, only the articles from the Reference Works to which we have full-text access will be displayed.

 

 

Images:

The user may select “Figures” or “Videos” in order to limit the type that is desired.