Banish math anxiety and give students of all ages a clear roadmap to success Mathematical Mindsets provides practical strategies and activities to help teachers and parents show all children, even those who are convinced that they are bad at math, that they can enjoy and succeed in math.
DISCUS - Digital Iniformation for South Carolina Users.
A reference resource that includes access to two homepages: Britannica Kids for children and young adults, and Britannica Reference Center for older students and adults.
This index helps you identify children's and young adult books by reading interest, age, class, and Lexile levels, as well as by topic. Professional reviews are included for over 540,000 titles. Also identifies award winners and provides links to online curriculum resources such as lesson plans and teaching guides.
Cultural reports on the countries of the world, US states and Canadian provinces. Supporting materials include a photo gallery, recipes, and biographies. You can view flags, maps, slideshows, national anthems, and video clips. (Grades 4-12.) (ProQuest)
Search engine designed for elementary students and teachers. Provides access to magazines, newspapers, books, biographies, country reports, primary sources, video, and more. Teachers can find Curriculum Standards and Lesson Plans. (Ebsco)
A search engine designed for secondary school students and teachers. Includes magazines, newspapers, biographies, country reports, film, and video. Teachers can find Curriculum Standards and Lesson Plans. (Ebsco)
More than 8,700 pro and con viewpoint articles and more than 4,700 topic overviews. This database contains lesson plans, links to state standards, links to websites, statistics, primary sources, and teacher resources. (Grades 6-13) (Gale)
Now users can take notes easily without opening a separate program. The "Highlights and Notes" tool allows you to select text from a document, highlight the important sections, add your own notes, and save to a new "Highlighted Articles" page. Within the same session, the highlighted sections can be easily viewed, printed, downloaded, or sent via email (no user account within the database is required). (Gale)
Provides integrated access to over 4,000 historical (primary) documents, articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present. The material also includes citations from over 180 additional history journals from the Institute for Scientific Information's Arts and Humanities Citation Index, as well as the entire 'American Journey Online' series. (Gale)
Features 1,990 full text reference books designed for secondary schools, public libraries, and undergraduate research plus full text to 150 history periodicals. Further, the database contains nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 37,400 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video. (Ebsco)
Periodicals include America's Civil War, American Heritage, American Historical Review, American History, Archaeology, Aviation History, British Heritage, Chinese America: History & Perspectives, Civil War Times, Foreign Affairs, German History, History, History Review, History Today (back to January 1975), History: Reviews of New Books, Kansas History, Journal of American History, Manitoba History, Military History, Naval History, North Carolina Historical Review, Virginia Magazine of History & Biography, Wild West, World War II and more.
“Contains practice tests, eBooks, and tutorials designed to help users succeed on academic or licensing tests such as PRAXIS I and II, DAT, GMAT, GRE, MAT, MCAT, NCLEX RN, NCLEX PN and PCAT. Also provides tutorials for Reading, Writing, Math, Science, Careers and Computer Skills - and much, much more. You must create a personal account to use. (Grades K-College)”
This site provides full text from over 490 periodicals from 1990 on all topics with additional indexing and abstracts to 554 magazines from 1984. Includes CIA World Factbook; and Essential Documents in American History. (Grades 9-12) (Ebsco)
Contains full text for more than 150 popular middle school magazines and 131,000 full text biographies. All full text articles are assigned a reading level Lexile score. (Grades 6-9) (Ebsco)
A great online resource for helping teachers, school librarians, and kids find the next great fiction read. Also provides access to information on over 30,500 nonfiction titles. (K-8) (Ebsco)
A full text database designed to provide a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current social issue. The database has more than 290 topics, each with an overview, point, counterpoint, and critical thinking guide. (Grades 6-12) (Ebsco)
Includes full-text of 60 popular elementary magazines, with reading level indicated. Abstracts from 100 more sources. Extensive image collection. Encyclopedia of Animals and General Encyclopedia included. (Grades K-6) (Ebsco)
Website with links to South Carolina-specific web resources for K-12 homework help, projects and more. For elementary, middle school, and high school students and educators.
Contains full text for over 140,000 articles from nearly 260 diverse sources including international newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information. (Grades 5-12) (Ebsco)
Mathematical Mindsets : unleashing students' potential through creative math, inspiring messages, and innovative teaching by 
