Education
Experience
Professional Activities
Writing Abstracts for Religious and Theological Abstracts, and for Old Testament Abstracts, including the following journals…
Covenant Quarterly
Journal of Biblical Literature
Journal of Church and State
Journal of Law and Religion
Jewish Bible Quarterly
Nova et Vetera
Philosophia Christi
Religion and Literature
Worship
Being a Reference Librarian at AU offers me a good way of growing in faith, hope, and love (1 Corinthians 13), and obeying the love command (Luke 10:27). I get to help students and faculty find the books and journal articles they need for their research and their writing projects. Thrift Library provides access to many databases that are essential for faith and learning. ATLA Religion Database is a good example, because it has more than 500,000 articles on various topics in scripture, ethics, and church history. For projects in English and literary studies, two good databases are MLA Bibliography and the Oxford English Dictionary. APA PsychInfo is another useful database, especially for finding journal articles on developmental psychology or on the work of a counselor. For students in Business, one of the special journals that can help you is the Journal of Business Ethics, and the articles in JBE can be found in a database called Business Source Ultimate. For journal articles in the field of education, we have two very good databases, Education Source Ultimate and ERIC. Students in medical programs will want to learn how to use PubMed, Medline, CINAHL, and SportDiscus for finding articles in scholarly journals. I also love helping students in one of our newest programs, the College of Leadership Studies, which is truly an interdisciplinary program For projects in COLS, Google Scholar offers a good starting place, along with SAGE Journals and SAGE Research Methods. Whatever academic program you are affiliated with, whether you are taking Freshman English or writing your thesis at the PhD level, please contact me and we will make sure you have good resources for the task at hand.
As I reflect a little further on what I do in the library, I seem to do my best work when I keep the Kingdom of God in mind, as Matt Maher says in his song on The Lord's Prayer: “Father let your kingdom come/Father let your will be done/On earth as in heaven/Right here in my heart…” I know that sometimes I will fall short of that goal or "miss the mark," but it is also good to remember what it says in 1 John 1:9, "If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness."
“Learning to Map Compassion: A Project Rooted in the Humanities” The Humanities Bulletin 2018
“Successful Aging: Social Theory, Scripture, Church Teaching” Journal of Religion, Spirituality, and Aging 2018
"The Many Dimensions of Silence: An Interdisciplinary Approach" Culture in Focus Spring 2018
“The Great War and Christian Faith: The Firsthand Accounts of Three Priests in France,” Heythrop Journal 2018
“The Journeying Self: From Narcissism to Solidarity and Doxology,” Frontiers of Narrative Studies (2017)
“From Womb to Tomb: Learning to Live with Documents,” Documents Academy (Summer 2017)
“If today you hear His voice…” Repentance in the Old Testament,” Downside Review 134.1-2 (2016)
“On Writing Abstracts in Religious Studies,” South Carolina Libraries 2, no. 1 (2016): 2-5.
“Caritas: Love as Described by Thomas Aquinas” ARC: McGill University 2015
“The Progress of Evil and The Return of Justice in Shakespeare’s Richard III” Anglica 2015
“The Genre of the Call Narrative: Beyond Habel’s Model,” Jewish Bible Quarterly (Jan-March 2015):54-58.
“Faith, Friendship, and Justice: Elements for a Christian Social Ethic,” AMITY: The Journal of Friendship Studies 2, no. 1 (2014): 45-61.
“Faith and Poetry: Three Stages of a Pilgrimage,” Dappled Things 2014
“Agamben and the Migrations of Glory,” Political Theology 15, no. 5 (2014): 438-453.
“The Book of Eli,” Journal of Religion and Violence 2, no. 1 (2014): 217-221.
“Garrison versus Douglass on the Abolition of Slavery: An Ethics of Conviction versus an Ethic of Responsibility,” Max Weber Studies 2013
“Thomas Aquinas and Recent Questions about Human Dignity," Diametros 38 (2013): 113-127.
“The Descendants and Pastoral Care,” Pastoral Psychology (2013)
"The Book of Ruth: Solidarity, Kindness, and Peace," Solidarity: The Journal of Catholic Social Thought and Secular Ethics 3, no. 1 (2013)
“Beyond Hobbes and Kant: A Catholic Vision of Peacemaking,” Listening 2012
“Friendship and the Common Good in Aristotle,” Agathos: An International Review of the Humanities & Social Sciences 3, no. 2 (2012).
“Solidarity: Rival Versions, Conflicting Interpretations, and the Shape of Christian Hope,” Heythrop Journal May 2012
“Embodiment: Capability, Vulnerability, and Faith,” National Catholic Bioethics Quarterly 2011
“Worship and Four Kings in Chronicles,” Jewish Bible Quarterly 2011
“A Christian Theology of the City,” Integrite Fall 2011
“Ecclesiology: A Bibliographic Essay, 2000-2010,” Theological Librarianship Fall 2011
"Scripture and the Field of Hate Studies: Traversing Biblical Landscapes," Biblical Theology Bulletin 41, no. 2 (2011): 59-67.
"Spiritual Formation: Movements to New Life in the Gospels." Common Ground Journal 7, no. 1 (2009).
“Encountering the Divine Names: A Theological Pilgrimage,” Melita Theologica 2009
“Amos the Prophet: A Meditation on the Richness of ‘Justice’” Jewish Bible Quarterly 2009
“Ambrose on Scripture and Ethics,” Downside Review 2009
“Human Rights Education and Religious Education: From Mutual Suspicion to Elective Affinity,” British Journal of Religious Education 2009
“Religion at the Old Bailey: London's Central Criminal Court 1674-1913,” Theological Librarianship 2008
“Revisiting H. Richard Niebuhr's The Purpose of the Church and Its Ministry: Love of God and Neighbor as the Goal of Theological Education,” Theological Education 2005
“Joseph's Emotional Development,” Jewish Bible Quarterly 2004
"Families, Scripture, Counseling: Searching for the Connections,” Journal of Pastoral Counseling 2004
►Locate existing or new subject-specific resources to add to support your course curriculum
►Help you navigate our subject-specific databases
►Locate permalinks for you to post in Canvas
Investigate copyright restrictions
Design research guides for specific assignments
Give a presentation to your classes
Help your students with their research projects
Help you with your own research projects