Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 125,000 CDs and 2 million tracks.
The library offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues plus the complete catalogues or selected titles from over 650 classical, jazz and world music labels with more labels joining every month. Classic pop and rock music as well as Chinese orchestral music are also represented.
Need help using Naxos? Click HERE
The Music Index Online indexes 850 music periodicals from over 40 countries from 1973 to the present. Book reviews, obituaries, news periodicals, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry. (Ebsco)
This classic reference work, the best one-volume music dictionary available, has been brought completely up to date in this new edition. Combining authoritative scholarship and lucid, lively prose, the Fourth Edition of The Harvard Dictionary of Music is the essential guide for musicians, students, and everyone who appreciates music.
The Harvard Dictionary of Music has long been admired for its wide range as well as its reliability. This treasure trove includes entries on all the styles and forms in Western music; comprehensive articles on the music of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Near East; descriptions of instruments enriched by historical background; and articles that reflect today's beat, including popular music, jazz, and rock.
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians
Call Number: REF ML105 .S612 1997
Particularly strong for classical music but also covers hundreds of contemporary musicians in all genres.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music (6 vols)
Call Number: REF ML100 .G16 1998
Covers all the music of the world. Two volumes are also available as eBooks. See Ethnology Page.
The articles of the dictionary range from small definitions of dance styles and musical terms to mid-length biographies of important performers, composers, and music patrons, to longer examinations of larger subjects such as the history of jazz, musical instruments, music education in the US and the American history of the orchestra.